les presses du réel

Party StudiesVol. 1 – Home gatherings, flat events, festive pedagogy and refiguring the hangover

 - Party Studies
First volume of a collective publication devoted to the analysis of the party, in all the complexity of its social dimensions and implications.
From social get-together to scenes of delirium, the publication aims to unpack the party as a complex, vertiginous construct that provides a dynamic view onto questions of community. If the party functions as an intensification of togetherness, what lessons might it provide in negotiating a given social order?
In particular, volume 1 considers the house party, and in what ways domestic space is reworked in support of an extension of the family unit. Including a series of interviews with those active in flat events in Budapest during the communist regime and today, essays on hospitality, the politics of rest, and erotic knowledge, and documentation on Sala 603, an informal house-theater in Curitiba.
The publication is the first in a series developed in parallel to a set of party-workshops held in different locations in Madrid, each of which performatively investigates states of partying, posing the party as a scene of creative study.
Edited by Víctor Aguado, Ramón del Buey, Brandon LaBelle.
Contributions by Miguel Ballarín & Víctor Aguado, Octavio Camargo, István Javór, András Kovács, Brandon LaBelle, Julia Morandeira, Lucia Udvardyova.

Published with AMEE, Madrid.
 
published in June 2021
15 x 21 cm (softcover)
140 pages (color & b/w ill.)
 
18.00
 
ISBN : 978-0-9978744-9-5
EAN : 9780997874495
 
in stock


 top of page

les presses du réel

Party StudiesVol. 1 – Home gatherings, flat events, festive pedagogy and refiguring the hangover

 - Party Studies
Premier volume d'une publication collective consacrée à l'analyse de la fête, dans toute la complexité de ses dimensions et implications sociales.
De la rencontre sociale aux scènes de délire, cette publication propose une analyse de la fête appréhendée comme une construction complexe et vertigineuse qui ouvre des perspectives nombreuses sur les questions de communauté. Si la fête fonctionne comme une intensification de la convivialité et de l'être-ensemble, quelles sont ses relations avec un ordre social donné ?
Le volume 1 s'intéresse en particulier à la fête privée et aux rapports entre espace domestique et cellule familiale. Il comprend une série d'entretiens avec les personnes actives dans le monde festif à Budapest sous le régime communiste et aujourd'hui, des essais sur l'hospitalité, la politique du repos et le savoir érotique, ainsi qu'une documentation sur Sala 603, une maison-théâtre informelle à Curitiba.
Cette publication est la première d'une série développée parallèlement à un ensemble d'ateliers sur le thème de la fête organisés dans différents lieux de Madrid, chacun d'entre eux enquêtant de manière performative sur les états de la fête, envisagée comme scène d'étude créative.
Edite par Víctor Aguado, Ramón del Buey, Brandon LaBelle.
Contributions de Miguel Ballarín & Víctor Aguado, Octavio Camargo, István Javór, András Kovács, Brandon LaBelle, Julia Morandeira, Lucia Udvardyova.

Publié avec AMEE, Madrid.
 
paru en juin 2021
15 x 21 cm (broché, couv. à rabats)
140 pages (ill. coul. et n&b)
 
18.00
 
ISBN : 978-0-9978744-9-5
EAN : 9780997874495
 
en stock
Party Studies Party Studies Party Studies Party Studies Party Studies Party Studies Party Studies Party Studies Party Studies Party Studies Party Studies Party Studies Party Studies Party Studies


 haut de page