les presses du réel

Homemakers

Camille Azaïs - Homemakers
The first published fiction text by art critic and author Camille Azaïs, which questions the return to the home of American women since the 2010s.
In the midst of the 2010s, a certain number of women, often American, from privileged classes and white, are abandoning their professional careers for a return to domestic life, considered more environmentally responsible. Far from the stereotype of the American stay-at-home mom so decried by feminist literature, these women describe themselves as "homemakers", radical "home makers".
Intertwined with images and comments from Instagram accounts and blogs, Camille Azaïs' text questions the reasons behind this choice: ecological commitment, subtraction from capitalistic forms of wage domination, or nostalgia for an "old order" where women were at home?
Homemakers has been written for the exhibition "Career Girls" organized by Margaux Bonopera and Elsa Vettier from March 17 to June 18, 2022 at Mécènes du Sud Montpellier-Sète.
Camille Azaïs (born 1984 in Paris) is a French art critic, curator, and author of fiction. She writes for magazines (Tools, Switch on paper, Critique d'art, Brand New Life, Revue Profane, ZéroDeux, Initiales, La Belle Revue, Tombolo, Code Magazine...) and for institutions (Jeu de Paume, Fondation Pinault, Association RN13Bis Normandie, LaM Villeneuve-d'Ascq, Centre Pompidou, Mac/Val, IAC Villeurbanne, Universcience, Pavillon Bosio - Ecole d'art de Monaco...). In 2017, she founded the journal Ingmar, dedicated to fiction writing in the field of visual arts.
Her critical work focuses on the multiple dimensions of the relationship between contemporary art and the living, and the role that fiction writing can play in the invention of another relationship to nature. Her texts are as much reflections on art as an attempt to decipher contemporary cultural phenomena through the multiple voices expressed on social networks. In 2019, she is the author of the series Michael Jackson: The Man in the Mirror for France Culture, written based on the countless rumours surrounding the pop icon. In 2020 she is the winner of the "Encouragements de la commission pour l'Aide à la Création" of ArtCena, for her text Minimal, her first dramatic text centred on the figure of the founder of a radical ecological movement. She is also conducting a long-term research project, supported in 2020 by the INHA and the French Institute, on contemporary art in rural contexts
Graphic design: Morgane Masse.
 
published in April 2022
French edition
12,5x 20 cm (softcover)
56 pages (5 color risography printing)
 
10.00
 
ISBN : 979-10-96155-25-5
EAN : 9791096155255
 
in stock


 top of page

les presses du réel

Homemakers

Camille Azaïs - Homemakers
Le premier texte de fiction publié de la critique d'art et autrice Camille Azaïs, qui interroge le retour au foyer des femmes américaines depuis les années 2010.
Dans le courant des années 2010, un certain nombre de femmes, souvent américaines, issues des classes privilégiées et blanches, abandonnent leur carrière professionnelle pour un retour à la vie domestique, considérée comme plus écologiquement responsable. Loin du cliché de la mère au foyer américaine tant décrié par la littérature féministe, ces femmes se décrivent comme des « homemakers », des « faiseuses de foyer » radicales.
Entrecoupé d'images et de commentaires issus de comptes Instagram et de blogs, le texte de Camille Azaïs interroge les raisons qui motivent ce choix : engagement écologique, soustraction à des formes capitalistes de domination salariée ou nostalgie d'un « ordre ancien », où les femmes étaient à la maison ?
Écrit pour l'exposition « Career Girls » organisée par Margaux Bonopera et Elsa Vettier du 17 mars au 18 juin 2022 à Mécènes du Sud Montpellier-Sète, Homemakers est mis en livre par Morgane Masse et publié par Tombolo Presses. Il a été imprimé en risographie 5 couleurs et façonné à la main dans les ateliers collectifs de toner toner et Sans Contrefaçons, à Grrrnd Zero, Vaulx-en-Velin, en avril 2022. 
Camille Azaïs (née en 1984 à Paris) est critique d'art, commissaire d'exposition et autrice de fictions. Ancienne élève de l'Ecole normale supérieure de Lyon, elle collabore régulièrement à des revues spécialisées (Tools, Switch on paper, Critique d'art, Brand New Life, Revue Profane, ZéroDeux, Initiales, La Belle Revue, Tombolo, Code Magazine...) et écrit pour des institutions (Jeu de Paume, Fondation Pinault, Association RN13Bis Normandie, LaM Villeneuve-d'Ascq, Centre Pompidou, Mac/Val, IAC Villeurbanne, Universcience, Pavillon Bosio - Ecole d'art de Monaco...). En 2017, elle fonde la revue Ingmar, dédiée à l'écriture de fiction dans le champ des arts visuels.
Son travail critique s'intéresse aux multiples dimensions des rapports entre l'art contemporain et le vivant, et au rôle que peut jouer l'écriture de fiction dans l'invention d'un autre rapport à la nature. Ses textes constituent autant des réflexions sur l'art qu'une tentative de décryptage de phénomènes culturels contemporains à travers les multiples voix qui s'expriment sur les réseaux sociaux. Elle est l'auteure en 2019 du feuilleton Michael Jackson : The Man in the Mirror pour France Culture, écrit à partir des innombrables rumeurs entourant l'icône de la pop. En 2020, elle est lauréate des Encouragements de la commission pour l'Aide à la Création d'ArtCena, pour son texte Minimal, premier texte dramatique centré sur la figure de la fondatrice d'un mouvement écologique radical. Elle mène également une recherche de long cours, soutenue en 2020 par l'INHA et l'Institut Français, sur l'art contemporain en contexte rural.
Conception graphique : Morgane Masse.
 
paru en avril 2022
édition française
12,5x 20 cm (broché)
56 pages (impression en risographie 5 couleurs)
 
10.00
 
ISBN : 979-10-96155-25-5
EAN : 9791096155255
 
en stock
Homemakers Homemakers Homemakers Homemakers Homemakers Homemakers Homemakers Homemakers Homemakers Homemakers Homemakers Homemakers Homemakers Homemakers


 haut de page