les presses du réel
Kayije Kagame, Grace Seri - Sans Grace
Sans Grace is the book by two actresses, one from Geneva, the other based in Paris. It takes up the first improvisational exercises that they carried out before conceiving the stage diptych Sans Grace / Avec Grace, on tour in Switzerland and Belgium.
Sans Grace is an ongoing encounter woven by the unique wording of Grace Seri, a book on the edge of writing and speaking. These texts, written while undergoing logorrheic exercises with Kayije Kagame and Grace Seri, initiate a writing method without graphemes, by which the unconscious speaks and the body writes. Once transcribed, the texts led to the diptych Sans Grace / Avec Grace, staged by Kayije Kagame, that explores twinship, the multiple identities of characters in search of meaning, apprehending their own desires, and the alternate absence of both actresses, on stage as well as in their daily life.
Kayije Kagame (born 1987 in Geneva) works in the fields of contemporary art and stagecraft in Switzerland and abroad. Graduated in acting from ENSATT in Lyon, she attended in 2014 and 2015 the Watermill International Summer Program, founded by Robert Wilson on Long Island NY. During her experiences as actress and performer, she collaborated with Robert Wilson, Baboo Liao, Ivan Chang, Karim Bel Kacem, Maud Blandel, Denis Savary, Pan Daijing. She played in Camille Dumond's short films People's Park (2018) and Ajardeck (2018) and has been the lead character of Est-on prêtes à endosser les habits de l'artiste ?, a short film by Benjamin Valenza. In addition, Kayije Kagame develops in-situ projects within art spaces, in Switzerland and abroad, by which she explores the notion of non-performance through visual and sound immersive displays. In 2019, along with Hugo Radi, Marvin M'toumo, Ndayé Kouagou and Camille Dumond, she initiated So long lives this, and this gives life to thee, a stage display on the edge of theater and cinema for which the entire Théâtre de l'Usine was held and occupied by the audience. Currently, Kayije Kagame presents Sans Grace / Avec Grace, a diptych co-written with the actress Grace Seri and touring at Arsenic (VD), Grütli (GE) and Balsamine in Bruxelles, Belgium.
Grace Seri (lives and works in Paris) attended for three years the teaching of Daniel Mesguich, Xavier Gallais, Georges Lavaudant and Stuart Séide at the Conservatoire National Supérieur d'Art Dramatique (CNSAD, Paris). She played in the short film Le Bleu Blanc Rouge de mes Cheveux by Josza Enjambe, for which she she received the Prix du meilleur jeune espoir féminin, Festival Jean-Carmet, Moulins (2016). She performed in Hôtel Feydeau at the Théâtre de l'Odéon, staged by Georges Lavaudant (2017), followed by Lourdes by Paul Toucangau at the Théâtre de la Colline in Paris. In 2018, she met the stage directress Keti Irubetagoyena with whom she played La Femme n'existe pas at the Théâtre de l'Echangeur. In 2019, she performs in her first feature film Un violent désir de bonheur by director Clément Schneider which was selected for the program l'ACID at the Festival de Cannes (2019).
 
published in October 2020
bilingual edition (English / French)
11 x 16 cm (softcover)
64 pages
 
15.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-9701103-9-2
EAN : 9782970110392
 
in stock


 top of page

les presses du réel
Sans Grace Kayije Kagame, Grace Seri - Sans Grace
Sans Grace est le livre de deux comédiennes, l'une de Genève, l'autre basée à Paris. Il reprend les premiers exercices d'improvisation qu'elles ont menés avant de concevoir le diptyque scénique Sans Grace/Avec Grace, en tournée en Suisse et en Belgique.
Sans Grace est une rencontre sur la durée, tissée des paroles uniques de Grace Seri, un livre entre écriture et oralité. Ces textes, écrits lors d'exercices de logorrhée pratiqués par Kayije Kagame et Grace Seri, manient la matière brute de l'oralité, inaugurant une méthode d'écriture sans graphèmes, par laquelle l'inconscient parle et le corps écrit. Retranscrits, les textes oraux ont donné lieu au diptyque Sans Grace/Avec Grace, mis en scène par Kayije Kagame et explorent la gémellité, l'identité multiple de personnages en quête de sens, l'appréhension de leurs propres désirs et l'absence alternée, aussi bien scénique que réelle, des deux actrices.
Kayije Kagame (née en 1987 à Genève) travaille dans le domaine des arts scéniques et contemporains en Suisse et à l'étranger. Diplômée de l'ENSATT de Lyon au Département Jeu (2013), elle est résidente deux années consécutives au Watermill International Summer Program fondé par Robert Wilson à Long Island, NY (2014-15). Dans son parcours d'actrice et performeuse, elle sillonne différentes collaborations avec Robert Wilson, Baboo Liao, Ivan Cheng, Karim Bel Kacem, Maud Blandel, Denis Savary, Pan Daijing. Elle tourne People's Park et Ajardeck (2017-18), films courts réalisés par Camille Dumond et tient le rôle principal du film court d'Emmanuelle Lainé et Benjamin Valenza Est-on prêtes à endosser les habits de l'artiste ? (2018). Parallèlement, Kayije Kagame met en place des projets in-situ au sein d'espaces d'arts, en Suisse et à l'étranger, où elle explore par le biais de dispositifs visuels et sonores immersifs la notion de non-performance. En 2019, elle propose avec Hugo Radi, Marvin M'toumo, Ndayé Kouagou et Camille Dumond So long lives this, and this gives life to thee, un dispositif à mi-chemin entre théâtre et cinéma dans lequel tout le Théâtre de l'Usine est investi par le public.
Grace Seri (vit et travaille à Paris) intègre le Conservatoire National Supérieur d'Art Dramatique (2013) pour trois ans d'enseignement avec Daniel Mesguich, Xavier Gallais, Georges Lavaudant et Stuart Séide. Elle joue dans le film court Le Bleu Blanc Rouge de mes Cheveux de Josza Enjambe et reçoit le prix du meilleur jeune espoir féminin au Festival Jean-Carmet à Moulins (2016). Elle joue Hôtel Feydeau au Théâtre de l'Odéon sous la direction de Georges Lavaudant (2017) et enchaîne avec Lourdes de Paul Toucangau au Théâtre de la Colline à Paris. Grace rencontre la metteure en scène Keti Irubetagoyena avec laquelle elle jouera la création La Femme n'existe pas au Théâtre de l'Echangeur (2018). Elle joue ensuite dans son premier long métrage Un violent désir de bonheur de Clément Schneider sélectionné au Festival de Cannes dans la catégorie de l'Acid (2019).
 
paru en octobre 2020
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
11 x 16 cm (broché)
64 pages
 
15.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-9701103-9-2
EAN : 9782970110392
 
en stock
Sans Grace Sans Grace Sans Grace


 haut de page