les presses du réel

7 Deaths of Maria Callas

Marina Abramović - 7 Deaths of Maria Callas
A clothbound companion to Marina Abramovic's tribute to Maria Callas, a performance that recreates the iconic opera diva's famous onstage death scenes.
7 Deaths of Maria Callas is an opera project created by Marina Abramović premiering at the Bayerische Staatsopera in Munich 2020. In collaboration with an all star creative team and through a mix of narrative opera and film, Abramović re-creates seven iconic deaths from Callas' most important roles throughout her career, followed by an interpretive recreation of Callas' actual death played by Abramović on stage.
This book serves as a companion to the live performance and provides a behind the scenes look into the different elements that make up this conceptual and dynamic homage to the classic and iconic singer.
Since the beginning of her career, in Belgrade in the early 1970s, Marina Abramović (born 1946 in Belgrade) has explored the performing arts, giving life to some of her most iconic works. Exploring her physical and psychological limitations, Abramović resisted pain, exhaustion, and danger in his search for an emotional and spiritual transformation of her. Among the many awards received, it should be remembered the Golden Lion for Best Artist at the Venice Biennale in 1997. In 2010, on the occasion of his first major retrospective in the USA, the artist staged a monumental performance at the MoMA in New York, entitled "The Artist is Present", which took her over 700 hours. The Marina Abramović Institute (MAI), which she founded, aims to connect artists from all disciplines to create new forms of dialogue and unpublished contents.
Text by Petter Skavlan.
Photographs by Marco Anelli.
published in September 2020
English edition
20 x 26,5 cm (hardcover, cloth binding)
176 pages (85 ill.)
75.00 60.00
(special offer)
ISBN : 978-88-6208-731-5
EAN : 9788862087315
in stock

 top of page