Ned Lagin

 
American artist, avant-garde keyboardist and composer Ned Lagin (born 1948 in New York) is considered a pioneer in the development and use of minicomputers and personal computers in real-time stage and studio music composition and performance. He had classical music training in piano, counterpoint, harmony, orchestration, composition, and the history of music. Growing up in 1960s New York he was deeply influenced by modal and free jazz, and by modern art. Lagin studied jazz improvisation, arrangement, and piano and played in small jazz groups and a big band.
Ned Lagin is known for his electronic music composition Seastones (influenced not only by modern jazz and forms for improvisation, but also by Lagin's studies of early Renaissance, and 20th century music), for performing with the Grateful Dead from 1970 to 1976, and for his photography and art.

(external link : spiritcats.com)
 
Ned Lagin - Seastones - Set 4 and Set 5 (vinyl LP)
2020
Art centers, museums, galleries & varia
Originally released by the Grateful Dead's Round Records in 1975, Ned Lagin's Seastones is a pioneering electronic composition interweaving metaphors from nature, science, art and music and the origins of music.


 top of page

Ned Lagin

 
Le claviériste et compositeur d'avant-garde américain Ned Lagin (né en 1948 à New York) est considéré comme un pionnier dans le développement et l'utilisation de micro-ordinateurs personnels pour la composition et l'exécution de musique en temps réel, sur scène et en studio. Ayant reçu une formation musicale classique, il a grandi dans le New York des années 1960 et a été profondément influencé par le jazz modal et le free jazz, ainsi que par l'art moderne. Lagin a ensuite étudié l'improvisation, l'arrangement et le piano et a joué dans de petits groupes de jazz et un big band avant d'intégrer le Grateful Dead de 1970 à 1976.
Célèbre en tant que membre du Grateful Dead de 1970 à 1976, Ned Lagin est aussi connu pour la série de compositions électroniques Seastones (influencée aussi bien par le jazz moderne et l'improvisation que par la musique de la Renaissance et du XXe siècles qu'il a étudiées) et pour son travail photographique et artistique.

(lien externe : spiritcats.com)
 
Ned Lagin - Seastones - Set 4 and Set 5 (vinyl LP)
2020
Centres d'art, musées, galeries & varia
Initialement paru sur le label Round Records du Grateful Dead en 1975, Seastones de Ned Lagin est une composition électronique pionnière qui entrelace des métaphores sur la nature, la science, l'art et les origines de la musique.


 haut de page