les presses du réel

A False Weight

Daisuke Kosugi - A False Weight
Part of The New Sanctuary, the Satellite Programme 12 devised by Laura Herman for the Jeu de Paume and the CAPC, A False Weight is published in conjunction with the exhibition by Daisuke Kosugi, an intimate project on the disabled body, supported by a reflection on the architecture of the home.
This volume devoted to work by Daisuke Kosugi is published in conjunction with the exhibition of the same title, which is the third and final instalment of The New Sanctuary. This exhibition series was devised by Laura Herman and examines how architecture engages with the body and the senses.
The body relies on the architecture of the home for the structuring of day-to-day activities. But this architecture, a fixed given, can form an uncompromising backdrop, stifling the body in domesticity. Architectural qualities represent certain ideas and persist over time in ways that our bodies, habits and routines do not. What if our bodies are out of joint with the architecture that surrounds us?
A False Weight is an experimental portrait of Tadashi, a character based on the artist's father. Tadashi is a retired Japanese architect and bodybuilder who has been diagnosed with an unusual and incurable degenerative brain disease affecting his movements and daily routines. In an architectural and domestic journey coupled to three phases of the disease, the film reveals, through the medium of Butoh dance, the inner conflict of a man torn between his desire for strength, efficiency and independence and the acceptance of his rapidly declining body. Through its repetitive sequences, the film introduces into the architecture of the home a sense of time with a “human” dimension, one that is repetitive rather than linear, emancipating rather than oppressing.
Featuring a conversation between Daisuke Kosugi and Laura Herman and an essay by architectural theorist Zuzana Kovar, this publication explores the possibilities of the disabled body to emancipate itself from un-adapted architecture and the ideals of efficiency, while discussing the fallacy of contemporary representations of the ideal body.
Published on the occasion of the eponymous exhibitions at Jeu de Paume, Paris, from October 15, 2019, to January 19, 2020, CAPC musée d'art contemporain de Bordeaux, from October 31, 2019, to February 13, 2020, and Museo Amparo, Puebla (Mexico), from September 28 to October 14, 2019.

The Satellite Programme of contemporary art exhibitions was started by the Jeu de Paume in 2007. Since 2015, this programme of exhibitions has been organised jointly by the Jeu de Paume and the CAPC musée d'art contemporain de Bordeaux. Each programme is conceived by an internationally renowned curator (Fabienne Fulchéri, María Inés Rodríguez, Elena Filipovic, Raimundas Malašauskas, Filipa Oliveira, Mathieu Copeland, Nataša Petrešin-Bachelez, Erin Gleeson and Heidi Ballet). In 2019, it will also be presented at the Museo Amparo in Puebla (Mexico). Each exhibition is accompanied by a publication that was conceived as a carte blanche for the curator and artists. This series of books, each of which was created in close collaboration with a graphic design agency, forms an independent artistic space within the Satellite Programme.
The 12th Satellite Programme, titled The New Sanctuary and curated by Laura Herman, proposes newly commissioned works by Julie Béna, Ben Thorp Brown and Daisuke Kosugi who, through their individual practices, consider the capacity of the designed environment to host, care and engage with the body and the senses. How does space determine the way we feel? Predicated on a sense of a threatening and hostile environment, one of the basic definitions of architecture is the provision of shelter and comfort for the human body. The common idea of the dwelling as a “surrogate skin” is derived from the nineteenth-century German architect Gottfried Semper, who described the animal pen, made out of woven skins and leaves, as the origin of the architectural “private” space. Today, this understanding of architecture as an enveloping spatiality seems no longer to apply. If architecture is to be reconsidered as the meeting point between different cultural references, practices, rituals, desires and needs, how can we imagine a space of sanctuary for today's world?

Laura Herman (born 1988 in Brussels) is a graduate of the Center for Curatorial Studies at Bard College in New York and holds a master's degree in Comparative Modern Literature. Laura workes as a curator at La Loge, Brussels, a space dedicated to art, architecture and theory. She is also an editor for De Witte Raaf, a bimonthly art journal distributed in Belgium and the Netherlands. Her reviews and essays have appeared in Mousse, Frieze and Spike Art Quarterly among other publications, and she has curated a number of exhibitions and events, including Natural Capital (Modal Alam), BOZAR, Brussels; Third Nature, Hessel Museum, New York; Definition Series: Infrastructure, Storefront for Art and Architecture, New York; and Wild Horses & Trojan Dreams, Marres, Maastricht.

