les presses du réel

Beau Geste Press

 - Beau Geste Press
The “catalogue dé-raisonné” of all the printed matter produced by tThe independent publishing house Beau Geste Press, that federated visual poets, neo-Dadaists and international artists affiliated with the Fluxus movement from 1971 to 1976.
The independent publishing house Beau Geste Press (BGP) was founded in 1971 by the Mexican artists' couple Martha Hellion and Felipe Ehrenberg. Together with their two children, they moved into a farmhouse in Devon, in the English countryside, where, joined by a group of friends including the artist and art historian David Mayor, the graphic designer Chris Welch and his partner Madeleine Gallard, they formed 'a community of duplicators, printers, and artisans'.
Beau Geste Press was active until 1976, printing publications by visual poets, neo-Dadaists and international artists affiliated with the Fluxus movement. Specialising in limited-edition artists' books, it published the work of its own members, but also that of many of their colleagues worldwide. In the spirit of cottage industry, Beau Geste Press adapted its methods and scale of production to its needs, keeping all stages, from design and printing to distribution, under the same—bucolic—roof.
Although it operated from the periphery of the main artistic centres of its time, Beau Geste Press was undoubtedly one of the most productive and influential publishing ventures of its generation.
Published by the CAPC musée d'art contemporain de Bordeaux in collaboration with Bom Dia Boa Tarde Boa Noite, this reference book surveys the history of the independent publishing house Beau Geste Press (BGP) through the publications of its founding members Felipe Ehrenberg, Martha Hellion, David Mayor and Chris Welch, and of the numerous visitors to its rural outpost from 1971 to 1976. A “catalogue dé-raisonné” of all the printed matter produced by BGP, it is complemented by critical essays and first-hand texts that explore the working methods (economy and autonomy of production, distribution of books via post) and document the international influence of this short-lived “community of duplicators, printers, and artisans”.
Editions by Claudio Bertoni, Ulises Carrión, Helen Chadwick, GJ de Rook, Felipe Ehrenberg, Matthias Ehrenberg, Yaël Ehrenberg, Allen Fisher, Ken Friedman, Mick Gibbs, Klaus Groh, Kristján Guðmundsson, Mary Harding, Woody Haut, Jan Hendrix, Jarosław Kozłowski, Myra Landau, Michael Leggett, Rafael López, Raúl Marroquin, Pepe Maya, David Mayor, Anthony McCall, Victor Musgrave, Opal L. Nations, Colin Naylor, Michael Nyman, Ryo & Hiroko Koike, Takako Saito, Carolee Schneemann, Sitting Dog & Co, Endre Tót, Yukio Tsuchiya, Ben Vautier, Cecilia Vicuña, Chris Welch, Hideki Yoshida...

Each book is accompanied by five unprecedented bookmarks.
Edited by Alice Motard.
Essays by Karen Di Franco, Zanna Gilbert, Polly Gregson, Carmen Juliá, Alice Motard, Mila Waldeck ; original texts by Allen Fisher, Mike Leggett, Clive Phillpot, Cecilia Vicuña.

Graphic design: Studio Manuel Raeder.

Published with Bom Dia Boa Tarde Boa Noite
 
published in September 2020
bilingual edition (English / French)
23 x 28,5 cm (softcover, dust jacket)
472 pages (556 ill.)
 
