les presses du réel

Music for Cello and Humming (CD)

Judith Hamann - Music for Cello and Humming (CD)
Two pieces for cello and humming written specifically for Judith Hamann by composers Sarah Hennies and Anthony Pateras alongside Hamann's own “Humming Suite” and “Study for cello and humming.”
For her first album releases as a soloist, nomadic Australian cellist and composer Judith Hamann presents two collections of her sonic inquiries into shaking and humming. Her CD, Music for Cello and Humming, features two pieces for cello and humming written specifically for Hamann by composers Sarah Hennies and Anthony Pateras> alongside Hamann's own “Humming Suite” and “Study for cello and humming.” Having arisen intuitively from Hamann's investigations into shaking, just intonation, psychoacoustic phenomena, and the voice in relation to the femme presenting body in performance, humming here also references dislocation, or ventriloquism.  Although teetering on the edge of audibility, the intimate and vulnerable closed-mouth sounding enters into subtle interference with her cello, drifting into acoustical beating and bringing instability to otherwise more formal grid structures. The capacity for rupture of this volatile fragility reaches its apotheosis on Hennies' “Loss,” a piece that deliberately instructs Hamann to hum beyond the limits of her voice range. Going against the grain of chamber music orthodoxy, the guaranteed failure set in motion by this instruction yields a generative sound of effort reminiscent of Xenakis' storied desire for an instrumentalist to play with the sorrow of knowing they can't do everything. With an arc suggestive of sudden life change, “Loss” casts queer epistemology onto composition, positioning failure, undoing, unbecoming, and transforming as alternative ways of knowing or being. Hennies' signature composite merging of individual components here brings oral sounds that include breathing and coughing together with humming, cello, and sine waves. Like Glenn Gould's 1982 Goldberg Variations or Pauline Oliveros' Accordion and Voice, this timbral meeting of bodily utterances with consummate musicianship imbues Hamann's humming work with a breakable, human strand, here as humbling as it is uncomfortable.
Judith Hamann is a cellist and performer/composer from Naarm/Birraranga (Melbourne), Australia, now based in Berlin. She has “long been recognised as one of Australia's foremost contemporary-music cellists” (RealTime Arts). Her performance practice stretches across various genres encompassing elements of improvised, contemporary classical, experimental, and popular music. Currently her work is focused on an examination of expressions and manifestations of 'shaking' in her solo performance practice, a collection of new works for cello and humming, and ongoing research surrounding “collapse” and the “de-mastering” of instrumental practice.
Judith Hamann has studied contemporary classical repertoire with renowned cellists including Charles Curtis and Séverine Ballon, as well as developing a strong practice in improvisation and sonic arts through collaborative projects both in Australia and internationally. She has worked with artists and ensembles including Australian Art Orchestra, Oren Ambarchi, Dennis Cooper, ELISION ensemble, Sarah Hennies, Graham Lambkin, Alvin Lucier, Toshimaru Nakamura, The Necks, Áine O'Dwyer, Stephen O'Malley, Eliane Radigue, Wadada Leo Smith, Ilan Volkov, Tashi Wada, La Monte Young and Marian Zazeela. She is a member of Golden Fur, Hammers Lake, The Argonaut String Quartet, the Harmonic Space Orchestra, and has duo projects with Rosalind Hall, Anthea Caddy, and Lori Goldston.
Judith Hamann is a champion of new and rarely performed music, immersive approaches to sound, and engages with a range of interdisciplinary and experimental projects including collaborative work with visual artists Keith Deverell, Sabina Maselli, and film makers Joshua Bonnetta and Benedetta De Alessi.
She has performed or composed music released on labels including Blank Forms, Black Truffle, Saltern, Pogus, Another Timbre, Caduc, and Marginal Frequency. 
Text by Nora Fulton.
 
published in May 2021
 
19.00
 
currently out of stock
Judith Hamann: other title



 top of page

les presses du réel

Music for Cello and Humming (CD)

