les presses du réel

Paradoxer Schattenboxer

Emanuel Halpern - Paradoxer Schattenboxer
A retro-futuristic graphic novel by the Swiss artist.
We live in a world of the greatest paradoxes, which Emanuel Halpern works into his latest book. Paradoxer Schattenboxer follows Hunn and Altermann through an unmistakably Swiss-inspired dystopian/utopian retro-sci fi environmental crime novel in Film noir style. The dramatis personae include Al Pacone (The Boss), his gangster cronies and corrupt officials. But a nasty-piece-of-work CEO and a cruise fleet (Preperline) are a must as well, a "dolce vita doomsday cult, equipped with state-of-the-art technology to ward off every conceivable doomsday scenario". A forest fire poses an imminent threat and blocks access to the border area between Pappstadt and Puerto Paradisio. Against all odds, the conflagration is finally contained, and a three-day downpour brings long-awaited relief to the ill-used vegetation. A happy ending! Right?
This short story combines a wide range of different genres, characters and themes into an almost bewildering patchwork, a casual and yet close-knit tapestry interwoven with religion, politics and art history, climate change and the environment. And it asks, not just parenthetically, some big questions: Is there a right way of leading the wrong life? What's the difference between culture and propaganda, art and sports? These earnest, even deadly serious matters are contrasted with Emanuel Halpern's whimsical and quaintly familiar-looking visual idiom in the subsequent graphic novel as well, with its bright children's-book colors and soft outlines. One could almost convince oneself that the world isn't doing all that badly after all. Almost. A reality teetering on the very brink of disaster can only be portrayed comically.
Emanuel Halpern (born 1948 in Zurich) is a Zurich-based Swiss artist. He appeared in Reto Andrea Savoldelli's modern fairy-tale movie Stella da Falla (1971) and has taught at Zurich's F+F School for Art and Media Design.
 
published in November 2022
bilingual edition (English / German)
24,5 x 32,5 cm (hardcover)
60 pages (44 ill.)
 
60.00
 
ISBN : 978-3-907236-48-2
EAN : 9783907236482
 
in stock
Emanuel Halpern: other title



 top of page

les presses du réel

Paradoxer Schattenboxer

Emanuel Halpern - Paradoxer Schattenboxer
Un roman graphique rétrofuturiste de l'artiste suisse.
Nous vivons dans un monde de grands paradoxes, qu'Emanuel Halpern intègre dans son dernier livre. Paradoxer Schattenboxer suit Hunn et Altermann dans un roman policier environnemental dystopique / utopique rétro-sci fi d'inspiration suisse, dans le style du film noir. Les personnages sont Al Pacone (le patron), ses amis gangsters et des fonctionnaires corrompus. Mais il faut aussi compter avec un méchant PDG et une flotte de croisière (Preperline), un « culte apocalyptique dolce vita, équipé de technologies de pointe pour parer à tous les scénarios apocalyptiques imaginables ». Un incendie de forêt constitue une menace imminente et bloque l'accès à la zone frontalière entre Pappstadt et Puerto Paradisio. Contre toute attente, l'incendie est finalement circonscrit et une pluie diluvienne de trois jours apporte le soulagement tant attendu à la végétation malmenée. Une fin heureuse ?
Cette nouvelle combine un large éventail de genres, de personnages et de thèmes différents en un patchwork déroutant, une mosaïque désordonnée et pourtant bien ficelée, où se mêlent religion, politique et histoire de l'art, changement climatique et environnement. Et il pose, et pas seulement entre parenthèses, quelques grandes questions : existe-t-il une bonne façon de mener une mauvaise vie ? Quelle est la différence entre culture et propagande, art et sport ? Ces questions pour le moins sérieuses contrastent avec l'idiome visuel d'Emanuel Halpern, fantaisiste et familier, développé dans ce roman graphique, avec ses couleurs vives et ses contours doux dignes d'un livre pour enfants. On pourrait presque se convaincre que le monde ne va pas si mal après tout. Presque. Une réalité au bord du désastre ne peut être dépeinte que de manière comique.
Emanuel Halpern (né en 1948 à Zurich) est un artiste suisse basé à Zurich. Il est apparu dans le film de conte de fées moderne Stella da Falla (1971) de Reto Andrea Savoldelli et a enseigné à la F+F School for Art and Media Design de Zurich.
 
paru en novembre 2022
édition bilingue (anglais / allemand)
24,5 x 32,5 cm (relié)
60 pages (44 ill.)
 
60.00
 
ISBN : 978-3-907236-48-2
EAN : 9783907236482
 
en stock
Paradoxer Schattenboxer Paradoxer Schattenboxer Paradoxer Schattenboxer Paradoxer Schattenboxer Paradoxer Schattenboxer Paradoxer Schattenboxer
Emanuel Halpern : autre titre



 haut de page