les presses du réel

Faire – To look at thingsVolume 10 (#35, 36, 37)

 - Faire – To look at things
Issues 35 to 37 of the critical review dedicated to graphic design.
#35 — An eye: artists' gaze on the modern world 1911–1938.
Author: Sonia de Puineuf

The image of the eye appears in a recurring fashion within the graphic production of modern artists. It is often treated as an autonomous motif, detached from the rest of the face, combined with inscriptions and typographic signs. These works are then to be considered as a layout of the gaze.
From the poster for the Internationale Hygiene Exhibition in Dresden, designed by Munich native Franz von Stuck (1911), to the cover of the book Écriture et photographie in the advertisement phototypeset by czechoslovakian Zdeněk Rossmann (1938), by way of Francis Picabia's iconoclastic The Cacodylic Eye (1921) that is a painting with no paint, this rich corpus testifies to a notable evolution of sensitivity within the avant-garde and a questioning of the accuracy of the vision of the artist in the face of the techno-logical developments of the modern world.

#36 — Photography suspended: Herbert Bayer.
Author: Remi Parcollet

The trend of exhibiting photography, and more specifically documentary photography, was clearly established in 1951 with three exhibitions: The New Landscape by György Kepes at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Architettura, misura dell'uomo (9th Milan Triennial of) by Ernesto N. Rogers, Vittorio Gregotti, and Giotto Stoppino, and Parallel of Life and Art at the Institute of Contemporary Art (ICA) in London. The documentation of these three exhibitions played an essential role in the development of the modes of exhibition of photography. Like the MoMA exhibitions Road to Victory and Airways to Peace, staged by Herbert Bayer, they contribute to thinking that was developed masterfully in the book Display by George Nelson, published in 1956.
Bayer approached the modern exhibition based on the principles of the New Vision, and according to him it was important to not keep the spectator at a distance, but rather to accompany and envelop them. In 1961 he compiled his ideas around the design of exhibitions in an article entitled "Aspect of Design of Exhibitions and Museums", taking as a reference the Obmokhou exhibition in Moscow in 1921, where, through documentation, he observed "that a radical elimination of the unessential took place" resulting in a search for lightness and weightlessness using the minimum amount of materials. His thinking was that one should "eliminate all elements, structural and otherwise, that might detract from or interfere with the images themselves. The ultimate solution of this train of thought would be displays created without any material effort or visible support, placed in midair…"

#37 — A polygraph: George Nelson.
Author: Catherine Geel

George Nelson (1908-1986), an American functionalist designer with polished creations, but with complex textual and visual manifestations is a special case within American Modernism, as is hinted at by the titles of his designs: A Problem of Design: How to Kill People, (1960), Requiem (1960), Elegy in the Junk Yard (1961).
Why then isn't Nelson identified as a writer or critic, despite his considerable written output?
Faire is a bi-monthly magazine dedicated to graphic design, published from October to June, distributed each two months in the form of anthologies of three or four issues. Created by Empire, Syndicat studio's publishing house, Faire is aimed for undergraduate students as well as researchers and professionals, documenting contemporary and international practices of graphic design, along with the history and grammar of styles. Each issue focuses on a single subject, addressed by a renowned author.

“Critical publications dedicated to the analysis of Graphic design are sadly few and far between today, particularly in France, but also in Europe as a whole. Adopting an analytical and critical posture with regard to the forms and activities of Graphic design, Sacha Léopold and François Havegeer intend to establish a printed publication that deals with these practices. The publication will work with seven authors in its first year (Lise Brosseau, Manon Bruet, Thierry ChancogneJérôme Dupeyrat, Catherine Guiral and Étienne Hervy). This initially limited choice, linked to a desire to propose an experience with a group that has previously participated together in projects, will then allow for the inclusion of foreign authors in the second year of publication.”
 
published in March 2022
bilingual edition (English / French)
20 x 29 cm (softcover, plastic sleeve)
72 pages (color & b/w ill.)
 
21.00
 
ISBN : 979-10-95991-40-3
EAN : 9791095991403
 
in stock
Faire – To look at things Faire – To look at things Faire – To look at things Faire – To look at things Faire – To look at things Faire – To look at things Faire – To look at things Faire – To look at things Faire – To look at things Faire – To look at things


 top of page

les presses du réel

Faire – Regarder le graphismeVolume 10 (n° 35, 36, 37)

 - Faire – Regarder le graphisme
Les numéros 35 à 37 de la revue critique consacrée au graphisme.
nº 35 — Un œil : le regard des artistes sur le monde moderne 1911-1938.
Auteure : Sonia de Puineuf

