les presses du réel
Lubaina Himid -
Reference publication dedicated to the practice of Lubaina Himid, one of the leading figures of British Black Art since the 1980s.
Over four decades, Lubaina Himid's powerful and poetic work has made her an influential figure in contemporary art - from her pivotal role in the British Black arts movement of the 1980s to winning the Turner Prize in 2017. Throughout her career, Himid has explored and expanded the possibilities of painting and storytelling, drawing attention to invisible aspects of history and the extraordinary moments of everyday life.
This book offers new essays and conversations about her work as well as writings by the artist on various themes of inspiration, ranging from theatre design and opera, women's creativity, architecture, clothing, textile pattern, sound and collaboration, to processes in the studio. Drawing from her work as an artist and cultural activist, these stimulating texts offer encouragement to consider the decisions that shape the lives we lead.
Published on the occasion of Lubaina Himid's exhibitions at Tate Modern, London, and Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne/Plateforme 10 , in 2021-2022.
Lubaina Himid (born 1954 in Zanzibar) is a British painter who has dedicated her career to uncovering marginalised and silenced histories, figures, and cultural expressions. Initially trained in theatre design, Himid is known for her innovative approaches to painting and to social engagement. She has been pivotal in the UK since the 1980s for her contributions to the British Black Art movement, making space for the expression and recognition of Black experience and women's creativity. She has earned international recognition for her figurative paintings, which explore overlooked and invisible aspects of history and of contemporary everyday life. In 2017 she was awarded the Turner Prize and in 2018 she was bestowed with the honorary title of CBE for her contributions to the arts.
Edited by Michael Wellen.
Contributions by Amrita Dhallu, Christine Eyene, Lisa Merrill, Griselda Pollock, Magda Stawarska-Beavan, Carol Tulloch, Lubaina Himid.

Graphic design: Melanie Mues, Mues Design, London.

Published by the Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne/Plateforme 10 and Tate Publishing, London.
 
2022 (publication expected by 2nd quarter)
French edition
20,3 x 22,8 cm (hardcover)
192 pages (100 ill.)
 
ISBN : 978-2-940027-87-3
EAN : 9782940027873
 
forthcoming
 


 top of page

les presses du réel
Lubaina Himid -
Publication de référence sur la pratique de Lubaina Himid, figure de proue du British Black Art depuis les années 1980.
En quatre décennies, l'œuvre puissante et poétique de Lubaina Himid a fait d'elle une figure influente de l'art contemporain – de son rôle central dans le mouvement du British Black Art dans les années 1980 jusqu'à l'obtention du Turner Prize en 2017. Tout au long de sa carrière, Lubaina Himid a exploré et élargi les possibilités de la peinture et de la narration, attirant autant l'attention sur des aspects invisibilisés de l'histoire que sur des moments extraordinaires du quotidien.
Ce livre propose une nouvelle série d'essais et de conversations autour de son travail mais aussi des écrits de l'artiste elle-même sur ses divers sujets d'inspiration, de la scénographie théâtrale et opératique au fonctionnement de l'atelier, en passant par la créativité des femmes, l'architecture, le vêtement, les motifs textiles, le son et le travail en collaboration. Inspirés de son travail d'artiste et de militante de la culture, ces textes stimulants nous incitent à réfléchir aux décisions qui façonnent nos vies telles que nous les menons.
Publié à l'occasion des expositions de Lubaina Himid à la Tate Modern, Londres, et au Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne/Plateforme 10 , en 2021-2022.
Lubaina Himid (née en 1954 à Zanzibar, Tanzanie) a développé au cours de sa carrière une pratique qui combine projets artistiques, curatoriaux, archivistiques et enseignement, dans laquelle elle interroge la marginalisation de la diaspora noire dans la société contemporaine. Initialement formée au théâtre, Himid est connue pour ses approches novatrices de la peinture et de l'engagement social. Depuis les années 1980, elle joue un rôle essentiel au Royaume-Uni pour sa contribution au mouvement British Black Art, en créant un espace pour l'expression et la reconnaissance de l'expérience noire et de la créativité des femmes. Elle a acquis une reconnaissance internationale pour ses peintures figuratives, qui explorent des aspects négligés et invisibles de l'histoire et de la vie quotidienne contemporaine.
Son travail a fait l'objet d'expositions dans le monde entier, notamment à la Tate Modern, Londres, au Frans Hals Museum, Haarlem, au CAPC, Bordeaux, au New Museum, New York, au MRAC Occitanie / Pyrénées-Méditerranée, Sérignan, à Spike Island, Bristol, à la Badischer Kunstverein, Karlsruhe.
En 2017, elle a reçu le Turner Prize et en 2018, elle s'est vue décerner le titre honorifique de CBE pour ses contributions aux arts.
Edité par Michael Wellen.
Contributions de Amrita Dhallu, Christine Eyene, Lisa Merrill, Griselda Pollock, Magda Stawarska-Beavan, Carol Tulloch, Lubaina Himid.

Conception graphique : Melanie Mues, Mues Design, Londres.

Publié par le Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne/Plateforme 10 et Tate Publishing, Londres.
 
2022 (parution prévue au 2e trimestre)
édition française
20,3 x 22,8 cm (relié)
192 pages (100 ill.)
 
ISBN : 978-2-940027-87-3
EAN : 9782940027873
 
à paraître
 


 haut de page