Michel Butor

 
Michel Butor (born 1926 in Mons-en-Barœul, France) is a writer, essayist and poet. He redefined the genre of the novel, notably with Second Thoughts (1957), further developing new forms with Mobile (1962). During the Sixties, he engages in an experimental way, writing travel stories, dream narratives and other fundamental works with painters, musicians and photographers. Also a teacher in such places as Egypt, Manchester and Geneva, Butor the traveler is the recipient of numerous literary prizes.
 
Michel Butor - L\'univers géopoétique (+ DVD)
2017
bilingual edition (French / Italian)
Art centers, museums, galleries & varia
This publication is the result of a series of meetings and interviews with Michel Butor in Italy, between 2012 and 2016. It also features texts by Mireille Calle-Gruber, Paolo Fabbri, and Butor himself, as well as six unreleased photographs from 1952 to 1958, documenting the French author's travels in Italy. The accompanying DVD À propos de. Entre littérature et art, le paysage véritable is a video-essay by Isabella Bordoni, and one of Butor's final appearance.
Michel Butor - Conversation
2015
English edition
Sternberg Press - History, Criticism and Theory
In the fall of 2013, Dan Graham and Mieko Meguro traveled with Donatien Grau to a town in the French Alps to meet Michel Butor, one of the foremost innovators of postwar literature. This is their conversation.


 top of page

Michel Butor

 
Michel Butor (né en 1926 à Mons-en-Barœul) est un écrivain, essayiste et poète. Il a participé à définir le genre du Nouveau roman avec La Modification (1957, Prix Renaudot), avant de développer de nouvelles formes narratives (Mobile, 1962). Durant les années soixante, il embrasse une voie expérimentale et publie des carnets de voyages (Le Génie du lieu), des récits oniriques, des poèmes et d'importants ouvrages en collaboration avec des peintres, des musiciens et des photographes. Également enseignant en Égypte, à Manchester ou encore à Genève, Butor le voyageur est lauréat de nombreux prix littéraires (Grand prix de l'Académie française, Prix Mallarmé, Grand Prix de la SACEM) venus couronner une riche carrière.
 
Michel Butor - L\'univers géopoétique (+ DVD)
2017
édition bilingue (français / italien)
Centres d'art, musées, galeries & varia
Cette publication est le résultat d'une série de rencontres et d'entretiens avec Michel Butor en Italie entre 2012 et 2016. Elle comprend également des textes de Mireille Calle-Gruber, Paolo Fabbri et de Butor lui-même, ainsi que six photographies inédites issues des voyages de l'écrivain en Italie durant les années 1950. Le DVD accompagnant cette édition, À propos de. Entre littérature et art, le paysage véritable, est un essai vidéo de Isabella Bordoni, et l'une des dernières apparitions de Butor à l'écran.
Michel Butor - Conversation
2015
édition anglaise
Sternberg Press - Histoire, critique et théorie
À l'automne 2013, Dan Graham et Mieko Meguro se rendent avec Donatien Grau dans les Alpes françaises afin d'y rencontrer Michel Butor, l'un des plus grands innovateurs de la littérature d'après-guerre. Voici la retranscription de leur conversation (postface de Paul McCarthy).


 haut de page