Judith Hamann - Music for Cello and Humming (CD)
Les deux premiers albums solo de la violoncelliste et compositrice australienne Judith Hamann rassemblent ses recherches sur le tremblement et le fredonnement. Music for Cello and Humming contient deux pièces pour violoncelle et fredonnement écrites pour Hamann par les compositeurs Sarah Hennies et Anthony Pateras, ainsi que deux pièces composées par Hamann, « Humming Suite » et « Study for cello and humming ».
Issu intuitivement des recherches de Hamann sur les tremblements, l'intonation juste, les phénomènes psychoacoustiques, la voix et la performance coroprelle, le fredonnement renvoie ici également à la délocalisation, ou ventriloquie. Bien qu'à la limite de l'audibilité, le son intime et vulnérable de la bouche fermée entre en interférence subtile avec le violoncelle, dérivant en battements acoustiques et apportant de l'instabilité à des structures de grille autrement plus formelles. La capacité de rupture de cette fragilité volatile atteint son apothéose dans « Loss » de Hennies, une pièce qui impose délibérément à Hamann de fredonner au-delà des limites de la gamme de sa voix. Allant à l'encontre de l'orthodoxie de la musique de chambre, l'échec garanti mis en mouvement par cette instruction produit un son d'effort génératif qui rappelle le désir légendaire de Xenakis de voir un instrumentiste jouer avec la tristesse de savoir qu'il ne peut pas tout faire. « Loss » projette une épistémologie queer sur la composition, positionnant l'échec, la défaite, l'inconvenance et la transformation comme des manières alternatives de connaître ou d'être. La fusion de composants individuels, signature de Hennies, apporte ici des sons oraux qui comprennent la respiration et la toux, ainsi que le fredonnement, le violoncelle et les ondes sinusoïdales. Comme les Variations Goldberg de Glenn Gould en 1982 ou l'Accordion and Voice de Pauline Oliveros, cette rencontre timbrale entre des énoncés corporels et une musicalité accomplie imprègne le travail de fredonnement de Hamann d'un souffle humain fragile, ici aussi humble qu'inconfortable
Judith Hamann est une violoncelliste et interprète / compositrice originaire de Melbourne, Australie, basée à Berlin. Elle est reconnue comme « l'une des plus importantes violoncellistes australiennes de musique contemporaine » (RealTime Arts). Sa pratique de l'interprétation s'étend sur différents registres, de la musique improvisée, contemporaine et expérimentale à la musique populaire. Son travail aborde des notions telles que le « tremblement », le fredonnement, l'« effondrement » et la « dé-maîtrise » de la pratique instrumentale.
Judith Hamann a étudié le répertoire classique contemporain avec des violoncellistes de renom, dont Charles Curtis et Séverine Ballon, et a développé une solide pratique de l'improvisation et des arts sonores dans le cadre de projets de collaboration en Australie et à l'étranger. Elle a travaillé avec des artistes et des ensembles tels que l'Australian Art Orchestra, Oren Ambarchi, Dennis Cooper, ELISION ensemble, Sarah Hennies, Graham Lambkin, Alvin Lucier, Toshimaru Nakamura, The Necks, Áine O'Dwyer, Stephen O'Malley, Eliane Radigue, Wadada Leo Smith, Ilan Volkov, Tashi Wada, La Monte Young et Marian Zazeela. Elle est membre de Golden Fur, Hammers Lake, The Argonaut String Quartet, l'Harmonic Space Orchestra, et développe des projets en duo avec Rosalind Hall, Anthea Caddy et Lori Goldston. Elle s'engage également dans une série de projets interdisciplinaires et expérimentaux, y compris des collaborations avec les artistes visuels Keith Deverell, Sabina Maselli, et les cinéastes Joshua Bonnetta et Benedetta De Alessi.
Ses enregistrements ont été publiés par Blank Forms, Black Truffle, Saltern, Pogus, Another Timbre, Caduc et Marginal Frequency.
Texte de Nora Fulton.
 
2021 (parution prévue au 2e trimestre)
 
19.00
 
à paraître
Judith Hamann : autre titre



 haut de page