Irene Sunwoo is a New York-based architectural historian, curator and writer. She is Curator of the Arthur Ross Architecture Gallery and Director of Exhibitions at the Columbia University Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation (GSAPP). In 2015, she was Associate Curator of the inaugural Chicago Architecture Biennial. She is also the author of In Progress: IID Summer Sessions (AA Publications, 2016), and her writing has appeared in Grey RoomAA FilesGetty Research Journal, The Avery Review and Domus, among other journals. Her research has been supported and recognized by grants and fellowships from the Canadian Centre for Architecture, the Graham Foundation, the Paul Mellon Centre and the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture.
Daisuke Kosugi (born 1984 in Tokyo, lives and works in Oslo) is a Japanese artist. He is co-founder of the Louise Dany initiative in Oslo with the artist Ina Hagen. His work has been presented at LIAF (Lofoten International Art Festival), Norway; CPH:DOX 2017 (Special in NEW:VISION Award), 11th Gwangju Biennale, South Korea (2016); and Malmö Konsthall, Sweden (2016). He was awarded the 2017 French Prize by the French Institute of Norway. In 2017, he was an artist-in-residence at WIELS, Brussels, and in 2018 he was a resident at the Cité Internationale des Arts in Paris. In spring 2019, he created a performance for “Move” at the Centre Pompidou.
 
Texts by Daisuke Kosugi, Laura Herman, Zuzana Kovar.

Coedited by Jeu de Paume, Paris, and CAPC musée d'art contemporain de Bordeaux.
 
published in October 2019
bilingual edition (English / French)
15 × 21 cm (softcover, dust jacket)
64 pages (9 color ill.)
 
14.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-87721-247-2
EAN : 9782877212472
 
in stock
A False Weight A False Weight A False Weight A False Weight A False Weight A False Weight


 top of page

les presses du réel

Une fausse pesanteur

Daisuke Kosugi - Une fausse pesanteur
Dans le cadre du « Nouveau Sanctuaire », la programmation Satellite 12 organisé par le Jeu de Paume et le CAPC, la publication Une fausse pesanteur accompagne l'exposition de Daisuke Kosugi, un projet intime sur le corps handicapé, doublé d'une réflexion sur l'architecture domestique.
Dans le cadre du « Nouveau Sanctuaire », une série d'expositions proposée par Laura Herman sur la manière dont l'architecture se rapporte au corps et aux sens, la publication Une fausse pesanteur accompagne celle de Daisuke Kosugi, troisième et dernier épisode du cycle.
L'architecture de la maison apparaît comme une toile de fond têtue, un présupposé immuable. Le corps dépend d'elle pour structurer ses activités quotidiennes, parfois au point d'étouffer dans la domesticité. Que se passe-t-il quand nos corps se disjoignent de leur environnement bâti ? Les propriétés architecturales représentent certaines idées et persistent à travers le temps, à la différence de nos corps, de nos habitudes et de nos routines.
Le film A False Weight, présenté dans l'exposition, brosse un portrait expérimental de Tadashi, personnage fondé sur le père de l'artiste. Tadashi est un ancien architecte et bodybuilder japonais à qui l'on a diagnostiqué une maladie cérébrale rare et incurable qui affecte progressivement ses mouvements et ses habitudes. En nous entraînant dans un voyage architectural et domestique scandé par les trois phases de la maladie, le film révèle le conflit intérieur d'un homme déchiré entre son désir de force, d'efficacité et d'indépendance, d'une part, et, d'autre part, l'acceptation du déclin rapide de son corps grâce à la danse butō. À travers des séquences répétitives, le film introduit dans l'architecture du foyer un temps à dimension « humaine », répétitif plutôt que linéaire, émancipateur plutôt qu'oppressif.
Comprenant une conversation entre Daisuke Kosugi et Laura Herman ainsi qu'un essai de Zuzana Kovar, théoricienne de l'architecture, cet ouvrage aborde les possibilités d'émancipation du corps handicapé vis-à-vis d'une architecture inadaptée et des idéaux d'efficacité, tout en traitant de la tromperie inhérente aux représentations contemporaines du corps idéal.
Publié à l'occasion des expositions éponymes au Jeu de Paume, Paris, du 15 octobre 2019 au 19 janvier 2020, au CAPC musée d'art contemporain de Bordeaux, du 31 octobre 2019 au 23 février 2020 et au Museo Amparo, Puebla (Mexique), du 28 septembre au 14 octobre 2019.

