les presses du réel

Au présent dans le texte & Cinq Rhapsodies

Marcel Alocco - Au présent dans le texte & Cinq Rhapsodies
The writings of the artist Marcel Alocco, painter, writer and poet, presented in the chronological order of their writing, from 1963 to 2001.
Marcel Alocco's work confronts and associates artistic language apparatuses and writing at the service of a singular approach. The artist never stopped writing since the publication of his first collection Poèmes adolescents, published in 1959, which led to several other publications: poetry, novel, critic, art theory and magazines (including identités). The written words have a front seat in his artistic practice, thus reinforcing the exceptional quality of his work. This book binds together the reedition of Au présent dans le texte, a novel published in 1969 by published Pierre Jean Oswald and five, never published before, Rhapsodies.
Marcel Alocco was born in 1937 in Nice (France) where he has practically always lived and worked. Both an artist and a writer, he belongs to the School of Nice, from the first exhibition with Fluxus in the years 1960, to his contribution to the nascent analytical painting (later called Supports/Surfaces). From 1973 to now he has developed a genuine work rooted in his “Idéogrammaire” (Ideo-grammar) followed by the variations of his “Fragments du Patchwork” (Patchwork Fragments) and “Détissages” (Unweaving), works on cultures' writing crafts and memories, which are themes he has simultaneously tackled in his literary production.
Contributions by Alain Oudin, Jacques Simonelli, Jannick Thiroux.

Graphic design: Franck Blais.
published in March 2021
French edition
14,8 x 21 cm (softcover)
576 pages
ISBN : 978-2-9568417-1-5
EAN : 9782956841715
in stock
press releases
Marcel Alocco: other titles

 top of page