les presses du réel

Logic of the Collection

Boris Groys - Logic of the Collection
An essay by the distinguished philosopher and theorist of art and media on the current evolution and possible future of museum collections practices and strategies.
In modernity, the museum was the institution that made art accessible to the broader public. An artwork was collected if it was considered beautiful, passionate, engaged, or critical—and primarily if it was deemed historically relevant. But today, with the total availability and saturation of images, the museum has lost its privileged status as the exclusive place for the display of art. In our age of digital media, how is a particular artwork selected for a museum collection? Which symbolic criteria must this artwork satisfy for it to obtain value? And in what ways does the institution of the museum remain relevant?
Logic of the Collection is framed by Boris Groys's original and provocative proposition: an artwork is considered historically relevant if it fits the logic of the museum collection. In these critical essays, Groys analyzes the relationship between the logic of the collection and various modern ideologies. He reflects on the explosion of art production and distribution through the ascendancy of digital media as well as the ways in which the accumulated artworks will be collected and preserved in the future.
German philosopher, essayist, art critic and media theorist Boris Groys (born 1947 in East Berlin) teaches at the Staatliche Hochschule für Gestaltung in Karlsruhe. His works oriented towards modern and contemporary art develop a reflection on modernity, postmodernity and the question of the subject.
Graphic design: Rafaela Dražić.
 
2021 (publication expected by 4th quarter)
English edition
13 x 21 cm (softcover)
296 pages
 
22.00
 
ISBN : 978-3-95679-526-8
EAN : 9783956795268
 
forthcoming
Boris Groys: other titles





 top of page

les presses du réel

Logic of the Collection

Boris Groys - Logic of the Collection
Un essai du philosophe et théoricien de l'art et des médias sur l'évolution actuelle et le devenir possible des pratiques et stratégies des collections muséales.
A l'ère moderne, le musée était l'institution qui rendait l'art accessible au grand public. Une œuvre d'art était acquise si elle était considérée comme belle, passionnée, engagée ou critique, et surtout si elle était jugée historiquement pertinente. Mais aujourd'hui, avec la disponibilité et la saturation totale des images, le musée a perdu son statut privilégié de lieu exclusif d'exposition de l'art. À notre époque de médias numériques, comment une œuvre d'art particulière est-elle sélectionnée pour une collection de musée ? Quels critères symboliques cette œuvre d'art doit-elle satisfaire pour être valorisée ? Et dans quelle mesure l'institution muséale reste-t-elle pertinente ?
L'ouvrage Logic of the Collection s'inscrit dans le cadre de la proposition originale et provocatrice de Boris Groys : une œuvre d'art est considérée comme historiquement pertinente si elle s'inscrit dans la logique de la collection du musée. Dans ces essais critiques, l'éminent philosophe et théoricien de l'art et des médias analyse la relation entre la logique de la collection et diverses idéologies modernes. Groys propose une réflexion sur l'explosion de la production et de la distribution de l'art à travers le développement des médias numériques ainsi que sur la manière dont les œuvres d'art accumulées seront collectées et préservées à l'avenir.
Philosophe, écrivain, théoricien des médias et critique d'art allemand, Boris Groys (né en 1947 à Berlin Est) enseigne à la Staatliche Hochschule für Gestaltung de Karlsruhe. Ses travaux orientés vers l'art moderne et l'art contemporain développent une réflexion sur la modernité, la postmodernité et la question du sujet.
Conception graphique : Rafaela Dražić.
 
paru en octobre 2021
édition anglaise
13 x 21 cm (broché)
296 pages
 
22.00
 
ISBN : 978-3-95679-526-8
EAN : 9783956795268
 
en stock
Logic of the Collection Logic of the Collection Logic of the Collection Logic of the Collection Logic of the Collection Logic of the Collection Logic of the Collection Logic of the Collection Logic of the Collection Logic of the Collection Logic of the Collection Logic of the Collection
Boris Groys : autres titres





 haut de page