les presses du réel

The sun comes in whenever it wants

Sky Hopinka - The sun comes in whenever it wants
First monograph of the artist, poet, and filmmaker Sky Hopinka whose work embraces Native American perspectivism and reverses the primacy of representation of non-Western identities.
Sky Hopinka's video, photo, and text work centers around personal positions of Indigenous homeland and landscape, designs of language as containers of culture expressed through personal, documentary, and non fiction forms of media. This monograph, published on the occasion of his first major exhibition in France at LUMA Arles, which includes earlier and more recent video and photographic works, includes essays by Flora Katz, Vassilis Oikonomopoulos and Diana Flores Ruíz, as well as an interview with Sky Hopinka by Andrea Lissoni and Filipa Ramos.
Every copy is unique: it is composed of seventeen booklets, fifteen of which are randomly bound. Published in an edition of 700 copies, each cover features a different excerpt from the video work Mnemonics of Shape and Reason (2021).

Published on the occasion of the eponymous exhibition at LUMA, Arles, in 2022.
Sky Hopinka (born 1984 in Ferndale, Washington) is an experimental filmmaker, photographer, and poet. A member of the Ho-Chunk Nation of Wisconsin (United States), Hopinka engages with a practice he refers to as ethnopoetic and neomythological. Over the years, he has developed an idiosyncratic language informed by diverse histories, the intertwining of personal and collective memory and explorations that question dominant norms of identity, perception and myth-making. The sun comes in whenever it wants is his first major exhibition in France and includes earlier and more recent video and photographic works. Hopinka creates contemplative compositions of a rich formal and textural nature, based on interviews, family archives, diaristic travels and texts. His work reveals his interest in conceptual questions relating to perception, communication, and the metaphysical nature of the world. Balancing between intimacy and objectivity, his rigorous explorations challenge the viewer and reveal the complex relationship across documentary and fiction, oscillating between representation and abstraction. Central to his concerns are the stories of Native Americans living in the United States. Using archival material and personal chronicles, he explores places across the country, such as Standing Rock in South Dakota, a site of protest that brought together thousands in solidarity with the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe. The charged histories of sites, themes of resistance, revolt, slavery and colonization are often present. Working in different languages and diverse image-making techniques, he offers unique insights to the rich culture of Native American societies amplified by personal, intimate moments and memories.
Texts by Flora Katz,Vassilis Oikonomopoulos, Diana Flores Ruíz, Sky Hopinka, Andrea Lissoni, Filipa Ramos.

Published with LUMA Arles.
 
published in October 2022
bilingual edition (English / French)
16 x 25 cm (hardcover, cloth binding)
148 pages (ill.)
 
28.00
 
ISBN : 979-10-95991-30-4
EAN : 9791095991304
 
currently out of stock
restocking in progress


 top of page

les presses du réel

The sun comes in whenever it wants

Sky Hopinka - The sun comes in whenever it wants
Première monographie de l'artiste, poète et cinéaste Sky Hopinka dont le travail embrasse le perspectivisme amérindien et renverse le primat de la représentation des identités non occidentales.
Les vidéos, photos et textes de Sky Hopinka s'articulent autour de positions personnelles sur la patrie et le paysage indigènes, de conceptions de la langue en tant que conteneurs de la culture, exprimées à travers des formes personnelles, documentaires et non fictionnelles de médias. Cette monographie, publiée à l'occasion de sa première exposition majeure en France à LUMA Arles, qui comprend des œuvres vidéo et photographiques anciennes et récentes, comprend des essais de Flora Katz,Vassilis Oikonomopoulos et Diana Flores Ruíz, ainsi qu'un entretien avec Sky Hopinka par Andrea Lissoni et Filipa Ramos.
Chaque ouvrage est unique : il est composé de dix-sept cahiers dont quinze sont reliés de manière aléatoire. Édité à 700 exemplaires, toutes les couvertures présentent un extrait différent de l'œuvre vidéo de Sky Hopinka Mnemonics of Shape and Reason (2021).

Publié à l'occasion de l'exposition éponyme à LUMA, Arles, en 2022.
Sky Hopinka (né en 1984 à Ferndale, Washington) est un cinéaste expérimental, photographe et poète. Membre de la nation Ho-Chunk du Wisconsin (États-Unis), Hopinka développe une pratique qu'il désigne comme ethnopoétique et néomythologique. Au fil des années, il a développé un langage singulier nourri de diverses histoires, de l'entrelacement de la mémoire personnelle et collective et d'explorations qui remettent en question les normes dominantes en matière d'identité, de perception et de création de mythes. Hopinka crée des compositions contemplatives d'une riche nature formelle et texturale, basées sur des entretiens, des archives familiales, des carnets de voyage et des textes. Son travail révèle son intérêt pour des questions conceptuelles liées à la perception, à la communication et à la nature métaphysique du monde. Balançant entre intimité et objectivité, ses explorations rigoureuses interpellent le spectateur et révèlent la relation complexe entre documentaire et fiction, oscillant entre représentation et abstraction. Au centre de ses préoccupations se situent les récits d'Amérindiens vivants aux États-Unis. À l'aide de documents d'archives et de chroniques personnelles, il explore des lieux à travers le pays, comme Standing Rock dans le Dakota du Sud, un site de protestation qui a rassemblé des milliers de personnes en solidarité avec la tribu sioux de Standing Rock. L'histoire chargée des sites, les thèmes de la résistance, de la révolte, de l'esclavage et de la colonisation sont souvent présents. Travaillant dans différentes langues et avec diverses techniques de création d'images, il offre un aperçu unique de la culture des sociétés amérindiennes, amplifié par des moments et des souvenirs personnels et intimes.
Textes de Flora Katz,Vassilis Oikonomopoulos, Diana Flores Ruíz, Sky Hopinka, Andrea Lissoni, Filipa Ramos.

Publié avec LUMA Arles.
 
paru en octobre 2022
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
16 x 25 cm (relié, couv. toilée)
148 pages (ill.)
 
28.00
 
ISBN : 979-10-95991-30-4
EAN : 9791095991304
 
momentanément indisponible
réassort en cours
The sun comes in whenever it wants The sun comes in whenever it wants The sun comes in whenever it wants The sun comes in whenever it wants The sun comes in whenever it wants The sun comes in whenever it wants The sun comes in whenever it wants The sun comes in whenever it wants The sun comes in whenever it wants The sun comes in whenever it wants The sun comes in whenever it wants


 haut de page