les presses du réel

Play the Story

Play the Story Matthew Buckingham - Play the Story
This original monographic publication (4 books in a boxset) has been devised as part of an exhibition of video installations recently produced by the artist.
The first book, Play the Story, includes an interview with Matthew Buckingham by Mark Godfrey (the exhibition curator) and an essay by Sarah Krajewski about his earlier productions. The three other books propose an “erudite” approach to the issues raised by the new installations.
The Spirit and the Letter contains: modified excerpts (present tense switched to past, and vice versa) from writings penned by Mary Wollstonecraft (1759-1797), the English authoress and feminist well known for her stance against the patriarchal society, a series of portraits, and an essay by Cora Kaplan on the history of the way her writings have been interpreted.
False Future retraces the history of Louis Le Prince (1841-1890), inventor of a photographic machine capable of recording moving images well before the Lumiere brothers. After making a few short films in New York and Leeds, Louis Le Prince mysteriously vanished on a train ride between Dijon and Paris. Tom Gunning's essay traces the history of the moving image.
The personality which interests Matthew Buckingham in the installation and booklet titled Everything I Need is Charlotte Wolf (1897-1986), a psychologist of German origin who fled from Nazism in 1933 and settled first in Paris, then in London; she is well known for her innovative ideas on bisexuality and homosexuality, and became a symbolic figure in the women's movement in Berlin in the 1970s.
Since the mid-1990s, Matthew Buckingham (born in 1963 in Nevada, Iowa) has been challenging the relationship we have with history. Surprised by the understanding we have of it, and the objectivity value we allot it, the artist re-interprets historical facts, the better to question the significance and meaning of documents and imagery, as well as inscribing them in accordance with different perspectives.
Matthew Buckingham's work has been shown in several solo and group exhibitions: Hamburger Bahnhof Museum für Gegenwart, Berlin (2007); Lunds Konsthall (2006) ; Kunstverein und Kunstmuseum St Gallen (2006); Liverpool Biennial International (2006); Lisson Gallery, London (2005); Museum Moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig, Vienna (2003); PS1 Contemporary Art Center, New York (2002); Murray Guy, New York (2001)...
 
Texts by Darcy C. Buerkle, Tom Gunning, Cora Kaplan, Sara Krajewski, Mark Godfrey.
Interviews: Mark Godfrey & Matthew Buckingham, James D. Steakley & Charlotte Wolff.

Published by Camden Arts Centre, with with Frac Bourgogne, Dundee Contemporary Art, Des Moines Art Center, Henry Art Gallery.
 
published in 2007
bilingual edition (English / French)
4 books in a boxset, 21 x 15 x 3,5 cm
72, 72, 56, 64 pages (color ill.)
 
25.00 15.00
(special offer)
 
ISBN : 978-1-900470-667
EAN : 9781900470667
 
in stock
(last copies available!)
Play the Story Play the Story Play the Story Play the Story


 top of page

les presses du réel

Play the Story

Play the Story Matthew Buckingham - Play the Story
Cette publication monographique originale (quatre livres en coffret) a été conçue dans le cadre d'une exposition des installations vidéo récentes de l'artiste.
Le premier livre, Play the story, comporte un entretien entre Mark Godfrey (commissaire de l'exposition) et Matthew Buckingham et un essai de Sarah Krajewski sur des productions plus anciennes. Les trois autres livres proposent une approche “érudite” des questions soulevées par les nouvelles installations.
The spirit and the letter comprend des extraits modifiés (temps présent changé au passé et inversement) de textes écrits par Mary Wollstonecraft (1759-1797), femme de lettres et féministe anglaise connue pour ses positions contre la société patriarcale ; une série de portraits et un essai de Cora Kaplan sur l'histoire des interprétations de ses textes.
False Futur
retrace l'histoire de Louis le Prince (1841-1890) inventeur d'un appareil photo capable d'enregistrer des images en mouvement bien avant les frères Lumière. Après avoir réalisé quelques films très courts à New York et à Leeds, Louis le Prince disparut mystérieusement lors d'un voyage en train de Dijon à Paris. L'essai de Tom Gunning retrace l'histoire des images en mouvement.
La personnalité qui intéresse Buckingham dans l'installation et le livret Everything I need est Charlotte Wolf (1897-1986), psychologue d'origine allemande ayant fuit le nazisme en 1933 à Paris puis à Londres, connue pour ses idées novatrices sur la bisexualité et l'homosexualité, devenue une figure emblématique du mouvement des femmes à Berlin dans les années 1970.
Depuis le milieu des années 1990, Matthew Buckingham (né en 1963 à Nevada, Iowa, vit et travaille à New York) entreprend de questionner la relation que nous entretenons à l'histoire. Surpris de la compréhension que nous en avons et de la valeur d'objectivité que nous lui accordons, l'artiste réinterprète les faits historiques pour mieux interroger la signification des documents et des images mais aussi les inscrire selon différentes perspectives.
Le travail de Matthew Buckingham a fait l'objet de nombreuses expositions collectives et monographiques : Hamburger Bahnhof Museum für Gegenwart, Berlin (2007) ; Lunds Konsthall (2006) ; Kunstverein und Kunstmuseum St Gallen (2006) ; Liverpool Biennial International (2006) ; Lisson Gallery, Londres (2005) ; Museum Moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig, Vienne (2003) ; PS1 Contemporary Art Center, New York (2002) ; Murray Guy, New York (2001)...
 
Textes de Darcy C. Buerkle, Tom Gunning, Cora Kaplan, Sara Krajewski, Mark Godfrey.
Entretiens : Mark Godfrey & Matthew Buckingham, James D. Steakley & Charlotte Wolff.

Publié par le Camden Arts Centre, en collaboration avec le Frac Bourgogne, Dundee Contemporary Art, Des Moines Art Center, Henry Art Gallery.
 
paru en 2007
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
coffret de 4 livres, 21 x 15 x 3,5 cm
72, 72, 56, 64 pages (ill. coul.)
 
25.00 15.00
(offre spéciale)
 
ISBN : 978-1-900470-667
EAN : 9781900470667
 
en stock
(derniers exemplaires disponibles !)
Play the Story Play the Story Play the Story Play the Story


 haut de page