les presses du réel

PartnersA Biography of Jerry Hunt

Stephen Housewright - Partners
The life and work of Amercian experimental musician/composer/intermedia artist Jerry Hunt.
Jerry Hunt was among the most eccentric figures in the world of new music. A frenetic orator, occultist and engineering consultant, his works from the 1970s through the early '90s made use of readymade sculptures, medical technology, arcane talismans and all manner of homemade electronic implements to form confrontational recordings and enigmatic, powerful performances. Tracing Hunt's life across his home state's major cities to a self-built house in rural Van Zandt County, this memoir-cum-biography by Stephen Housewright, Hunt's partner of 35 years, offers illuminating depictions of Hunt's important installations and performances across North America and Europe.
Housewright narrates a lifetime spent together, beginning in high school as a closeted couple in an East Texas and ending with Hunt's battle with cancer and his eventual suicide, the subject of one of his most harrowing works of video art. This highly readable narrative contains many private correspondences with, and thrilling anecdotes about, Hunt's friends, family, and collaborators, including Joseph Celli, Arnold Dreyblatt, Michael Galbreth, Karen Finley, James and Mary Fulkerson, Guy Klucevsek, Pauline Oliveros, Paul Panhuysen, Annea Lockwood, and the S.E.M. Ensemble.
Jerry Hunt (1943–93) was a Texas-born artist and musician with an astonishing mind and a mystifying practice. Hunt was a singular figure and one of the most radically unorthodox artists of his generation. His remarkable yet underknown work incorporated motion- and sensor-activated technologies, readymade props, eccentric choreographies, and sixteenth-century astrology into performance and composition. While he orbited avant-garde worlds in the United States and Europe, his personal life, spent largely on a ranch in rural Texas, remained elusive. 
Stephen Housewright is a writer, librarian, and teacher.
Introduction by Karen Finley.
 
published in November 2021
English edition
14 x 20 cm (softcover)
292 pages
 
15.00
 
ISBN : 978-1-953691-04-0
EAN : 9781953691040
 
in stock


 top of page

les presses du réel

PartnersA Biography of Jerry Hunt

Partners Stephen Housewright - Partners
La biographie du musicien, compositeur expérimental et artiste multimédia américain Jerry Hunt.
Jerry Hunt est l'une des figures les plus excentriques du monde des musiques nouvelles. Orateur frénétique, occultiste et consultant en ingénierie, ses œuvres des années 1970 au début des années 1990 faisaient appel à des sculptures ready-made, à la technologie médicale, à des talismans obscurs et à toutes sortes d'instruments électroniques faits maison pour créer des enregistrements audacieux et des performances énigmatiques et puissantes. Retraçant la vie de Hunt à travers les grandes villes de son État natal jusqu'à une maison qu'il a lui-même construite dans le comté rural de Van Zandt, ce mémoire-biographie rédigé par Stephen Housewright, le partenaire de Hunt pendant 35 ans, offre des descriptions éclairantes des installations et des performances importantes de Hunt en Amérique du Nord et en Europe.
Housewright raconte une vie passée ensemble, depuis l'école secondaire, alors qu'ils formaient un couple isolé dans un quartier de l'est du Texas, jusqu'au combat de Hunt contre le cancer et à son suicide, sujet de l'une de ses œuvres d'art vidéo les plus bouleversantes. Ce récit limpide contient de nombreuses correspondances privées et des anecdotes passionnantes sur les amis, la famille et les collaborateurs de Hunt, notamment Joseph Celli, Arnold Dreyblatt, Michael Galbreth, Karen Finley, James et Mary Fulkerson, Guy Klucevsek, Pauline Oliveros, Paul Panhuysen, Annea Lockwood et le S.E.M. Ensemble.
Artiste et musicien né au Texas, Jerry Hunt (1943-1993) était une figure singulière et l'un des artistes les moins orthodoxes de sa génération. Son œuvre remarquable, mais méconnue, intégrait dans ses performances et ses compositions des technologies activées par des mouvements et des capteurs, des accessoires prêts à l'emploi, des chorégraphies excentriques et des éléments de l'astrologie du XVIe siècle. Alors qu'il a gravité autour de nombreuses avant-gardes aux États-Unis et en Europe, sa vie personnelle, passée en grande partie dans un ranch de la campagne texane, est restée insaisissable.
Stephen Housewright est écrivain, bibliothécaire et enseignant.
Introduction de Karen Finley.
 
paru en novembre 2021
édition anglaise
14 x 20 cm (broché)
292 pages
 
15.00
 
ISBN : 978-1-953691-04-0
EAN : 9781953691040
 
en stock


 haut de page