Summer break: we are closed from August 7 to 23. Orders placed meanwhile will be processed from August 24. Many thanks for your patience!
les presses du réel

12 Sun Songs (vinyl LP)

Cranfield and Slade - 12 Sun Songs (vinyl LP)
"Cranfield and Slade: 12 Sun Songs" is a yellow vinyl album made up of covers of pop songs about the sun. Aping a 1970s concept album Cranfield and Slade present twelve songs arranged to represent a day, beginning with songs about sunrise and winding down with songs about sunsets. Tracks range from classics such as George Harrison's "Here Comes the Sun" and The Kinks' "Waterloo Sunset," to the lesser-known "Sun" by singer-songwriter Margot Guryan or "Where Evil Grows" by Vancouver's The Poppy Family. The album combines field recordings made in various Vancouver locations with electronic sound and acoustic and electric instruments.

The liner notes for "12 Sun Songs" were written by celebrated Canadian poet and critic Peter Culley.
The publication is part of the series of artist's projects edited by Christoph Keller.
Based in rainy Vancouver, Cranfield and Slade are made up of visual artist Kathy Slade and artist/musician Brady Cranfield, working with musicians including Larissa Loyva (Piano, Kellarissa), Johnny Payne (Victoria Victoria, The Shilos), and Chris Harris (Piano, Parks and Rec, The Secret Three, Womankind); and special guests John Collins (The New Pornographers, The Evaporators) and artist Rodney Graham (The Rodney Graham Band, UJ3RK5).
Edited by Christoph Keller.
Texts by Brady Cranfield, Peter Culley, Kathy Slade.
published in 2009
yellow vinyl, 31,5 x 31,5 cm
inserted folded poster
ISBN : 978-3-03764-063-0
EAN : 9783037640630
in stock
12 Sun Songs (vinyl LP)

 top of page