les presses du réel

Palais #32

 - Palais #32
In an echo to appeals in the collective exhibition Ubuntu, a Lucid Dream—calls for revolt, as well as for wisdom and reparation—this issue of the magazine Palais is published on the occasion of a season of exhibitions at the Palais de Tokyo (26.11 2021 – 20.03 2022), which foregrounds artists whose practices cross borders and restore the capacity for action, to ideas, forms, and cultures which are more nomadic than static.
Within spaces of conflict, past and present, these artists affirm equality and exchange as vital principles. Their artistic imaginaries are rooted in a world in which there are clearly no longer any centres, and indeed they help to multiply outwards the number of poles of attraction. But this fragmentation does not occlude history, quite the contrary: along with diasporas and creolization, narratives of liberation and emancipation as well as of violent stories of territorial dispossession and forced displacement emerge throughout the exhibitions, always more lucid and more audible. Beyond their singular forms of poetry, these artists mobilize and share imaginaries that are not national but rather continental, and whose tectonic shifts are irreversible.

In this issue: a main section devoted to the exhibition Ubuntu, a Lucid Dream, with the artists Jonathas de Andrade, Joël Andrianomearisoa, Michael Armitage, Bili Bidjocka, Kudzanai Chiurai (in collaboration with Khanya Mashabela and with the participation of Kenzhero), Nolan Oswald Dennis, Lungiswa Gqunta, Frances Goodman, Kudzanai-Violet Hwami, Richard Kennedy, Grada Kilomba, Turiya Magadlela, Ibrahim Mahama, Sabelo Mlangeni, Meleko Mokgosi, Serge Alain Nitegeka, Daniel Otero Torres; texts by Bernard Akoi-Jackson, Souleymane Bachir Diagne, Thulile Gamedze, Grada Kilomba, Nadia Yala Kisukidi, Khanya Mashabela, Tracy Naa Koshie Thompson, Marie-Ann Yemsi; as well as a conversation between Michael Armitage and Meleko Mokgosi, and a poetry selection waxed together by Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung (with poems by Ama Ata Aidoo, Viola Allo, James Baldwin, Kwame Dawes, Birago Diop, Tsitsi Jaji, Keorapetse Kgositsile, Olu Oguibe, Warsan Shire, Derek Walcott).
And also essays by Cédric Fauq and François Piron on the work of filmmaker Sarah Maldoror, Elvan Zabunyan on Jay Ramier's work, Marcelo Campos on Maxwell Alexandre's work, and Lucille Toth on Aïda Bruyère's project.
Published twice a year, Palais magazine offers an in-depth perspective on the exhibitions and program of the Palais de Tokyo. Palais allows people to see contemporary art in a topical way, as often as possible from the point of view of the artists themselves. Each issue of the magazine includes dossiers, interviews, essays, special projects and inserts, all contributed by artists, art critics, historians or theorists, making Palais magazine an essential tool for apprehending contemporary art.
 
published in November 2021
bilingual edition (English / French)
22,5 x 28,5 cm (softcover)
216 pages (color ill.)
 
15.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-84711-135-4
EAN : 9782847111354
 
in stock
Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais


 top of page

les presses du réel

Palais n° 32

 - Palais n° 32
En écho aux appels de l'exposition collective Ubuntu, un rêve lucide – appels à la révolte, mais aussi à la sagesse et à la réparation –, ce numéro du magazine Palais est publié à l'occasion d'une saison d'expositions au Palais de Tokyo (26/11/2021 – 20/03/2022) mettant en valeur des artistes qui font passer des frontières et redonnent leur puissance d'agir à des idées, des formes, des cultures plus itinérantes qu'enracinées.
Au sein d'espaces de conflits, passés et présents, ils et elles réclament l'égalité et l'échange comme principes vitaux. Ces imaginaires artistiques sont ancrés dans un monde qui n'a définitivement plus de centre, et multiplient les pôles magnétiques. Cette fragmentation pourtant n'occulte pas l'histoire, car, accompagnant les diasporas et les créolisations, les récits de libération et d'émancipation tout comme ceux de l'histoire violente des spoliations et des corps déplacés se font jour de manière de plus en plus lucide et audible. Au-delà de leur poésie singulière, ces artistes portent et partagent des imaginaires non plus nationaux mais bien continentaux, dont le déplacement tectonique est irréversible.

Au sommaire de ce numéro : dossier en lien avec l'exposition Ubuntu, un rêve lucide, avec les artistes Jonathas de Andrade, Joël Andrianomearisoa, Michael Armitage, Bili Bidjocka, Kudzanai Chiurai (en collaboration avec Khanya Mashabela et avec la participation de Kenzhero), Nolan Oswald Dennis, Lungiswa Gqunta, Frances Goodman, Kudzanai-Violet Hwami, Richard Kennedy, Grada Kilomba, Turiya Magadlela, Ibrahim Mahama, Sabelo Mlangeni, Meleko Mokgosi, Serge Alain Nitegeka, Daniel Otero Torres ; textes de Bernard Akoi-Jackson, Souleymane Bachir Diagne, Thulile Gamedze, Grada Kilomba, Nadia Yala Kisukidi, Khanya Mashabela, Tracy Naa Koshie Thompson, Marie-Ann Yemsi ; ainsi qu'une conversation entre Michael Armitage et Meleko Mokgosi, et une sélection de poésie conçue par Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung (avec les poèmes de Ama Ata Aidoo, Viola Allo, James Baldwin, Kwame Dawes, Birago Diop, Tsitsi Jaji, Keorapetse Kgositsile, Olu Oguibe, Warsan Shire, Derek Walcott).
Et égalementdes essais de Cédric Fauq et François Piron sur l'œuvre de la cinéaste Sarah Maldoror, Elvan Zabunyan sur le travail de Jay Ramier, Marcelo Campos sur le projet de Maxwell Alexandre, et Lucille Toth sur celui d'Aïda Bruyère.
Publié deux fois par an, le magazine Palais offre un regard enrichi sur les expositions et la programmation du Palais de Tokyo. Palais donne à voir l'art contemporain d'une manière actuelle et, aussi souvent que possible, du point de vue des artistes eux-mêmes. Dossiers thématiques, entretiens, essais, projets spéciaux et inserts sont autant de contributions d'artistes, de critiques d'art, d'historiens ou de théoriciens qui font du magazine Palais un outil indispensable pour appréhender l'art contemporain.
 
paru en novembre 2021
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
22,5 x 28,5 cm (broché)
216 pages (ill. coul.)
 
15.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-84711-135-4
EAN : 9782847111354
 
en stock
Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais Palais


 haut de page