les presses du réel

Dixit #03 – Still Life / Nature Morte

OFFICE Kersten Geers David Van Severen, Richard Venlet - Dixit #03
The third issue of the critical review Dixit in which the words of the architectural practice OFFICE Kersten Geers David Van Severen and the Brussels artist Richard Venlet confront each other around the theme of "Still Life".
The completion of the crematorium in Ostend, a collaboration between artist Richard Venlet and OFFICE Kersten Geers David Van Severen, gave them the opportunity to look back upon more than fifteen years of working together. This joint effort is based on a shared interest in abstract figures and how they populate and create spaces.
As the self-renewing discipline that is architecture, Caryatide editions picks up the torch of the critical magazine—which was their very first form. They wish to enrich the debate around architecture by bringing a word that confronts to the news. Architecture is at the convergence of questioning, a discipline nourished by cross-disciplinary approaches. As such, as a signature, Caryatide endeavours to keep a critical point of view, enriched by a social and political look which the architectural discipline depends on, to highlight its complexity and aspirations.
For each issue, three times a year, two contributors are invited to share their thoughts on a new theme.
OFFICE Kersten Geers David Van Severen is a Brussels-based architectural practice founded in 2002 by Kersten Geers and David Van Severen. OFFICE is renowned for its idiosyncratic architecture, which includes both productions and theoretical projects. The projects are direct, spatial and firmly rooted in architectural theory. The firm reduces architecture to its very essence and to its most original form: a limited set of basic geometric rules is used to create a framework within which life unfolds in all its com- plexity. OFFICE engages in all kinds of architectural design and urban planning, creating projects on different scales that range from furniture to masterplanning, both in Belgium and internationally. This practice is combined with academic research, since Geers and Van Severen have taught at various institutions, such as the Berlage Institute, Harvard GSD, EPFL and Mendrisio. These two aspects of OFFICE's work explicitly mirror each other, creating unexpected parallels between academic and practical work.
OFFICE Kersten Geers David Van Severen has received numerous honours and awards, including the Belgian Prize for Architecture, the Art Prize Berlin and the Silver Lion at the 12th Venice Architecture Bienniale. Recent projects include the RTS building in Lausanne, the VRT building in Brussels, the Galerie Lafayette store in Paris, Solo House in Spain, Cultural centres in Bahrain, the Brewery and Tondo footbridge in Brussels, the Caserne de Reuilly housing complex in Paris, and the Crematorium in Ostend, in collaboration with the artist Richard Venlet.
The work of Brussels-based artist Richard Venlet (born 1964 in Hamilton, Australia) combines installation art, artistic research, exhibition design and architecture. His work has been shown in numerous national and international galleries and museums, including: WIELS and BOZAR in Brussels, S.M.A.K. in Ghent, Kunsthalle in Düsseldorf, Macba in Barcelona and Culturgest in Lisbon, amongst others. Venlet creates "environments" out of spaces. His refined abstract aesthetics and the pragmatism of his work go well beyond a simple formal reference to Modernism and Minimalism. Working in context-specific situations, he has produced numerous installations that incorporate the work of other artists and collaborators, forming composite and circuitous environments that are often whimsical reconfigurations of the architectural space. By intervening in a space, the artist gives the viewer an experience of alienation; making them see their surroundings in a new way and occupy a central place in them. As an artist who deliberately intervenes within architectural and exhibition spaces, Venlet pursues this interest in architectural production by means of regular collaborations with architectural offices, such as OFFICE Kersten Geers David Van Severen.
Editorial direction: Claudia Mion.
Editorial coordination: Juliette Pochard.
Editorial board: Simon Campedel and Claudia Mion.

Graphic design: Spassky Fischer with Lucas Lejeune.

Published by Caryatide.
 
published in April 2022
bilingual edition (English / French)
23 x 30 cm (softcover)
64 pages (ill.)
 
