les presses du réel

Swamps and the New ImaginationOn the Future of Cohabitation in Art, Architecture and Philosophy

 - Swamps and the New Imagination
An exploration of the "swampy" zone between the human and the other forms of life that make up his ecosystem and his environment, at the intersection of art, architecture and philosophy, in the perspective of a posthumanist ecology.
It is not easy to define a swamp, even in biology. The term is frequently used to characterize marshes, bogs, mires, wetlands, meadows, and other grey zones between land and water. In that sense, "swamp" is a metonym for a variety of transitional ecosystems and functions.
This book invokes that concept as a tool to address the vital urgency of human cohabitation with other forms of life, placing the swamp at the crossroad of disciplines and practices. It is more than a biological ecosystem; it is a milieu of manifold sympoietic relationships, a locus of imagination, fostering the dialogue for possible futures. It is also a very particular modality—"an interface of Gaia"—offering a "face," a certain physiognomy to faceless networks of relations, inviting us to engage in regimes of entanglement.
The contributors to this volume expand on swampy notions, probing global and speculative art and architecture, intercalating philosophy and queer theory, and filtering these notions through the lens of posthumanist ecology, informed by the histories and theories of cybernetics, sociology, and the commons.
Edited by Nomeda Urbonas & Gediminas Urbonas and Kristupas Sabolius.
Contributions by Nikola Bojić, Chiara Bottici, T. J. Demos, Glorianna Davenport & Gershon Dublon, Jennifer Gabrys, Tinna Grétarsdóttir & Sigurjón Baldur Hafsteinsson, Jonathan Jae-an Crisman & Newton Harrison, Stefan Helmreich, Stefanie Hessler, Yuk Hui, Giedrė Jankevičiūtė, Caroline A. Jones, Lars Bang Larsen, Bruno Latour, Gintautas Mažeikis, Astrida Neimanis, Vittoria Di Palma, María Puig de la Bellacasa & Dimitris Papadopoulos, Andrew Pickering, Kristina Lee Podesva, Elizabeth A. Povinelli, Cristina Ricupero, Eglė Rindzevičiūtė, Lorena Bello & Brent D. Ryan, Kristupas Sabolius, Saskia Sassen, Caterina Scaramelli, Marco Scotini, Pelin Tan, Nomeda & Gediminas Urbonas, Angela Vettese, Kate Orff & Mariel Villeré.

Graphic design: NODE Berlin Oslo.
 
2020 (publication expected by 4th quarter)
English edition
17 x 24,5 cm (clothbound hardcover)
410 pages (35 b/w & 130 color ill.)
 
40.00
 
ISBN : 978-3-95679-484-1
EAN : 9783956794841
 
forthcoming


 top of page

Du fait de la situation sanitaire et des mesures de confinement, les expéditions sont actuellement regroupées pour être effectuées une fois par semaine : l'ensemble du catalogue reste ainsi disponible. Merci pour votre soutien et pour votre patience...
les presses du réel

Swamps and the New ImaginationOn the Future of Cohabitation in Art, Architecture and Philosophy

 - Swamps and the New Imagination
Une exploration de la zone « marécageuse » entre l'homme et les autres formes de vie qui constituent son écosystème et son environnement, à l'intersection de l'art, de l'architecture et de la philosophie, dans la perspective d'une écologie posthumaniste.
Il n'est pas facile de définir un marécage, même en biologie. Le terme est fréquemment utilisé pour caractériser les marais, les tourbières, les marécages, les zones humides, les prairies et autres zones grises entre la terre et l'eau. En ce sens, le terme « marécage » est un métonyme pour toute une série d'écosystèmes et de fonctions de transition.
Ce livre invoque ce concept comme un outil pour répondre à l'urgence vitale de la cohabitation de l'homme avec d'autres formes de vie, plaçant le marais au carrefour des disciplines et des pratiques. Plus qu'un écosystème biologique, il s'agit d'un milieu aux multiples relations de sympathie, un lieu d'imagination, favorisant le dialogue pour des futurs possibles. C'est aussi une modalité très particulière – une « interface de Gaia » – offrant un « visage », une certaine physionomie aux réseaux de relations sans visage, nous invitant à nous engager dans des régimes d'enchevêtrement.
Les contributeurs de ce volume développent des notions « marécageuses », sondant l'art et l'architecture dans une perspective spéculative, intercalant la philosophie et la théorie queer, et examinant ces éléments à travers la lentille de l'écologie posthumaniste, éclairée par les histoires et les théories de la cybernétique, de la sociologie et des biens communs.
Edité par Nomeda Urbonas & Gediminas Urbonas and Kristupas Sabolius.
Contributions de Nikola Bojić, Chiara Bottici, T. J. Demos, Glorianna Davenport & Gershon Dublon, Jennifer Gabrys, Tinna Grétarsdóttir & Sigurjón Baldur Hafsteinsson, Jonathan Jae-an Crisman & Newton Harrison, Stefan Helmreich, Stefanie Hessler, Yuk Hui, Giedrė Jankevičiūtė, Caroline A. Jones, Lars Bang Larsen, Bruno Latour, Gintautas Mažeikis, Astrida Neimanis, Vittoria Di Palma, María Puig de la Bellacasa & Dimitris Papadopoulos, Andrew Pickering, Kristina Lee Podesva, Elizabeth A. Povinelli, Cristina Ricupero, Eglė Rindzevičiūtė, Lorena Bello & Brent D. Ryan, Kristupas Sabolius, Saskia Sassen, Caterina Scaramelli, Marco Scotini, Pelin Tan, Nomeda & Gediminas Urbonas, Angela Vettese, Kate Orff & Mariel Villeré.

Conception graphique : NODE Berlin Oslo.
 
2020 (parution prévue au 4e trimestre)
édition anglaise
17 x 24,5 cm (relié, couv. toilée)
410 pages (35 ill. n&b et 130 ill. coul.)
 
40.00
 
ISBN : 978-3-95679-484-1
EAN : 9783956794841
 
à paraître


 haut de page