Alan Licht

 
Alan Licht (born 1968) is a writer, musician, and curator based in New York City. He is equally known for his guitar work in the underground rock bands Run On and Lovechild and in the experimental groups the Blue Humans and Text of Light. He has released numerous solo guitar albums and duo and trio records of improvised music, collaborating with avant-garde musicians such as Jim O'Rourke, Loren Mazzacan Connors, Rudolf Grey, Lee Ranaldo and Aki Onda.
Licht is a contributing music editor at BOMB magazine and his essays and reviews have appeared in Artforum, Parkett, The Wire, The Believer, Sight & Sound, and many other publications. He is the author of An Emotional Memoir of Martha Quinn, an extended personal essay about coming of age as a rock fan and musician; Sound Art: Beyond Music, Between Categories, the first full-length study of sound installations and sound sculpture to appear in English; and Sound Art Revisited, an updated version of the latter, published in 2020; and he is a coauthor of Will Oldham on Bonnie "Prince" Billy, a collection of interviews with Will Oldham, and, with Cory Arcangel and Howie Chen, the concert transcription compilation Title TK 2010–2014.

(external link : www.alanlicht.com)
 
Alan Licht - Common Tones - Selected interviews with artists and musicians 2000-2020
2021
English edition
Blank Forms - Books
The collection of previously unpublished interviews and extended versions of Alan Licht's famous conversations with figures in the American art and music scene (Vito Acconci, Matthew Barney, Rhys Chatham, Tony Conrad, Henry Flynt, Milford Graves, Christian Marclay, Phill Niblock, Suicide, Michael Snow, Tom Verlaine, Yo La Tengo...).


 top of page

Alan Licht

 
Alan Licht (né en 1968) est un écrivain, critique musical, musicien et guitariste expérimental et commissaire d'exposition basé à New York. Il joue depuis 1980 dans divers groupes de rock undergound et groupes expérimentaux comme Run On, Lovechild, The Blue Humans, The Pacific Ocean et Text of Light. Il a publié de nombreux albums de guitare solo et de disques de musique improvisée en duo ou en trio, collaborant avec des musiciens d'avant-garde tels que Jim O'Rourke, Loren Mazzacan Connors, Rudolf Grey, Lee Ranaldo et Aki Onda.
Licht est rédacteur musical à BOMB magazine et ses essais et critiques sont parus dans Artforum, Parkett, The Wire, The Believer, Sight & Sound, etc.. Il est l'auteur de An Emotional Memoir of Martha Quinn, un essai personnel sur le passage à l'âge adulte en tant que fan de rock et musicien ; Sound Art: Beyond Music, Between Categories, la première étude complète des installations et sculptures sonores à paraître en anglais, qui a donné lieu à une nouvelle édition réactualisée parue sous le titre Sound Art Revisited. Il est également coauteur de Will Oldham on Bonnie "Prince" Billy, un recueil d'entretiens avec Will Oldham, et, avec Cory Arcangel et Howie Chen, de la compilation de transcriptions de concerts Title TK 2010-2014.

(lien externe : www.alanlicht.com)
 
Alan Licht - Common Tones - Selected interviews with artists and musicians 2000-2020
2021
édition anglaise
Blank Forms - Livres
Le recueil d'entretiens inédits et de versions étendues des célèbres conversations d'Alan Licht avec les figures de la scène artistique et musicale américaine (Vito Acconci, Matthew Barney, Rhys Chatham, Tony Conrad, Henry Flynt, Milford Graves, Christian Marclay, Phill Niblock, Suicide, Michael Snow, Tom Verlaine, Yo La Tengo...).


 haut de page