Dans la production graphique des artistes modernes apparaît de façon récurrente l'image de l'œil. Celui-ci est souvent traité comme motif autonome, détaché du reste du visage, de surcroît combiné aux inscriptions et signes typographiques. Ces œuvres sont alors à comprendre comme une mise en scène (ou mise en pages) du regard.
De l'affiche pour l'Exposition internationale de l'Hygiène à Dresde dessinée par le Munichois Franz von Stuck (1911) à la couverture du livre Écriture et photographie dans la publicité photo-montée par le Tchèque Zdeněk Rossmann (1938), en passant par l'iconoclaste L'Œil cacodylate de Francis Picabia (1921) qui est une peinture sans peinture, ce riche corpus témoigne d'une évolution notable de sensibilité au sein de l'avant-garde et d'un questionnement sur la justesse de la vision de l'artiste confronté aux évolutions technologiques du monde moderne.

nº 36 — La photographie suspendue : Herbert Bayer.
Auteur : Remi Parcollet

La tendance consistant à spatialiser la photo-graphie, et plus spécifiquement la photographie documentaire, s'affirme clairement en 1951 à travers les expositions : The New Landscape de György Kepes au Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Architettura, misura dell'uomo (IXe Triennale de Milan) d'Ernesto N. Rogers, Vittorio Gregotti et Giotto Stoppino, et en 1953 Parallel of Life and Art à l'Institute of Contem-porary Art (ICA) de Londres. Les documentations de ces trois « displays » jouent un rôle essentiel sur l'évolution des modes de monstration de la photographie. Elles viennent, comme celles des expositions du MoMA mises en espace par Herbert Bayer, Road to Victory et Airway to Peace, alimenter la réflexion qui se développe magistralement dans l'ouvrage Display de George Nelson, publié en 1956.
Bayer conçoit l'exposition moderne à partir des principes de la New Vision, selon lui elle ne doit pas tenir le spectateur à distance mais l'accompagner et l'englober. En 1961, il compile ses idées sur la conception des expositions dans un article, Aspect du design des expositions et des musées, et prend pour référence l'exposition de l'Obmokhou à Moscou en 1921, où il observe à travers sa documentation visuelle « qu'une élimination radicale de l'inessentiel a eu lieu » résultant d'une recherche de la légèreté et de l'apesanteur avec un minimum d'utilisation de matière. Il considère alors qu'il faut : « éliminer tous les éléments, structurels et autres, susceptibles de nuire ou d'interférer avec les images elles-mêmes. La solution ultime de ce train de pensée serait l'affichage créé sans aucun effort matériel ou support visible, placé en l'air  […] ».

nº 37 — Un polygraphe : George Nelson.
Auteure : Catherine Geel

George Nelson (1908–1986), designer fonctionnaliste américain aux créations lisses, mais aux manifestations, textuelles et visuelles complexes est un cas particulier du modernisme américain, ce que suggèrent les titres de ses productions : A Problem of Design: How to Kill People (1960), Requiem (1960) ou Elegy in the Junk Yard (1961) indiquent. Pourquoi malgré une production écrite considérable, Nelson n'est-il pas identifié comme critique ou écrivain ?
Faire – Regarder le graphisme est une revue critique bimensuelle consacrée au design graphique, qui paraît en librairie tous les deux mois sous la forme de recueils de trois ou quatre numéros. Editée par Empire, la maison d'édition du studio Syndicat, elle parait d'octobre à juin et s'adresse aussi bien aux étudiants qu'aux chercheurs et aux professionnels, en documentant les pratiques contemporaines et internationales du graphisme ainsi que l'histoire et la grammaire des styles. Chaque numéro propose un sujet unique et tentaculaire, traité par un auteur reconnu.

« Les revues critiques dédiées à l'analyse du design graphique sont malheureusement trop peu nombreuses aujourd'hui, particulièrement en France mais aussi en Europe. Engagés dans une posture analytique et critique des formes et activités du graphisme, Sacha Léopold et François Havegeer souhaitent mener une revue imprimée sur ces pratiques, en agissant avec sept auteurs (Lise Brosseau, Manon Bruet, Thierry Chancogne, Céline Chazalviel, Jérôme Dupeyrat, Catherine Guiral et Étienne Hervy). Ce choix restreint, lié à la volonté de proposer une expérience au sein d'un groupe ayant déjà mené des projets communs, permettra d'inclure des auteurs internationaux la deuxième année. »
 
paru en mars 2022
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
20 x 29 cm (broché, sous film)
72 pages (ill. coul. et n&b)
 
21.00
 
ISBN : 979-10-95991-40-3
EAN : 9791095991403
 
en stock
Faire – Regarder le graphisme Faire – Regarder le graphisme Faire – Regarder le graphisme Faire – Regarder le graphisme Faire – Regarder le graphisme Faire – Regarder le graphisme Faire – Regarder le graphisme Faire – Regarder le graphisme Faire – Regarder le graphisme Faire – Regarder le graphisme


 haut de page