les presses du réel

Delirious Cartographies (vinyl LP)

Richard Scott - Delirious Cartographies (vinyl LP)
Part of the Arbitrary's Framework editions, Delirious Cartographies by composer, improviser and synthesist Richard Scott includes three pieces on 12" vinyl and six printed drawings—as well as a text by Scott—published as a limited edition portfolio folder.
"These compositions capture aspects of my personal sonic experience of specific times and places. Extending beyond my usual work with analogue synthesizer, these pieces open the doors and windows to the outside world, incorporating field and live recordings made in various locations and situations. Rather than intending any clear sense of narrative, these are molecular dialogues between elements and geographies which do not necessarily share organic points of connection, other than my own incomplete experience and memory of them."
The final piece "6 Graphic Etudes" (included as digital prints) is intended as a set of visual / sonic sketches, each of which describes a discrete kind of movement or texture. These may have a variety of uses; as musical exercises, as scores, combined as parts of scores, or simply as stand-alone visual propositions / artworks.
The pieces were composed between 2017 and 2021 at Sound Anatomy, Berlin, Spektrum Berlin, EMS Stockholm, NOVARS, University of Manchester, the Electronic Music Studios, University of Huddersfield and in Boliqueime, Portugal.
As well as various microphones, hydrophones and recorders, the instruments used on this recording are mostly analogue and modular synthesisers: Hordijk Modular, Serge Modular, EMS Synthi A, various Eurorack modules, Buchla Thunder midi controller, Oberheim Xpander, Clavia Nord Micro Modular, CataRT and maxMSP, Rob Hordijk Blippoo box. On "Thunder, actually bicycles..." Axel Dörner plays a Holton Firebird trumpet with additional live-sampling via maxMSP and a controller interface developed by Sukandar Kartadinata. 
Limited to 300 copies, prints on 275g Gmund paper, red cardboard folder, foil embossed cover, download code included.

Richard Scott is a composer and performer of electronic and improvised music. Focusing on the compositional and performance possibilities of analogue modular synthesizers, he also works with a variety of digital technologies such as Ambisonics, multichannel diffusion and with instruments such as the Buchla Lightning and Thunder and his self-designed WiGi system developed as an Artistic Resident at STIEM.
He has performed with many great improvising musicians, for example; Axel Dörner, Thomas Lehn, Audrey Chen, Clive Bell, Richard Barrett, Kazuhisa Uchihashi, Michael Vorfeld, Jon Rose, Ute Wassermann, Shelley Hirsch, Evan Parker, Frank Gratkowski, Stock, Hausen and Walkman, Bark! and the Lightning Ensemble.
Initially inspired to play electronic music by Cabaret Voltaire, Lee Scratch Perry and Stockhausen in the early 1980s he was later introduced to free improvisation by John Stevens (Spontaneous Music Ensemble) and studied saxophone under the guidance of Elton Dean and Steve Lacy. He studied Indian classical and West African music and later acousmatic and electroacoustic composition with professors David Berezan and Ricardo Climent.
Initially inspired to play electronic music by Cabaret Voltaire, Lee Scratch Perry and Stockhausen in the early 1980s he was later introduced to free improvisation by John Stevens (Spontaneous Music Ensemble) and studied saxophone under the guidance of Elton Dean and Steve Lacy. He studied Indian classical and West African music and later acousmatic and electroacoustic composition with professors David Berezan and Ricardo Climent.
He has released many recordings, for example with Grutronic and Evan Parker for PSI records and a solo double LP, Several Circles, and an album with Twinkle3 and Sidsel Endreson for Cusp Editions. He co-founded and co-curated several notable concert series in Berlin: Basic Electricity, AUXXX and Sound Anatomy. From his Berlin studio he also works as a Mastering Engineer, mostly for weird and wonderful artists and labels, for example his own Sound Anatomy label, PSI Records and Huddersfield Contemporary Records (HCR).
Richard Scott holds a PhD in Sociology/Musicology, an Masters in Electroacoustic Composition, an HND in Jazz Theory and Musicianship. He is author of several articles on the subject of Free Improvisation, Modular Synthesis and post-acousmatic music. He wrote extensively for Wire magazine, was administrator at the LMC (London Musician's Collective) and has been an active member of the improvising and electroacoustic communities in London, Manchester and Berlin. He initiated the Sines&Squares Featival for Analogue and Modular Synthesis in Manchester in 2014 and 2016.
Written & produced by Richard Scott.
Drawings by Richard Scott.
Graphic design: Mads Emil Nielsen.
Mastered & cut by Kassian Troyer at D&M, Berlin.
 
published in September 2022
white vinyl
45 rpm
 
32.00
 
in stock
Richard Scott: other title



 top of page

les presses du réel

Delirious Cartographies (vinyl LP)

