Due to the health situation, shipments are currently suspended. Orders are recorded and will be processed as soon as possible. Many thanks!
les presses du réel

Practical EncyclopædiaDetours

Practical Encyclopædia Lenio Kaklea - Practical Encyclopædia
Since 2016, choreographer Lenio Kaklea has been collecting the practices of Europeans. Taking to the streets and pathways of Athens, Aubervilliers, Essen, Guissény, Nyon, and Poitiers, she has gathered nearly 600 unique stories. This compilation testifies to the familiarity and diversity of habits, of rituals, and of trades that compose and distinguish these territories.
From hunting to plumping, by way of idleness to Zumba, Practical Encyclopædia. Detours exposes a contrasting landscape where different manners of moving through the world intersect. In transcribing the voices of these actors, the choreographer composes an epic work that departs from our intimate relation to movement, and invites us to consider the space where the subject is built in action. Opening with an autobiographical essay, this multilingual book (German, English, French, Greek) situates the work of the dance studio vis-à-vis the places, gestures, and relations that Kaklea has investigated.
Lenio Kaklea is a dancer, choreographer and writer born in Athens and based in Paris.
As a young dancer, she studies at the National Conservatory of Contemporary Dance in Athens, where she is formed through classical ballet and American modern dance techniques such as Martha Graham, Merce Cunningham and Jose Limon. In 2005, she is awarded the Pratsika Foundation Prize and moves to France, where she studies at the CNDC in Angers and collaborates with prominent figures of the European dance scene such as Boris Charmatz, Alexandra Bachzetsis, Claudia Triozzi and Emmanuelle Huynh. In 2011, eager to extend her artistic practice, she completes the program SPEAP, a master on experimentation in arts and politics directed by Bruno Latour at Sciences Po in Paris.
Since 2009, Lenio Kaklea develops choreographic projects using a range of media including dance, performance, text and film. In her work, she explores the production of subjectivity through the organized repetition and transmission of movements and seeks to reveal the intimate and marginal spaces in which we, as individuals, construct our identity. An important strand of her work is the project Practical Encyclopaedia. From 2016 to 2019, taking to the streets and pathways of different peripheral European territories she gathers nearly 600 unique stories that testify to the familiarity and diversity of habits, of rituals, and of trades that compose and distinguish these terrains. Different artistic forms see the light within this project (a solo and a group piece, a video installation and two publications in collaboration with art historian and curator Lou Forster).
Her work has been presented at different institutions and festivals throughout Europe, such as the Centre Pompidou, CN D, ImPulsTanz Festival, Onassis Foundation, Triennale of Milan, Laboratoires d’Aubervilliers, documenta 14/Public programs, NEXT Festival, Passerelle Art center, PACT Zollverein, Les presses du réel.
Along with her personal choreographic projects, she engages in collaborations with other artists. In 2013, she pursues a solo collaboration with American choreographer Lucinda Childs on the music of Ryoji Ikeda. In 2016, she is invited curator at the National Scene of Brest and presents Iris, Alexandra, Mariela, Katerina et moi, a focus on contemporary Athenian female choreographic production. In 2017, she accompanies the choreography of Suite No 3, a stage concert by Joris Lacoste and Pierre-Yves Macé. In 2019, she undertakes a collaboration with pianist Orlando Bass in order to choreograph Sonatas & Interludes, the emblematic work for prepared piano by John Cage.
In 2019, she is awarded the Dance Prize of the Hermès Italia Foundation and creates Ballad, a solo for the Triennial of Milan.
Edited by Lou Forster and Lenio Kaklea.

Published with abd.
 
published in November 2019
quadrilingual edition (English / German / Greek / French)
17 x 23 cm (softcover)
196 pages
 
25.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-37896-123-7
EAN : 9782378961237
 
in stock
 
download an excerpt in PDF:
Practical Encyclopædia Practical Encyclopædia Practical Encyclopædia Practical Encyclopædia Practical Encyclopædia Practical Encyclopædia


 top of page

En raison de la situation sanitaire, les expéditions sont actuellement interrompues. Les commandes sont bien entendu notées et seront traitées dès que possible. Merci !
les presses du réel

