les presses du réel

PartnersA Biography of Jerry Hunt

Stephen Housewright, Jerry Hunt - Partners
The life and work of Amercian experimental musician/composer/intermedia artist Jerry Hunt.
Jerry Hunt was among the most eccentric figures in the world of new music. A frenetic orator, occultist and engineering consultant, his works from the 1970s through the early '90s made use of readymade sculptures, medical technology, arcane talismans and all manner of homemade electronic implements to form confrontational recordings and enigmatic, powerful performances. Tracing Hunt's life across his home state's major cities to a self-built house in rural Van Zandt County, this memoir-cum-biography by Stephen Housewright, Hunt's partner of 35 years, offers illuminating depictions of Hunt's important installations and performances across North America and Europe.
Housewright narrates a lifetime spent together, beginning in high school as a closeted couple in an East Texas and ending with Hunt's battle with cancer and his eventual suicide, the subject of one of his most harrowing works of video art. This highly readable narrative contains many private correspondences with, and thrilling anecdotes about, Hunt's friends, family, and collaborators, including Joseph Celli, Arnold Dreyblatt, Michael Galbreth, Karen Finley, James and Mary Fulkerson, Guy Klucevsek, Pauline Oliveros, Paul Panhuysen, Annea Lockwood, and the S.E.M. Ensemble.
Stephen Housewright is a writer, librarian, and teacher.
Jerry Hunt (1943–1993) is often described as a shamanic figure with the look of a Central Texas meat inspector. One of the most compelling composers in the world of late-twentieth-century new music, he made work that combined video synthesis, installation art, and early computers with rough-hewn sculptures, scores drawn from celestial alphabets, and homemade electronics activated by his signature wands and impassioned gestures. Hunt lived his entire life in Texas, eventually settling in a house ("an interactive environment") he built with his partner, Stephen Housewright, in a rural area outside Canton; but his pataphysical, abrasive, and humorous performances took him across North America and Europe, where he amassed a small but dedicated following.
Introduction by Karen Finley.
 
published in November 2021
English edition
14 x 20 cm (softcover)
292 pages
 
15.00
 
ISBN : 978-1-953691-04-0
EAN : 9781953691040
 
in stock
Stephen Housewright, Jerry Hunt: other titles





 top of page

les presses du réel

PartnersA Biography of Jerry Hunt

Partners Stephen Housewright, Jerry Hunt - Partners
La biographie du musicien, compositeur expérimental et artiste multimédia américain Jerry Hunt.
Jerry Hunt est l'une des figures les plus excentriques du monde des musiques nouvelles. Orateur frénétique, occultiste et consultant en ingénierie, ses œuvres des années 1970 au début des années 1990 faisaient appel à des sculptures ready-made, à la technologie médicale, à des talismans obscurs et à toutes sortes d'instruments électroniques faits maison pour créer des enregistrements audacieux et des performances énigmatiques et puissantes. Retraçant la vie de Hunt à travers les grandes villes de son État natal jusqu'à une maison qu'il a lui-même construite dans le comté rural de Van Zandt, ce mémoire-biographie rédigé par Stephen Housewright, le compagnon de Hunt pendant 35 ans, offre des descriptions éclairantes des installations et des performances importantes de Hunt en Amérique du Nord et en Europe.
Housewright raconte une vie passée ensemble, depuis l'école secondaire, alors qu'ils formaient un couple isolé dans un quartier de l'est du Texas, jusqu'au combat de Hunt contre le cancer et à son suicide, sujet de l'une de ses œuvres d'art vidéo les plus bouleversantes. Ce récit limpide contient de nombreuses correspondances privées et des anecdotes passionnantes sur les amis, la famille et les collaborateurs de Hunt, notamment Joseph Celli, Arnold Dreyblatt, Michael Galbreth, Karen Finley, James et Mary Fulkerson, Guy Klucevsek, Pauline Oliveros, Paul Panhuysen, Annea Lockwood et le S.E.M. Ensemble.
Stephen Housewright est écrivain, bibliothécaire et enseignant.
Artiste et musicien né au Texas, Jerry Hunt (1943-1993) était une figure singulière et l'un des artistes les moins orthodoxes de sa génération. L'un des compositeurs les plus fascinants de la fin du XXe siècle, il a créé des œuvres aussi remarquables que méconnues qui combinent la synthèse vidéo, la performance, l'installation et les premiers ordinateurs, avec des sculptures rudimentaires, des partitions tirées d'alphabets célestes, des éléments de l'astrologie du XVIe siècle et des appareils électroniques faits maison. Hunt a vécu toute sa vie au Texas, s'installant finalement dans une maison (un « environnement interactif ») qu'il a construite avec son compagnon, Stephen Housewright, dans une zone rurale à l'extérieur de Canton ; mais ses performances pataphysiques, abrasives et humoristiques l'ont amené à traverser l'Amérique du Nord et l'Europe, où il s'est constitué un public restreint mais dévoué.
Introduction de Karen Finley.
 
paru en novembre 2021
édition anglaise
14 x 20 cm (broché)
292 pages
 
15.00
 
ISBN : 978-1-953691-04-0
EAN : 9781953691040
 
en stock
Stephen Housewright, Jerry Hunt : autres titres




 haut de page