les presses du réel

at GRM (2009, 2016) (vinyl LP)

Peter Rehberg - at GRM (2009, 2016) (vinyl LP)
Two previously unreleased recordings of Peter Rehberg (1968-2021), live performances given at the GRM which, each in their own way, vividly illustrate the extent of his sonic palette.
On 22 July 2021, Peter Rehberg passed away, leaving a great emptiness in his wake. Many initiatives have already celebrated or will soon celebrate his memory and the titanic work he put at the service of so many artists—a whole musical community, in fact—through Editions Mego. INA grm, Shelter Press and Stephen O'Malley, who are continuing some of the collaborative Editions Mego sub-labels (Recollection GRM, Portraits GRM and Ideologic Organ), wanted to pay tribute more specifically to the musician Peter Rehberg, and to his immense talent.
Peter Rehberg, as an artist, has collaborated with the GRM on numerous occasions, both with Stephen O'Malley (as KTL) and solo. This release features two concerts given for the GRM, each time as part of the Présences électronique festival. The first concert, given on 15 March 2009 at the Maison de la Radio in Paris, marked the first collaboration between Peter Rehberg and the GRM and the beginning of a long and fruitful friendship. The second concert took place on 6 March 2016. Between these two concerts, 7 years have passed, 7 years in which the ties between Peter Rehberg and the GRM have been strengthened, 7 years in which Peter Rehberg's music has flourished. What is striking in these two concerts is how Peter Rehberg's unique musical sensitivity and "grammar" can be heard beyond the instruments. For while the first concert is pure laptop music, the second is extended to the field of modular synthesis. However, in both concerts, the elements that are so personal to Peter Rehberg's music are present and combine in a layering of sonic abrasions, raw sensations and a sensitivity that is as much about formal awareness as it is about the invocation of overwhelming emotions, even though a little hidden behind a radicality that is always a bit provocative. Peter Rehberg offers us a "portrait music", a music that gives some clues about the personality of its author and whose absence continues to deepen an inconsolable sadness.
Digital download code included.

Born 1968 in London, Peter Rehberg moved to Vienna in the 1990s and began his musical career there, when the aesthetic possibilities of what has been called "laptop music" were just being discovered. His pioneering work has spanned almost thirty years, both as a solo artist with his Get series of albums and through numerous collaborations such as Fenn O'Berg (with Jim O'Rourke and Christian Fennesz), KTL (with Stephen O'Malley), R/S (with Marcus Schmickler) and NPVR (with Nik Void).
He has performed in concert all over the world, and in festivals such as SONAR, All Tomorrows Parties, CTM Berlin, MUTEK, Donaufestival and won the Prix Ars Electronica in the Digital Music and Sound Art categories in 1999. His radical, free and expressive musical approach was also associated for almost twenty years with the work of the choreographer and director Gisèle Vienne.
Peter Rehberg was also recognized for his key role in the dissemination of experimental music, notably through his label Editions Mego, and the publication of albums by world-renowned artists such as Fennesz, Kevin Drumm, Oneothrix Point Never, Caterina Barbieri, Florian Hecker, Julia Reidy, Oren Ambarchi, Russel Haswell, Klara Lewis, KTL, KMRU, Mark Fell, among others. He also launched, in partnership with GRM, the Recollection GRM and Portraits GRM labels.
Peter Rehberg passed away suddenly on July 22, 2021.
Mastered by Giuseppe Ielasi.
Cut by Andreas Kauffelt at Schnittstelle, Berlin.
Photo by Magdalena Blaszczuk.
Sleeve design by Stephen O'Malley.
 
published in September 2022
 
20.00
 
in stock
Peter Rehberg: other titles




 top of page

les presses du réel

at GRM (2009, 2016) (vinyl LP)