Encyclopédie pratiqueDétours

Encyclopédie pratique Lenio Kaklea - Encyclopédie pratique
Depuis 2016, la chorégraphe Lenio Kaklea recueille les pratiques des Européen·ne·s. En empruntant les rues et les chemins d'Athènes, Aubervilliers, Essen, Guissény, Nyon et Poitiers, elle a rassemblé près de 600 récits singuliers. Cette collection témoigne de la familiarité et de la diversité des habitudes, des rituels et des métiers qui composent et distinguent ces territoires.
De la chasse à la plomberie, en passant par l'oisiveté ou la zumba, Encyclopédie pratique. Détours donne à voir un paysage contrasté où se croisent différentes manières de se mouvoir dans le monde. En transcrivant la voix de ces acteur·trice·s, la chorégraphe compose une oeuvre épique à partir de notre relation intime au mouvement et nous invite à considérer l'espace où le sujet se construit dans l'action. Introduit par un essai autobiographique, ce livre multilingue (allemand, anglais, français, grec) situe le travail du studio de danse vis-à-vis des lieux, des gestes et des relations sur lesquels Lenio Kaklea a enquêté.
Lenio Kaklea est une danseuse, chorégraphe et écrivaine née à Athènes en Grèce et basée à Paris.
En tant que jeune danseuse, elle étudie au Conservatoire National de Danse Contemporaine d'Athènes (SSCD), où elle est formée en ballet classique et en plusieurs techniques de danse moderne américaine telles que Martha Graham, Merce Cunningham et Jose Limon. En 2005, elle obtient le prix de la Fondation Pratsika et s'installe en France, où elle étudie au CNDC d'Angers (FAC) et collabore avec des chorégraphes de la scène européenne telles que Boris Charmatz, Alexandra Bachzetsis, Claudia Triozzi et Emmanuelle Huynh. En 2011, désireuse d'étendre sa pratique artistique, elle complète le programme SPEAP, un master d'expérimentation en arts et politique dirigé par Bruno Latour à Sciences Po à Paris.
Depuis 2009, Lenio Kaklea développe des projets chorégraphiques en utilisant une gamme de médias incluant la danse, la performance, le texte et le film. Dans son travail, elle explore la production de subjectivité à travers la répétition et la transmission organisées de gestes et cherche à révéler les espaces intimes et marginaux dans lesquels nous, en tant qu'individus, construisons notre identité. Un volet important de son travail est le projet Encyclopédie pratique. De 2016 à 2019, parcourant les rues et les sentiers de différents territoires périphériques européens, elle rassemble près de 600 récits singuliers qui témoignent de la familiarité et de la diversité des habitudes, des rituels et des métiers qui composent et distinguent ces terrains. Différentes formes artistiques voient le jour au sein de ce projet (un solo et une pièce de groupe, une installation vidéo et deux publications en collaboration avec l'historien de l'art et commissaire d'exposition Lou Forster).
Son travail a été présenté dans des institutions et festivals à travers l'Europe, tels que le Centre Pompidou, le CN D, le festival ImPulsTanz, la Fondation Onassis, la Triennale de Milan, les Laboratoires d'Aubervilliers, documenta 14 / Public programs, NEXT Festival, Passerelle Centre d'art, PACT Zollverein, Les presses du réel.
Parallèlement à ses propres projets chorégraphiques, elle s'engage dans des collaborations avec d'autres artistes. En 2013, elle poursuit une collaboration solo avec la chorégraphe américaine Lucinda Childs sur la musique de Ryoji Ikeda. En 2016, elle est commissaire invitée à la Scène nationale de Brest et présente Iris, Alexandra, Mariela, Katerina et moi, un focus sur la production chorégraphique féminine athénienne. En 2017, elle accompagne la chorégraphie de Suite No 3, un concert de Joris Lacoste et Pierre-Yves Macé. En 2019, elle entreprend une collaboration avec le pianiste Orlando Bass afin de chorégraphier Sonates & Interludes, l'œuvre emblématique pour piano préparé de John Cage.
En 2019, elle reçoit le prix de la danse de la Fondation Hermès Italia et crée Ballad, un solo pour la Triennale de Milan.
Edité par Lou Forster et Lenio Kaklea.

Publié avec abd.
 
paru en novembre 2019
édition quadrilingue (français / anglais / grec / allemand)
17 x 23 cm (broché)
196 pages
 
25.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-37896-123-7
EAN : 9782378961237
 
en stock
 
télécharger un extrait en PDF :
Encyclopédie pratique Encyclopédie pratique Encyclopédie pratique Encyclopédie pratique Encyclopédie pratique Encyclopédie pratique


 haut de page