45.00
 
ISBN : 978-3-943514-84-1
EAN : 9783943514841
 
in stock


 top of page

les presses du réel

Beau Geste Press

Beau Geste Press  - Beau Geste Press
Le « catalogue dé-raisonné » de l'ensemble de la production imprimée de la maison d'édition indépendante Beau Geste Press, qui fédéra poètes visuels, néo-dadaïstes et artistes internationaux affiliés à la mouvance Fluxus entre 1971 et 1976.
La maison d'édition indépendante Beau Geste Press (BGP) a été fondée en 1971 par le couple d'artistes mexicains Martha Hellion et Felipe Ehrenberg. Avec leurs deux enfants, ils s'installent dans une ferme du Devon, en pleine campagne anglaise, où ils forment avec quelques amis, parmi lesquels l'artiste et historien de l'art David Mayor, le dessinateur Chris Welch et sa compagne Madeleine Gallard, « une communauté de duplicateurs, d'imprimeurs et d'artisans ».
Active jusqu'en 1976, Beau Geste Press imprimera le travail de poètes visuels, de néo-dadaïstes et d'artistes internationaux affiliés à la mouvance Fluxus. Spécialisée dans les livres d'artistes à tirages limités, elle publie les ouvrages de ses propres membres, mais aussi ceux de nombre de ses contemporains à travers le monde. Dans l'esprit de la cottage industry, elle adapte coûts et échelles de fabrication à ses besoins et garde sous le même toit – celui de son antenne bucolique – toutes les étapes de la production, de la conception éditoriale et de l'impression jusqu'à la distribution des livres par le biais du réseau postal.
Bien qu'elle ait opéré à la périphérie des centres artistiques de l'époque, Beau Geste Press fut sans doute l'une des aventures éditoriales collectives les plus fécondes de sa génération.
Publié par le CAPC musée d'art contemporain de Bordeaux en collaboration avec Bom Dia Boa Tarde Boa Noite, cet ouvrage de référence retrace l'histoire de la maison d'édition indépendante Beau Geste Press (BGP) à travers les livres produits par ses membres fondateurs Felipe Ehrenberg, Martha Hellion, David Mayor et Chris Welch et les nombreux visiteurs de son antenne rurale entre 1971 et 1976. Il se présente comme un « catalogue dé-raisonné » de toute la production imprimée de BGP, complétée par des essais critiques et des textes originaux inédits qui reviennent sur les modes opératoires de la Presse (économie et autonomie de production, distribution des livres par le biais du service postal) et rendent compte du rayonnement international de cette « communauté de duplicateurs, imprimeurs et artisans ».
Editions de Claudio Bertoni, Ulises Carrión, Helen Chadwick, GJ de Rook, Felipe Ehrenberg, Matthias Ehrenberg, Yaël Ehrenberg, Allen Fisher, Ken Friedman, Mick Gibbs, Klaus Groh, Kristján Guðmundsson, Mary Harding, Woody Haut, Jan Hendrix, Jarosław Kozłowski, Myra Landau, Michael Leggett, Rafael López, Raúl Marroquin, Pepe Maya, David Mayor, Anthony McCall, Victor Musgrave, Opal L. Nations, Colin Naylor, Michael Nyman, Ryo & Hiroko Koike, Takako Saito, Carolee Schneemann, Sitting Dog & Co, Endre Tót, Yukio Tsuchiya, Ben Vautier, Cecilia Vicuña, Chris Welch, Hideki Yoshida...

Chaque ouvrage est accompagné de cinq marque-pages inédits.
Edité par Alice Motard.
Essais de Karen Di Franco, Zanna Gilbert, Polly Gregson, Carmen Juliá, Alice Motard, Mila Waldeck ; textes originaux inédits de Allen Fisher, Mike Leggett, Clive Phillpot, Cecilia Vicuña.

Conception graphique : Studio Manuel Raeder.

Publié avec Bom Dia Boa Tarde Boa Noite.
 
paru en septembre 2020
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
23 x 28,5 cm (broché, sous jaquette)
472 pages (556 ill.)
 
45.00
 
ISBN : 978-3-943514-84-1
EAN : 9783943514841
 
en stock
Beau Geste Press Beau Geste Press Beau Geste Press Beau Geste Press Beau Geste Press Beau Geste Press Beau Geste Press Beau Geste Press Beau Geste Press Beau Geste Press Beau Geste Press Beau Geste Press Beau Geste Press Beau Geste Press Beau Geste Press Beau Geste Press Beau Geste Press Beau Geste Press Beau Geste Press Beau Geste Press Beau Geste Press Beau Geste Press Beau Geste Press Beau Geste Press Beau Geste Press Beau Geste Press


 haut de page