les presses du réel

LSD #01 – A Feminist Issue

 - LSD #01
The first issue of the Cahiers du centre national du graphisme, around the relationship between graphic design and feminism.
Speaking about Chaumont and its festival, Vanna Pinter once wrote rather modestly, “The graphic design faith has remained in dependable legitimate hands, the hands that ensure the transfer of power.” To act outside of those transfers of power, from a co-opting of use, is to run the risk of a possible delegitimization. Acting on the fringe, adopting another vantage point, is therefore not without its risks—in terms of territorial thinking—but must be an absolute in a global context.
At the second iteration of the International Graphic Design Biennial in 2019, we tackled a number of themes, from invisiblization with Silvia Baum, Claudia Scheer and Lea Sievertsen [Not a Muse], and the postcolonial question with Jonathan Castro, to transformations of capital and the repercussion on the economy of a discipline with Tereza Ruller [The Rodina], and the notion of commitment with Teresa Sdralevich. In that context we found many more allies than fans of a “Bingo du Male Tears.”
Opening this first issue of our periodical and titling it “A Feminist Issue” around the figure of Anja Kaiser is about approaching graphic design from a feminist, collaborative and co-constructionist perspective. It is a perspective that a number of others have joined here, including Anna Jehle, Juliane Schickedanz, Fabrice Bourlez, and Loraine Furter. The title of this issue implies another, such as “An other Feminist Issue” coming after “Another Feminist Issue,” for there are many voices and they require us to lend them an ear while being attentive and precise. Le Signe Design [LSD], designed by officeabc, is the periodical of a platform for production, distribution, creative support, dialogue, and mediation between the artistic field of graphic design and the public, what the National Center for Graphic Design is all about. Le Signe Design is not so much a communications forum as a new way to enter a field of study.
Jean-Michel Géridan
LSDis the biannual magazine published by Le Signe - Centre national du graphisme.
Edited by Jean-Michel Géridan.
Texts by Anja Kaiser, Loraine Furter, Fabrice Bourlez, Anna Jehle, Juliane Schickedanz.

Graphic design: officeabc.
 
published in October 2020
bilingual edition (English / French)
13 x 19 cm (softcover)
224 pages (32 color & 22 b/w ill.)
 
12.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-9572044-0-3
EAN : 9782957204403
 
in stock
 


 top of page

les presses du réel

LSD n° 01 – A Feminist Issue

LSD  - LSD n° 01
Le premier numéro des Cahiers du centre national du graphisme, sur le thème des relations entre design graphique et féminisme, où il est question de minorités, d'expérimentations formelles et de musique (avec notamment Anja Kaiser, chercheuse, designer graphique et activiste, sur le potentiel de co-conception solidaire du design, et Fabrice Bourlez, invité ici à prolonger sa thèse sur l'incapacité freudienne à imaginer la famille autrement que par l'hétéronormativité).
Au sujet de Chaumont et de son festival, avec pudeur, Vanina Pinter écrivait ceci « La religion graphique est restée entre des mains solides, légitimes, les mains de passations de pouvoir ».
Agir en dehors de ces passations de pouvoir, d'une cooptation d'usage, c'est prendre le risque d'une possible délégitimisation. Agir à la lisière, prendre un autre point d'observation, n'est donc pas sans risques — dans une logique territoriale — mais doit être un absolu dans un contexte global. Lorsqu'à la seconde édition de la Biennale internationale de design graphique, en 2019, nous avons traité d'invisibilisation avec Silvia Baum, Claudia Scheer and Lea Sievertsen [Not a Muse], de la question post-coloniale avec Jonathan Castro, des transformations du capital, de la répercussion sur l'économie d'une discipline avec Tereza Ruller [The Rodina], de l'engagement avec Teresa Sdralevich, nous avons trouvé bien plus d'allié·e·s que d'amateurs d'un « Bingo du Male Tears ».
En ouvrant cette première publication périodique et en l'intitulant « A feminist Issue » autour de la figure d'Anja Kaiser, il s'agit de traiter de design graphique dans une perspective féministe, collaborative et de coconstruction. Perspective à laquelle se sont adjoints Anna Jehle, Juliane Schickedanz, Fabrice Bourlez, Loraine Furter. Le titre de ce présent volume en sous-entend un autre, tel « An Other Feminist Issue » succédant à « Another Feminist Issue », tant les voix sont nombreuses, et nécessitent que l'on s'y attarde avec attention, et précision. Le Signe Design [LSD], dessiné par officeabc, – périodique d'une plateforme de production, de diffusion, de soutien à la création, de dialogue et de médiation entre le champ artistique du graphisme et les publics qu'est le Centre national du graphisme –, est moins un objet de communication qu'un terrain d'étude investi.
Jean-Michel Géridan
LSD est la revue semestrielle du Signe - Centre national du graphisme.
Edité par Jean-Michel Géridan.
Textes de Anja Kaiser, Loraine Furter, Fabrice Bourlez, Anna Jehle, Juliane Schickedanz.

Conception graphique : officeabc.
 
paru en octobre 2020
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
13 x 19 cm (broché)
224 pages (32 ill. coul. et 22 ill. n&b)
 
12.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-9572044-0-3
EAN : 9782957204403
 
en stock
 
LSD LSD LSD LSD LSD LSD LSD LSD LSD LSD LSD LSD LSD LSD LSD LSD


 haut de page