les presses du réel

After Institutions

Karen Archey - After Institutions
The current crisis of museums and the future of Institutional Critique.
Museums today are facing a reckoning. Throughout the world, museums have become increasingly endangered by waning state support, declining revenue due to the coronavirus, and consequent forced entrepreneurialism. Simultaneously, museums have been called upon to change by increased public demand for social justice. Within the history of contemporary visual art, the canon of Institutional Critique has emerged as a response to the institution and how it embeds itself in society. After Institutions is a research project initiated by Karen Archey that investigates the history and future potentials of Institutional Critique, as well as its intersections with broader social themes, particularly focusing on the concept of care. Originally envisioned as an exhibition for the Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam, which was canceled due to coronavirus, After Institutions has taken form as a lecture and various essays. This book comprehensively brings together the research forming After Institutions, acting as the definitive text on this project.
Karen Archey is Curator of Contemporary Art, Time-based Media at the Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam. She is an American curator and art critic formerly based in Berlin and New York, and a 2015 Creative Capital | Warhol Foundation Arts Writers Grant recipient for short-form writing. Since joining the Stedelijk Museum in April 2017, Archey has organized solo exhibitions by artists Rineke Dijkstra, Stefan Tcherepnin, Catherine Christer Hennix, and Metahaven.
Archey previously worked as an independent curator and editor for the New York-based organization e-flux. In 2014, she organized with Robin Peckham the exhibition "Art Post-Internet" at Ullens Center for Contemporary Art in Beijing. Archey frequently gives lectures on topics ranging from feminism, art and technology to collecting time-based media.
Graphic design: Daniela Burger.
 
2022 (publication expected by 1st quarter)
English edition
12 x 17 cm (softcover)
 
15.00
 
ISBN : 978-3-9819108-8-9
EAN : 9783981910889
 
forthcoming


 top of page

les presses du réel

After Institutions

Karen Archey - After Institutions
La crise actuelle des musées et le devenir de la critique institutionnelle.
Les musées sont aujourd'hui confrontés à une remise en question. Dans le monde entier, les musées sont de plus en plus menacés par la diminution du soutien de l'État, la baisse des revenus due au coronavirus et l'entrepreneuriat forcé qui en découle. Dans le même temps, les musées ont été appelés à évoluer en raison de la demande croissante de justice sociale de la part du public. Dans l'histoire de l'art visuel contemporain, le canon de la critique institutionnelle est apparu comme une réponse à l'institution et à la façon dont elle s'intègre dans la société. After Institutions est un projet de recherche initié par Karen Archey qui étudie l'histoire et les potentiels futurs de la critique institutionnelle, ainsi que ses intersections avec des thèmes sociaux plus larges, en se concentrant particulièrement sur le concept de care. Initialement envisagée comme une exposition pour le Stedelijk Museum d'Amsterdam, qui a été annulée en raison du coronavirus, After Institutions a pris la forme d'une conférence et de divers essais. Ce livre rassemble l'ensemble des recherches menées dans le cadre d'After Institutions et constitue le texte définitif sur ce projet.
Karen Archey est conservatrice d'art contemporain, chargée des « time-based media » au Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam. Commissaire et critique d'art américaine, elle a reçu en 2015 la bourse d'écriture Creative Capital | Warhol Foundation Arts Writers Grant. Depuis qu'elle a rejoint le Stedelijk Museum en 2017, Archey a organisé des expositions personnelles d'artistes tels que Rineke Dijkstra, Stefan Tcherepnin, Catherine Christer Hennix et Metahaven.
Archey a précédemment travaillé en tant que commissaire indépendante et rédactrice pour l'organisation e-flux basée à New York. Elle donne régulièrement des conférences sur des sujets allant du féminisme, de l'art et de la technologie aux time-based media.
Conception graphique : Daniela Burger.
 
2022 (parution prévue au 1er trimestre)
édition anglaise
12 x 17 cm (broché)
 
15.00
 
ISBN : 978-3-9819108-8-9
EAN : 9783981910889
 
à paraître


 haut de page