les presses du réel

Tacet #02 – Experimentation As Questioning

(ebook PDF )
 - Tacet #02
2nd issue of the experimental music annual review, around the question of experimentation in music.
Tacet is a new research publication dedicated to sound arts and experimental music. Published annually and bilingually (French, English), its ambition is to create an interdisciplinary and international space of reflection for this practices, in all its aesthetic diversity.
Tacet, as John Cage showed so well in 4'33'', designates a moment of silence observed by an instrumentalist during the whole period of a movement. By extension, it becomes, as the title of this publication, a moment of introspection, of reflectivity and reflection, where music interrupts itself to give way to research and theoretical questioning.
aims, in this way, on the side of sound arts and experimental music, to contribute to the renewal of theoretical research by confronting and intersecting artists and musicians' speeches, studies coming from aesthetics and philosophy of art, from the critical renewal of musicology, from cultural studies and gender studies, from political thought, from social sciences and geography.
Tacet is part of the Ohcetecho series, dedicated to sound arts and experimental music, published by Les presses du réel (editorial board: Matthieu Saladin and Yvan Etienne).
Texts by Matthieu Saladin, George Brecht, Pauline Nadrigny, You Nakai, Johan Girard, Sébastien Biset, François J. Bonnet & Gérard Pelé, Pierre Hemptinne, Samon Takahashi, Sarah Benhaïm, James Whitehead, Josselin Minier, Julien Ottavi, Branden W. Joseph, Ghédalia Tazartès, Miguel Prado Casanova, Jim Haynes, Taku Sugimoto.
published in March 2013
bilingual edition (English / French)
16 x 23 cm (softcover)
560 pages (b/w ill.)
ISBN : 978-2-84066-474-1
EAN : 9782840664741
download an excerpt in PDF:
press releases

 top of page