les presses du réel

Voyages en SardaigneNelle miniere di Iglesias / Into the Mines of Iglesias

Giaime Meloni, Giorgio Peghin - Voyages en Sardaigne
Voyages en Sardaigne (Travels in Sardinia) is a collection of unconventional thematic guides on the island in the middle of the Mediterranean. This first part proposes an itinerary through the mining landscapes of Sulcis-Iglesiente.
Nelle miniere di Iglesias / Into the Mines of Iglesias is the first part of an exploration that focuses on soil, excavations, incisions, mutations, transpositions and silence of Sulcis-Iglesiente, a territory marked by an industrial history. A wandering through time and space of a region «built», transformed, crossed by different types of works, infrastructures, relationships between things. These signs, these scars, are today the distinctive features of an extraordinary mining landscape. A space to discover through visual and textual narration.
Voyages en Sardaigne is a collection of unconventional thematic guides on this island in the middle of the Mediterranean. They offer to the reader different ways of observation and restitution of its territory, always characterized by an uncertain temporality:the present and the past merge to build a unique landscape, far from the convulsive setting of the contemporaneity. The Sardinian context becomes a paradigm to go beyond the debate between the two opposite poles: novelty and tradition. To weave this portrait, photographs and texts take part in the production of an anthology capable of offering a multiplicity of possible representations. Words and images form a linguistic whole in which the word and the gaze reveal the possible relationships and directions to discover these places.
Giaime Meloni, visual researcher with a PhD in architecture, is living between two islands: Île-de-France and Sardinia. The aim of his work is to explore the role of photography as a sensitivetool to narrate the complexity of space. His research has been illustrated in various publications and exhibitions and he has participated in several international conferences. Giaime Meloni teaches at École nationale supérieure d'archi-tecture de la ville et du territoire de Paris-Est. His courses focus on the representation of architecture as a tool for understanding and interpreting space.
Giorgio Peghin, architect, PhD in architecture, is full Professor of Architectural and Urban Composition at the University of Cagliari (Italy). From 2002 to 2008, he was editor of the architectural magazine Parametro. He is the author of essays and books on architecture and landscape theory: Quartieri e città del Novecento (2010), Il patrimonio urbano mod-erno (2012), Dialogo sull'insegnamento dell'architettura (2016), Paesaggi Minerari (2016). In 2011, he was part of the group coordinating the Carbonia Landscape Machine project, winner of the Landscape Award of the Council of Europe. In 2018 and 2021, he participated in the 16th and 17th Venice Architecture Biennale.
Edited by Claudia Mion.
Carlo Pisano: carthographic reproduction.

Graphic design: Spassky Fischer.

Published by Caryatide.
 
published in November 2022
bilingual edition (English / Italian)
24 x 27 cm (softcover)
128 pages (ill.)
 
30.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-493283-12-2
EAN : 9782493283122
 
in stock


 top of page

les presses du réel

Voyages en SardaigneNelle miniere di Iglesias / Into the Mines of Iglesias

Giaime Meloni, Giorgio Peghin - Voyages en Sardaigne
Voyages en Sardaigne est une collection de guides thématiques non conventionnels sur l'île méditerranéenne. Ce premier volet propose un itinéraire à travers les paysages miniers du Sulcis-Iglesiente.
Nelle miniere di Iglesias / Into the Mines of Iglesias est le premier volet d'une exploration qui s'intéresse au sol, aux fouilles, aux incisions, aux mutations, aux transpositions et au silence du Sulcis-Iglesiente, un territoire marqué par une histoire industrielle. Une errance dans le temps et dans l'espace d'une région « bâtie », transformée, traversée par différents types d'ouvrages, d'infrastructures, de rapports entre les choses. Ces signes, ces cicatrices, constituent aujourd'hui les traits identitaires d'un paysage minier extra-ordinaire. Un espace à découvrir à travers une narration visuelle et textuelle.
Voyages en Sardaigne est une collection de guides thématiques non-conventionnels sur cette île située au milieu de la Méditerranée. Elle propose au lecteur des itinéraires d'observation et de restitution de son territoire, toujours caractérisé par une une temporalité incertaine, dans laquelle le présent et le passé se fondent pour construire un paysage unique, loin de la mise en scène convulsive de la contemporanéité. Le contexte sarde devient un paradigme pour dépasser le débat visant à souligner le contraste entre les deux pôles opposés : nouveauté et tradition. Pour tisser ce portrait de terrain les photographies et les textes s'entremêlent dans la production d'une anthologie capable d'offrir une multiplicité de représentations possibles. Mots et images forment un ensemble linguistique dans lequel le discours et le regard révèlent des relations et des directions possibles pour découvrir ces lieux.
Giaime Meloni est un chercheur visuel et docteur en architecture, vivant entre deux îles : l'Îlede-France et la Sardaigne. Le but de son travail est d'explorer le rôle de la photographie comme instrument sensible pour raconter la complexité de l'espace. Ses recherches ont été publiées dans diverses publications (MAM Saint Etienne, INTRU). Giaime Meloni participe à plusieurs conférences internationales (CCA, FAUP) et il a été exposé dans plusieurs expositions (Ritmo Indipendente, Pavillon de l'Arsenal, Le Bal, Musée d'art contemporain de Lisbonne). Il enseigne la représentation comme instrument de réalisation de la conception architecturale entre la France et l'Italie.
Giorgio Peghin est architecte et docteur en architecture. Il est professeur titulaire en composition architecturale et urbaine à l'Université de Cagliari (Italie). De 2002 à 2008, il a été rédacteur en chef de la revue d'architecture Parametro. Il est l'auteur d'essais et d'ouvrages sur les thèmes de l'architecture et du paysage, Quartieri e città del Novecento (2010), Il patrimonio urbano moderno (2012), Dialogo sull'insegnamento dell'architettura (2016), Paesaggi Minerari (2016). En 2011, il fait partie du groupe de coordination du projet Carbonia Landscape Machine, lauréat du Prix du paysage du Conseil de l'Europe. En 2018 et 2020, il a participé aux 16e et 17e Biennales de Venise.
Edité par Claudia Mion.
Carlo Pisano : reproduction carthographique.

Conception graphique : Spassky Fischer.

Publié par Caryatide.
 
paru en novembre 2022
édition bilingue (anglais / italien)
24 x 27 cm (broché)
128 pages (ill.)
 
30.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-493283-12-2
EAN : 9782493283122
 
en stock
Voyages en Sardaigne Voyages en Sardaigne Voyages en Sardaigne Voyages en Sardaigne Voyages en Sardaigne Voyages en Sardaigne Voyages en Sardaigne Voyages en Sardaigne Voyages en Sardaigne


 haut de page