18.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-493283-02-3
EAN : 9782493283023
 
in stock
Dixit Dixit Dixit Dixit Dixit Dixit


 top of page

les presses du réel

Dixit n° 03 – Still Life / Nature Morte

OFFICE Kersten Geers David Van Severen, Richard Venlet - Dixit n° 03
Troisième numéro de la revue critique Dixit dans lequel les voix de l'agence d'architecture OFFICE Kersten Geers David Van Severen et de Richard Venlet, artiste bruxellois, se confrontent autour du thème « Nature Morte ».
L'achèvement du crématorium d'Ostende, une collaboration entre l'artiste Richard Venlet et OFFICE Kersten Geers David Van Severen, leur a donné l'occasion de revenir sur plus de quinze ans de collaboration. Ce travail commun est basé sur un intérêt partagé pour les figures abstraites et la manière dont elles peuplent et créent des espaces.
À l'image d'une discipline qui se renouvelle sur elle-même, les éditions Caryatide reprennent le flambeau de la revue critique. Elles souhaitent ainsi enrichir encore le débat autour de l'architecture en apportant une parole qui se confronte à l'actualité. L'architecture est un point à la convergence des questionnements, une discipline nourrie d'approches transversales. A ce titre, comme une signature, Caryatide s'attache à conserver un point de vue critique, riche d'un regard social et politique dont la discipline architecturale relève, afin de mettre au jour sa complexité et ses aspirations.
Pour chaque numéro, trois fois par an, deux contributeurs sont invités à partager leur réflexion autour d'un thème inédit.
OFFICE Kersten Geers David Van Severen est un bureau d'architecture basé à Bruxelles, fondé en 2002 par Kersten Geers et David Van Severen. OFFICE est réputé pour son architecture idiosyncratique, dans laquelle réalisations et projets théoriques se côtoient. Les projets sont directs, spatiaux et fermement ancrés dans la théorie architecturale. Le cabinet réduit l'architecture à son essence même et à sa forme la plus originale : un ensemble limité de règles géométriques de base est utilisé pour créer un cadre dans lequel la vie se déploie dans toute sa complexité. OFFICE s'engage dans toute conception architecturale et urbanistique, créant des projets à différentes échelles qui vont du mobilier au masterplanning, en Belgique comme à l'international. Cette pratique est associée à la recherche académique, puisque Geers et Van Severen ont enseigné dans diverses institutions, telles que le Berlage Institute, le GSD de Harvard, l'EPFL et Mendrisio. Ces deux aspects du travail d'OFFICE sont explicitement le miroir l'un de l'autre, créant des parallèles inattendus entre le travail académique et pratique.
OFFICE Kersten Geers David Van Severen a reçu de nombreux prix et distinctions, dont le Prix belge d'architecture, le Prix d'art de Berlin et le Lion d'argent de la 12e Biennale d'architecture de Venise. Parmi ses projets récents, citons le bâti ment de la RTS à Lausanne, le bâtiment de la VRT à Bruxelles, le magasin de la Galerie Lafayette à Paris, la Solo House en Espagne, les centres culturels de Bahreïn, la brasserie et la passerelle Tondo à Bruxelles, le complexe de logements de la Caserne de Reuilly à Paris et le crématorium d'Ostende, réalisé en collaboration avec l'artiste Richard Venlet.
Richard Venlet (né en 1964 à Hamilton, Australie) est un artiste basé à Bruxelles qui combine dans son travail l'art de l'installation, la recherche artistique, la conception d'expositions et l'architecture. Son travail a été présenté dans de nombreuses galeries et musées nationaux et internationaux, notamment : WIELS et BOZAR à Bruxelles, S.M.A.K. à Gand, Kunsthalle à Düsseldorf, Macba à Barcelone et Culturgest à Lisbonne. Venlet crée des « environnements » à partir d'espaces. Son esthétique abstraite et raffinée et le pragmatisme de son œuvre vont bien au-delà d'une simple référence formelle au modernisme et au minimalisme. Travaillant dans des situations spécifiques au contexte, il a produit de nombreuses installations qui incorporent le travail d'autres artistes et collaborateurs, formant des environne- ments composites et détournés qui sont souvent des reconfigurations fantaisistes de l'espace architectural. En intervenant dans un espace, l'artiste fait vivre au spectateur une expérience d'aliénation, l'amenant à voir son environnement d'un œil nouveau et à y occuper une place essentielle. En tant qu'artiste qui intervient délibérément dans l'architecture et les espaces d'exposition, Venlet va plus loin dans la production architecturale en collaborant régulièrement avec des bureaux d'architectes, tels que OFFICE Kersten Geers David Van Severen.
Direction éditoriale : Claudia Mion.
Coordination éditoriale : Juliette Pochard.
Comité éditorial : Simon Campedel et Claudia Mion.

Conception graphique : Spassky Fischer avec Lucas Lejeune.

Publié par Caryatide.
 
paru en avril 2022
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
23 x 30 cm (broché)
64 pages (ill.)
 
18.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-493283-02-3
EAN : 9782493283023
 
en stock
Dixit Dixit Dixit Dixit Dixit Dixit


 haut de page