Initiée en 2007, la programmation Satellite du Jeu de Paume est dédiée à la création contemporaine. Depuis 2015, le Jeu de Paume et le CAPC musée d'art contemporain de Bordeaux organisent conjointement ce programme d'expositions, assuré dès sa création par des commissaires d'envergure internationale (Fabienne Fulchéri, María Inés Rodríguez, Elena Filipovic, Raimundas Malašauskas, Filipa Oliveira, Mathieu Copeland, Nataša Petrešin-Bachelez, Erin Gleeson et Heidi Ballet). En 2019, elle est également présentée au Museo Amparo de Puebla (Mexique). Chaque exposition est accompagnée d'une publication imaginée comme une carte blanche au commissaire et aux artistes. Conçue dans un dialogue étroit avec un studio graphique renouvelé à l'occasion de chaque édition, cette série d'ouvrages s'offre comme un espace de création autonome au sein de la programmation Satellite.
Intitulée « Le Nouveau Sanctuaire » la douzième édition de la programmation Satellite, confiée à Laura Herman, présente les propositions de Julie Béna, Ben Thorp Brown et Daisuke Kosugi qui étudient, du point de vue de leurs pratiques individuelles, la capacité qu'a l'environnement aménagé d'accueillir le corps et les sens, d'en prendre soin et de les investir. Comment l'espace détermine-t-il la façon dont nous nous sentons ? Basée sur l'idée d'un environnement menaçant et hostile, l'une des définitions fondamentales de l'architecture est de fournir un abri et un certain confort au corps humain. L'idée répandue de l'habitation comme « peau de substitution » nous vient de l'architecte allemand du XIXe siècle Gottfried Semper qui décrivait l'enclos de l'animal, fait de peaux et de feuillages, comme l'origine de l'espace architectural « privé ». Aujourd'hui, cette conception de l'architecture comme spatialité enveloppante – le désir moderne d'offrir un lieu de refuge – n'est plus opérante. Si nous devons reconsidérer l'architecture comme le point de rencontre entre différentes références culturelles, différentes pratiques, différents rituels, désirs et besoins, comment imaginer un sanctuaire adapté au monde actuel ?

Laura Herman (née en 1988 à Bruxelles) est diplômée du Centre for Curatorial Studies du Bard College (CCS Bard, 2016), à New York, et titulaire d'un master de littérature moderne comparée. Laura est curatrice pour La Loge, un espace bruxellois dédié à l'art contemporain, à l'architecture et à la théorie. Elle est rédactrice pour De Witte Raaf, revue d'art bimensuelle distribuée en Belgique et aux Pays-Bas. Ses critiques et essais ont notamment paru dans Mousse, Frieze, Spike Art Quarterly, et elle a organisé des expositions et des événements comme « Natural Capital (Modal Alam) » au BOZAR, à Bruxelles ; « Third Nature » au Hessel Museum, à New York ; « Definition Series: Infrastructure » au Storefront for Art and Architecture, à New York et « Wild Horses & Trojan Dreams » chez Marres, à Maastricht.

Basée à New York, Irene Sunwoo est historienne de l'architecture, commissaire d'exposition et écrivaine. Elle est commissaire d'exposition de l'Arthur Ross Architecture Gallery et la directrice des expositions à la School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation (GSAPP) de l'université de Columbia. En 2015, elle fut commissaire d'exposition associée de la première Biennale d'architecture de Chicago. Elle est également l'auteure de In Progress: IID Summer Sessions (AA Publications, 2016) et ses écrits ont été publiés dans Grey RoomAA FilesGetty Research Journal, The Avery Review et Domus, entre autres revues.
Daisuke Kosugi (né en 1984 à Tokyo, vit et travaille à Oslo) est un artiste japonais. Avec l'artiste Ina Hagen, il a cofondé l'espace d'exposition et d'échange artistique « Louise Dany » à Oslo. Son travail a été présenté au LIAF (Lofoten International Art Festival) en Norvège ; au festival CPH:DOX 2017, Copenhague (lors duquel il a obtenu la « mention spéciale » du NEW:VISION Award) ; à la 11e Biennale de Gwangju, Corée du Sud (2016) et à la Konsthall de Malmö, Suède (2016). Il a reçu le Prix français de l'Institut français de Norvège lors de l'exposition « Høstutstillingen 2017 » à Oslo. Il a été en résidence au WIELS, Bruxelles (2017), et à la Cité internationale des arts de Paris (2018). Au printemps 2019, il a créé une performance dans le cadre de « Move » au Centre Pompidou.
 
Textes de Daisuke Kosugi, Laura Herman, Zuzana Kovar.

Coédité par le Jeu de Paume, Paris, et le CAPC musée d'art contemporain de Bordeaux.
 
paru en octobre 2019
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
15 × 21 cm (broché, sous jaquette transparente)
64 pages (9 ill. coul.)
 
14.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-87721-247-2
EAN : 9782877212472
 
en stock
Une fausse pesanteur Une fausse pesanteur Une fausse pesanteur Une fausse pesanteur Une fausse pesanteur Une fausse pesanteur


 haut de page