les presses du réel

MetalworksDesigning and making

 - Metalworks
Published in conjunction with the "metalworks designing & making" exhibition in the Konschthal Esch, this book uses the production of some twenty international creators to discuss methods of transforming metal in contemporary design.
Around forty objects have been classified into sixteen categories, illustrating how these creators have adopted and crafted metal. Some experiment with the material and its properties, others question the physical limits of existing techniques. Accompanied by a historical text recounting the uses of metal in furniture since the eighteenth century, and the history of the metallurgical industry in Luxembourg, this publication brings together some sixty biographies, explanatory texts, and a technical lexicon on methods of transformation and the selected objects.
Works by Studio Bouroullec, Linde Freya Tangelder - Destroyers/Builders, DIOR, Michel Feinen, Gefertec, Konstantin Grcic, Zuni Icosahedron, Jakob Jørgensen, Sigve Knutson, Joris Laarman Lab, Ron Arad & Associates Limited, Xavier Lust, Philippe Malouin, Stefan Diez Office, PELLE, Lewis Power, Muller Van Severen, Heatherwick Studio, Tom Dixon Studio, Zieta Studio, Studio Swine, Joris Thomas, Jonas Trampedach, Georges Zigrand.

Published on the occasion of the eponymous exhibition in the Konschthal Esch, Luxemburg, in 2022.
Edited by Christian Mosar.
Texts by Michel Feinen, Charlotte Masse, Christian Mosar, Joris Thomas, Georges Zigrand.
 
published in November 2022
bilingual edition (English / French)
27 x 21 cm (hardcover)
164 pages (ill.)
 
25.00
 
ISBN : 978-3-95679-663-0
EAN : 9783956796630
 
in stock


 top of page

les presses du réel

MetalworksDesigning and making

 - Metalworks
Cet ouvrage présente les techniques de transformation du métal dans le design contemporain, à partir du travail d'une vingtaine de créateurs internationaux qui renouent avec la tradition du savoir-faire industriel et du métier d'art, et qui expérimentent avec de nouvelles formes de production.
Une quarantaine d'objets sélectionnés – pièces uniques ou éditions – témoignent de la manière dont des langages formels actuels s'approprient dans l'art et le design les techniques de transformations du métal, telles que le casting, l'extruding, le foaming, le forging, ou encore le printing et le spinning. Accompagnée d'un texte historique retraçant les utilisations du métal dans l'ameublement depuis le XVIIIe siècle et l'histoire de l'industrie métallurgique au Luxembourg, cette publication réunit une soixantaine de biographies, des notices et un lexique technique sur les méthodes de transformation et les objets présentés.
Œuvres de Studio Bouroullec, Linde Freya Tangelder - Destroyers/Builders, DIOR, Michel Feinen, Gefertec, Konstantin Grcic, Zuni Icosahedron, Jakob Jørgensen, Sigve Knutson, Joris Laarman Lab, Ron Arad & Associates Limited, Xavier Lust, Philippe Malouin, Stefan Diez Office, PELLE, Lewis Power, Muller Van Severen, Heatherwick Studio, Tom Dixon Studio, Zieta Studio, Studio Swine, Joris Thomas, Jonas Trampedach, Georges Zigrand.

Publié à l'occasion de l'exposition éponyme à la Konschthal Esch, Luxembourg, en 2022.
Edité par Christian Mosar.
Textes de Michel Feinen, Charlotte Masse, Christian Mosar, Joris Thomas, Georges Zigrand.
 
paru en novembre 2022
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
27 x 21 cm (relié)
164 pages (ill.)
 
25.00
 
ISBN : 978-3-95679-663-0
EAN : 9783956796630
 
en stock
Metalworks Metalworks Metalworks Metalworks Metalworks Metalworks Metalworks Metalworks Metalworks Metalworks Metalworks Metalworks


 haut de page