Richard Scott - Delirious Cartographies (vinyl LP)
S'inscrivant dans la série Framework du label danois Arbitrary animé par Mads Emil Nielsen, Delirious Cartographies du compositeur, improvisateur et virtuose du synthétiseur modulaire Richard Scott comprend trois pièces et six dessins imprimés – ainsi qu'un texte de Scott – publiés sous la forme d'un portfolio en édition limitée.
« Ces compositions capturent des aspects de mon expérience sonore personnelle de moments et de lieux spécifiques. Allant au-delà de mon travail habituel avec le synthétiseur analogique, ces pièces ouvrent les portes et les fenêtres sur le monde extérieur, incorporant des enregistrements de terrain et en direct réalisés dans divers lieux et situations. Plutôt que de viser un sens clair de la narration, elles constituent des dialogues moléculaires entre des éléments et des géographies qui ne partagent pas nécessairement des points de connexion organiques, autres que ma propre expérience et ma mémoire incomplète d'eux. »
La pièce finale « 6 Graphic Etudes » (incluse sous forme d'impressions numériques) est conçue comme un ensemble d'esquisses visuelles / sonores, chacune d'entre elles décrivant un type discret de mouvement ou de texture. Celles-ci peuvent avoir une variété d'utilisations : exercices musicaux, partitions, ou simplement comme propositions visuelles / œuvres autonomes.
Les pièces ont été composées entre 2017 et 2021 dans divers lieux (Sound Anatomy, Berlin, Spektrum Berlin, EMS Stockholm, NOVARS, Université de Manchester, Electronic Music Studios, Université de Huddersfield, Boliqueime, Portugal).
En plus de divers microphones, hydrophones et enregistreurs, les instruments utilisés sur cet enregistrement sont principalement des synthétiseurs analogiques et modulaires : Hordijk Modular, Serge Modular, EMS Synthi A, divers modules Eurorack, contrôleur midi Buchla Thunder, Oberheim Xpander, Clavia Nord Micro Modular, CataRT et maxMSP, Rob Hordijk Blippoo box. Sur « Thunder, actually bicycles... », Axel Dörne joue une trompette Holton Firebird avec un échantillonnage en direct supplémentaire via maxMSP et une interface de contrôle développée par Sukandar Kartadinata.
Limité à 300 exemplaires, impression sur papier Gmund 275g, pochette gaufrée, code de téléchargement inclus.

Richard Scott est un compositeur et interprète de musique électronique et improvisée. Explorant le potentiel des synthétiseurs modulaires analogiques, il travaille également avec une variété de technologies numériques telles que l'ambisonie, la diffusion multicanal et avec des instruments tels que le Buchla Lightning, Thunder et son système WiGi développé en tant que résident artistique au studio STIEM.
Il a collaboré avec de nombreux musiciens internationaux : Axel Dörner, Thomas Lehn, Audrey Chen, Clive Bell, Richard Barrett, Kazuhisa Uchihashi, Michael Vorfeld, Jon Rose, Ute Wassermann, Shelley Hirsch, Evan Parker, Frank Gratkowski, Stock, Hausen & Walkman, Bark! et le Lightning Ensemble...
Initialement inspiré par la musique électronique de Cabaret Voltaire, par Lee Scratch Perry et Stockhausen au début des années 1980, il a ensuite été initié à l'improvisation libre par John Stevens (Spontaneous Music Ensemble) et a étudié le saxophone sous la direction d'Elton Dean et Steve Lacy. Il a étudié la musique classique indienne et la musique d'Afrique de l'Ouest, puis la composition acousmatique et électroacoustique avec David Berezan et Ricardo Climent.
Il a publié de nombreux enregistrements, notamment avec Grutronic et Evan Parker pour PSI records et un double LP solo, Several Circles, ainsi qu'un album avec Twinkle3 et Sidsel Endreson pour Cusp Editions. Il a cofondé et coorganisé plusieurs séries de concerts à Berlin : Basic Electricity, AUXXX et Sound Anatomy. Depuis son studio berlinois, il travaille également comme ingénieur de mastering, pour divers artistes et des labels, son propre label Sound Anatomy, PSI Records ou Huddersfield Contemporary Records (HCR).
Titulaire d'un doctorat en sociologie/musicologie, d'un master en composition électroacoustique, d'un HND en théorie du jazz et de la musique, Richard Scott est l'auteur de plusieurs articles sur l'improvisation libre, la synthèse modulaire et la musique post-acousmatique. Contributeur régulier de Wire, il été administrateur du LMC (London Musician's Collective) et a été un membre actif des communautés d'improvisation et d'électroacoustique à Londres, Manchester et Berlin. Il a initié le Sines&Squares Featival for Analogue and Modular Synthesis à Manchester en 2014 et 2016.
« Maître du synthétiseur analogique », Richard Scott s'est vu comparé à des références aussi variées que Morton Subotnick, Derek Bailey, Mouse on Mars, Todd Dockstader et Autechre.
Composé et produit par Richard Scott.
Dessins de Richard Scott.
Conception graphique : Mads Emil Nielsen.
Mastering : Kassian Troyer, D&M, Berlin.
 
paru en septembre 2022
vinyle blanc
45 rpm
 
32.00
 
en stock
Delirious Cartographies (vinyl LP) Delirious Cartographies (vinyl LP) Delirious Cartographies (vinyl LP) Delirious Cartographies (vinyl LP) Delirious Cartographies (vinyl LP)
Richard Scott : autre titre



 haut de page