les presses du réel

The Raw and the Cooked (vinyl LP)

Jan Jelinek - The Raw and the Cooked (vinyl LP)
An album version of the radio piece Vom Rohen und Gekochten (The Raw and The Cooked) originally composed and produced by Jan Jelinek for the state broadcaster SWR2, bringing together five sound collages that deal with the consistency of material and its mutability.
Solid, raw, boiling, powdery, liquid, broken and folded - categories which describe the nature of material. They can also be read in a chronological sequence: solid becomes broken becomes liquid becomes powdery... Material tells of its essence as it drifts through its states, always in correspondence with external energies. The Raw and The Cooked observes the artists Thomas & Renée Rapedius as they design their paper and metal objects and the artist Peter Granser as he ritually prepares Japanese tea, it shatters glass, bends metal and burns wood. The resulting audio documents capture processes of material transformation as sound.
Jan Jelinek is a German electronic musician who also operates under the names Farben, Gramm, The Exposures and Gesellschaft Zur Emanzipation Des Samples. His works deal with the transformation of sounds, translating source materials from popular music into abstract, reduced textures. He constructs collages using tiny sound fragments from a wide variety of recording devices: tape recorders, digital samplers, media players and the like. The recordings are processed into repetitive loops that boil the original down to its essentials.
He is the founder of the German record label Faitiche.

See also Gesellschaft Zur Emanzipation Des Samples.
 
published in October 2021
 
20.00
 
in stock
Jan Jelinek: other titles




 top of page

les presses du réel

The Raw and the Cooked (vinyl LP)

Jan Jelinek - The Raw and the Cooked (vinyl LP)
Une version album de la pièce radiophonique Vom Rohen und Gekochten (Le cru et le cuit) composée et produite à l'origine par Jan Jelinek pour la radio publique allemande SWR2, réunissant cinq collages sonores qui traitent de la consistance de la matière et de sa mutabilité.
Solide, cru, bouillant, poudreux, liquide, brisé, plié : des catégories qui décrivent la nature de la matière. Elles peuvent également être lues dans une séquence chronologique : solide devient cassé devient liquide devient poudreux... La matière raconte son essence au fur et à mesure qu'elle évolue à travers ses états, toujours en correspondance avec les énergies extérieures. The Raw and The Cooked est basé sur une observatoion des artistes Thomas & Renée Rapedius pendant qu'ils conçoivent leurs objets en papier et en métal et de l'artiste Peter Granser pendant qu'il prépare rituellement le thé japonais, qu'il brise le verre, plie le métal et brûle le bois. Les documents audio qui en résultent capturent les processus de transformation des matériaux sous forme de sons.
Jan Jelinek est un compositeur allemand de musique électronique (également connu sous les pseudonymes Farben, Gramm, The Exposures et Gesellschaft Zur Emanzipation Des Samples) installé à Berlin. Son travail est basé sur la transformation des sons, traduisant les matériaux sources de la musique populaire en textures abstraites et épurées. Il construit des collages en utilisant de minuscules fragments sonores provenant d'une grande variété de dispositifs d'enregistrement : magnétophones, échantillonneurs numériques, lecteurs de médias, etc.. Les enregistrements sont traités en boucles répétitives qui ramènent l'original à l'essentiel produisent une transformation poétique de l'acoustique quotidienne.
Jan Jelinek est le fondateur du label Faitiche.

Voir aussi Gesellschaft Zur Emanzipation Des Samples.
 
paru en octobre 2021
 
20.00
 
en stock
Jan Jelinek : autres titres




 haut de page