les presses du réel

Autobiography #10

Ignasi Aballí - Autobiography #10
Autobiography by Ignasi Aballí is made up of 64 "años" (years), one for each of the 64 pages. Casually, the artist was born in 1958, it means that he has 64 years old at the time of the publication of the book.
Autobiography is a series by Tonini Editore, published monthly. Each volume is dedicated to an artist, who is free to carry out the topic of the autobiography by means of text or visual supports. Belonging to a series, each book has the same size and maximum amount of pages (64). The selection of the artists participating to the series is coordinated by a scientific committee made up of six renown personalities in the world of the art research and collection: Pedro Barbosa (collector and founder of the Coleção Moraes - Barbosa), Alex Bacon (art historian), Claudio Guenzani (gallery owner in Milan, owner of the Studio Guenzani), Michele Lombardelli (artist, composer, typographer and consultant for several publishing houses), Shwetal Ashvin Patel (writer and researcher, founding member of the Kochi-Muziris Biennale), Christoph Schifferli (collector and scholar), and Valentino Tonini (director of the homonymous publishing house).
Conceptual artist Ignasi Aballí (born 1958 in Barcelona) subverts traditional pictorial practices in painting, photography, and video to explore new and unorthodox methods of artistic production.
Ignasi Aballí studied Fine Arts at the University of Barcelona. Since the 1990's, he has exhibited namely at the Drawing Center (New York), MACBA (Barcelona), ZKM (Karlsruhe), Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía (Madrid), Le Printemps de Septembre (Toulouse), Galerie Meessen-de Clercq (Brussels), Galerie Estrany de la Mota (Barcelona), Galerie Elba Benitez, Gagosian gallery (New York), Frac Lorraine (Metz), Centre National d'Art Contemporain Villa Arson (Nice), Fondation Maeght, (Saint-Paul de Vence), la Pinacoteca do Estado of São Paulo. He has also participated in several international biennials such as the 52nd Venice Biennial in 2007, the Sharjah Biennial in 2007 or the 11th Sydney Biennial in 1998. Ignasi Aballí received the Joan Miró prize in 2015 for his "successfully completed reflection on the limits of painting in representation, for his meticulous attention to the significant consequences that can be generated by the smallest change made in a strategy of re-giving meaning, as well as for his role as a mentor for younger artists". A retrospective of his work from 2005 took place at Reina Sofía (Madrid) in 2015 and he will be presenting an exhibition at the Joan Miró Foundation in 2016.
 
published in August 2022
no text
12 x 17 cm (softcover)
64 pages (ill.)
 
20.00
 
ISBN : 979-12-80784-07-0
EAN : 9791280784070
 
in stock


 top of page

les presses du réel

Autobiography n° 10

Ignasi Aballí - Autobiography n° 10
Livre d'artiste : l'« autobiographie » d'Ignasi Aballí est composée de 64 « años » (années), une pour chacune des 64 pages. Par hasard, l'artiste est né en 1958, cela signifie qu'il a 64 ans à la parution du livre.
Autobiography est une série d'ouvrages publiée mensuellement par Tonini Editore. Chaque volume est consacré à un artiste, qui est libre d'aborder le thème de l'autobiographie à l'aide de supports textuels ou visuels, dans le cadre d'un même format et de la limite de 64 pages. La sélection des artistes est coordonnée par un comité scientifique composé de six personnalités renommées dans le monde de la recherche et de la collection d'art : Pedro Barbosa (collectionneur et fondateur de la Coleção Moraes - Barbosa), Alex Bacon (historien de l'art), Claudio Guenzani (galeriste à Milan, propriétaire du Studio Guenzani), Michele Lombardelli (artiste, compositeur, typographe et consultant pour plusieurs maisons d'édition), Shwetal Ashvin Patel (écrivain et chercheur, membre fondateur de la Biennale de Kochi-Muziris), Christoph Schifferli (collectionneur et universitaire) et Valentino Tonini (directeur de la maison d'édition homonyme).
Employant un éventail de pratiques aussi large que la peinture, la vidéo, la photographie ou l'installation, le travail conceptuel d'Ignasi Aballí (né en 1958 à Barcelone) investit des problématiques liées au langage, à la représentation, aux systèmes de construction du sens et à la notion de temps. Favorisant des procédés hybrides d'appropriation et de manipulation d'objets ou d'images trouvés, il explore la tension entre ce qui est fabriqué et ce qui est mécanique ou lié à un processus naturel, entre le visible et l'invisible, le matériel et le conceptuel.
Ignasi Aballí a étudié les Beaux-Arts à l'Université de Barcelone. Depuis les années 1990, il a notamment exposé au Drawing Center (New York), MACBA (Barcelone), ZKM (Karlsruhe), Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía (Madrid), Le Printemps de Septembre (Toulouse), Galerie Meessen-de Clercq (Bruxelles), Galerie Estrany de la Mota (Barcelone), Galerie Elba Benitez (Madrid), Gagosian gallery (New York), Frac Lorraine (Metz), Centre National d'Art Contemporain Villa Arson (Nice), Fondation Maeght, (Saint-Paul de Vence), la Pinacoteca do Estado de São Paulo. Il a également participé à plusieurs biennales internationales comme la 52ème biennale de Venise en 2007, la biennale de Sharjah en 2007 ou la 11ème Biennale de Sydney en 1998. Ignasi Aballí a reçu le prix Joan Miró 2015 pour sa « réflexion aboutie sur les limites de la peinture et de la représentation, pour son attention méticuleuse aux conséquences significatives que peut générer le plus petit changement opéré dans une stratégie de re-signification, ainsi que pour son rôle de mentor auprès d'artistes plus jeunes ». Une rétrospective de son travail depuis 2005 a eu lieu au Reina Sofía (Madrid) en 2015 et en 2016 à la Fondation Joan Miró (Barcelone).
 
paru en août 2022
sans texte
12 x 17 cm (broché)
64 pages (ill.)
 
20.00
 
ISBN : 979-12-80784-07-0
EAN : 9791280784070
 
en stock
Autobiography Autobiography Autobiography Autobiography


 haut de page