Peter Rehberg - at GRM (2009, 2016) (vinyl LP)
Deux enregistrements inédits de Peter Rehberg (1968-2021), des performances live données au GRM qui, chacune à leur manière, illustrent de manière éclatante l'étendue de sa palette sonore.
Le 22 juillet 2021, Peter Rehberg s'est éteint, laissant un grand vide dans son sillage. De nombreuses initiatives ont déjà célébré ou célébreront encore sa mémoire et le travail titanesque qu'il a mis au service de toute une communauté musicale, à travers les Editions Mego. INA GRM, Shelter Press et Stephen O'Malley, qui poursuivent certains des sous-labels collaboratifs des Editions Mego (Recollection GRM, Portraits GRM et Ideologic Organ), ont voulu rendre un hommage plus spécifique au musicien Peter Rehberg, et à son talent.
Peter Rehberg, en tant qu'artiste, a collaboré à de nombreuses reprises avec le GRM, tant avec Stephen O'Malley (sous le nom de KTL) qu'en solo. Ce disque présente deux concerts donnés pour le GRM, chaque fois dans le cadre du festival Présences électronique. Le premier concert, donné le 15 mars 2009 à la Maison de la Radio à Paris, a marqué la première collaboration entre Peter Rehberg et le GRM et le début d'une longue et fructueuse amitié. Le deuxième concert a eu lieu le 6 mars 2016. Entre ces deux concerts, sept ans se sont écoulés, durant lesquels les liens entre Peter Rehberg et le GRM se sont renforcés, et durant lesquels la musique de Peter Rehberg s'est épanouie. Ce qui est frappe dans ces deux concerts est la manière dont la sensibilité musicale et la « grammaire » uniques de Peter Rehberg se font entendre au-delà des instruments. En effet, alors que le premier concert est une pure musique d'ordinateur portable, le second s'étend au domaine de la synthèse modulaire. Cependant, dans les deux concerts, les éléments qui sont si distinctifs de la musique de Peter Rehberg sont présents et se combinent dans une superposition d'abrasions sonores, de sensations brutes et d'une sensibilité émotionnelle bouleversante, derrière la radicalité toujours quelque peu provocante. Peter Rehberg nous offre une « musique de portrait », une musique qui donne quelques indices sur la personnalité de son auteur, dont l'absence continue de nous hanter.
Code de téléchargement numérique inclus.

Né à Londres en 1968, Peter Rehberg s'est installé à Vienne dans les années 1990 et y a débuté sa carrière musicale, au moment où l'on découvrait les possibilités esthétiques de ce que l'on a appelé la « laptop music ». Son travail pionnier s'étend sur près de trente ans, en tant qu'artiste solo avec sa série d'albums Get mais aussi à travers de nombreuses collaborations telles que Fenn O'Berg (avec Jim O'Rourke et Christian Fennesz), KTL (avec Stephen O'Malley), R/S (avec Marcus Schmickler) et NPVR (avec Nik Void).
Il s'est produit en concert dans le monde entier et dans des festivals tels que SONAR, All Tomorrows Parties, CTM Berlin, MUTEK, Donaufestival et a remporté le Prix Ars Electronica dans les catégories Digital Music et Sound Art en 1999. Son approche musicale radicale, libre et expressive a également été associée pendant près de vingt ans au travail de la chorégraphe et metteuse en scène Gisèle Vienne.
Peter Rehberg est également reconnu pour son rôle clé dans la diffusion de la musique expérimentale, notamment à travers son label Editions Mego, et la publication d'albums d'artistes de renommée mondiale tels que Fennesz, Kevin Drumm, Oneothrix Point Never, Caterina Barbieri, Florian Hecker, Julia Reidy, Oren Ambarchi, Russel Haswell, Klara Lewis, KTL, KMRU ou encore Mark Fell. Il est aussi l'initiateur, en partenariat avec le GRM, des séries Recollection GRM et Portraits GRM.
Peter Rehberg est décédé subitement le 22 juillet 2021.
Mastering : Giuseppe Ielasi.
Pressage : Andreas Kauffelt, Schnittstelle, Berlin.
Photo : Magdalena Blaszczuk.
Conception graphique : Stephen O'Malley.
 
paru en septembre 2022
 
20.00
 
en stock
Peter Rehberg : autres titres




 haut de page