Pietro Roccasalva

 
Pietro Roccasalva (born 1970 in Modica, lives and works in Milan) is one of the most singular and promising Italian artists in the post-Cattelan generation in Italy. His work is a visionary and erudite mix of conceptual rigour and hallucinatory extravaganza: starting from painting as his main medium of expression and ranging from sculpture to installation, from "tableaux vivants" to drawing and film, Roccasalva's creative world is an unceasing investigation into the meaning of images and how we relate to them.
His iconic obsessions are always set in complex installations in which the different elements act like characters on a stage, performing an erratic script that probes a wide range of historical references, from art history to philosophy, music, and literature.
 
Pietro Roccasalva -
2017
English edition
Mousse - Mousse Publishing (books)
(last copies available!)
Reference monograph surveying ten years of work centered around painting, with forays in other forms of art. The Italian artist's conceptual universe interweaves personal experiences with references to art history, literature, and music as well as to cinema.
Pietro Roccasalva -
2008
English edition
JRP|Editions - First monographs
First monograph.


 top of page

Pietro Roccasalva

 
Pietro Roccasalva (né en 1970 à Modica, vit et travaille à Milan) est l'un des artistes les plus singuliers et prometteurs de la génération post-Cattelan en Italie. Son travail est un mélange visionnaire et érudit de rigueur conceptuelle et d'extravagance hallucinatoire. Partant de la peinture, explorant divers médiums (sculpture, installation, “tableaux vivants”, dessin, vidéo), son travail constitute une quête du sens des images et une interrogation sur les rapports que nous entretenons avec celles-ci.
Les obsessions iconologiques de Roccasalva sont toujours intégrées au sein d'installations complexes, dans lesquelles les différents éléments fonctionnent comme des personnages de théâtre, exécutant un scénario erratique qui brasse un pannel de références historiques, de l'histoire de l'art à la philosophie en passant par la musique et la littérature.
 
Pietro Roccasalva -
2017
édition anglaise
Mousse - Mousse Publishing (livres)
(derniers exemplaires disponibles !)
Monographie de référence : dix ans d'une œuvre tournée vers la peinture mais explorant d'autres formes artistiques, constituant un univers conceptuel liant expériences personnelles et références à l'histoire de l'art, à la littérature et à la musique ainsi qu'au cinéma.
Pietro Roccasalva -
2008
édition anglaise
JRP|Editions - Premières monographies
Première monographie consacrée aux installations complexes de l'artiste italien, un mélange visionnaire et érudit de rigueur conceptuelle et d'extravagance hallucinatoire.


 haut de page