english version / version française
Laure Prouvost [see all titles]
Les presses du réel Contemporary art [see all titles]
Laure Prouvost <!---->
Edited by Frédéric Grossi
Texts by Karen Archey and Emanuele Coccia, interview with Laure Prouvost by Daria de Beauvais.

Graphic design: Helmo.
published in July 2018
bilingual edition (English / French)
16 x 24 cm (softcover)
96 pages (ill.)
€17.00
ISBN: 978-2-37896-022-3
EAN: 9782378960223
in stock
 
New monograph.
Generous and full of humour, the work of Laure Prouvost examines the relationships between language, image and perception, placing the visitors in situations of doubt and incomprehension, but also a wonder which is both intellectual and sensorial. These situations become immersive installations, inviting escapism, in a dialogue between films, sculptures, paintings, tapestries, performances. Her exhibition at the Palais de Tokyo, “Ring, Sing and Drink for Trespassing”, at the heart of this monograph, operates as an ode to diagonal lines, the transcending of limits and the joy of slipping over a fence to discover a wasteland or, a now-abandoned garden.
Published on the occasion of Laure Prouvost's solo exhibition “Ring, Sing and Drink for Trespassing” at the Palais de Tokyo, from June to September 2018.

Published in cooperation with Les presses du réel, this series of monographic books accompanies the Palais de Tokyo's exhibition program. Richly illustrated, with many views of the exhibition, accessible to all, each book will offer the reader an extended experience of the encounter with the artists' work. The artists' words will appear alongside original contributions by theoreticians, art critics, and curators, providing the reader with a deeper understanding of each artist's background and of the genesis of their project for the Palais de Tokyo. These books will allow the reader to follow the evolution of the artists' reflection on their work. Reproductions of artworks, preparatory documents, visual references, and studio views will bear witness to each step in the artist's process and accompany interviews and essays.

Daria de Beauvais is a curator at the Palais de Tokyo. She curated Laure Prouvost's solo show.

Karen Archey is Curator of Contemporary Art, Time-based Media at the Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam.

Emanuele Coccia is a lecturer at EHESS (Paris). He is the author of Sensible Life (2016), and Goods: Advertising, Urban Space and the Moral Law of the Image (2018). Forthcoming in English: The Life of Plants. A Metaphysics of Mixture. With Giorgio Agamben, he has edited an extensive anthology covering angels in Judaism, Christianity and Islam: Angeli. Giudaismo, Cristianesimo, Islam (2009).
Laure Prouvost was born in Justelieu (France) in 1961, before moving to London, where she studied at Central Saint Martin's College, then Goldsmith College. She now lives between London, Antwerp and a caravan in the Croatian desert.
Her work adopts the form of independent stories that intersect and answer to each other, in which fiction mixes with reality. These situations become immersive installations, inviting escapism, in a dialogue between films, sculptures, paintings, tapestries, performances or fragmentary tales, sometimes addressed directly at visitors. Generous and full of humour, her work examines the relationships between language, image and perception, placing the visitors in situations of doubt and incomprehension, but also a wonder which is both intellectual and sensorial.
The winner of the Max Mara Art Prize in 2011 and of the Turner Prize in 2013, appointed to represent France at the 58th Venice Biennale in 2019, Laure Prouvost has had numerous solo exhibitions around the world, in particular recently: Walker Art Center (Minneapolis, 2017), Pirelli Hangar Bicocca (Milan, 2016), Fahrenheit (Los Angeles, 2016) or Haus der Kunst (Munich, 2015); but also in France at the Consortium (Dijon, 2016) and the Musée de Rochechouart (2015). Among the recent group shows she has taken part in, mention can be made of the 13th Baltic Triennial (Vilnius, 2018), “Speak” at the Serpentine Gallery (London, 2017), “Practising habits of the day” at the ICA (Singapore, 2016) or “Hybridize or Disappear” at the National Museum of Contemporary Art - Museu do Chiado (Lisbon, 2015).

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Laure Prouvost [tous les titres]
Les presses du réel – domaine Art contemporain [tous les titres] – collection Palais de Tokyo (Paris) [tous les titres]
Laure Prouvost <!---->
Edité par Frédéric Grossi.
Textes de Karen Archey et Emanuele Coccia, entretien avec Laure Prouvost par Daria de Beauvais.

Conception graphique : Helmo.
paru en juillet 2018
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
16 x 24 cm (broché)
96 pages (ill.)
17.00 €
ISBN : 978-2-37896-022-3
EAN : 9782378960223
en stock
 
Nouvelle monographie, s'inscrivant dans la collection publiée avec Les presses du réel en lien avec les expositions du Palais de Tokyo, avec des vues d'exposition et une sélection d'œuvres emblématiques, un entretien, un essai et un ensemble de notices.
Généreux et plein d'humour, le travail de Laure Prouvost examine les relations entre langage, image et perception, plaçant le visiteur dans des situations de doute et d'incompréhension, mais aussi d'émerveillement intellectuel et sensoriel. Ces situations deviennent des installations immersives qui invitent à l'évasion et dans lesquelles dialoguent films, sculptures, peintures, tapisseries, performances. Son exposition au Palais de Tokyo, « Ring, Sing and Drink for Trespassing », à l'occasion de laquelle cette monographie paraît, est une ode aux chemins de traverse et au dépassement des limites, à la joie de se faufiler à travers un grillage pour découvrir un terrain vague ou un jardin aujourd'hui abandonné.
Publié à l'occasion de l'exposition personnelle de Laure Prouvost « Ring, Sing and Drink for Trespassing » au Palais de Tokyo, du 22 juin au 9 septembre 2018.

Coéditée avec Les presses du réel, la collection de livres monographiques dans laquelle s'inscrit cet ouvrage est publiée en lien avec les expositions du Palais de Tokyo. Richement illustrés, comprenant de nombreuses vues de l'exposition, accessibles à tous, ces livres permettent de poursuivre l'expérience de la rencontre avec l'œuvre de l'artiste. Les propos des artistes, les contributions inédites de théoriciens, de critiques d'art et de commissaires d'expositions permettent de mieux comprendre le parcours de chaque artiste et la genèse de son projet au Palais de Tokyo. Le lecteur peut ainsi assister au cheminement d'une pensée. Des vues d'atelier, reproductions d'œuvres, documents préparatoires et images de référence témoignent des processus créateurs et complètent entretiens et essais.

Daria de Beauvais est commissaire d'exposition au Palais de Tokyo. Elle est commissaire de l'exposition personnelle de Laure Prouvost.

Karen Archey est Conservatrice d'art contemporaine, chargée des « time-based media » au Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam.

Emanuele Coccia est maître de conférence à l'EHESS (Paris). Il est l'auteur de La Vie sensible (2010), Le Bien dans les choses (2013) et La Vie des plantes. Une métaphysique du mélange (2016). Avec Giorgio Agamben, il a édité une vaste anthologie sur les anges dans le judaïsme, le christianisme et l'Islam : Angeli, Giudaismo, Cristianesimo, Islam (2009).
Laure Prouvost est née à Justelieu (France) en 1961, avant de s'installer à Londres où elle étudie au Central Saint Martins College puis au Goldsmith College. Elle vit aujourd'hui entre Londres, Anvers et une caravane dans le désert croate.
Son œuvre prend la forme d'histoires indépendantes qui se recoupent et se répondent, où la fiction se mêle à la réalité. Ces situations deviennent des installations immersives qui invitent à l'évasion et dans lesquelles dialoguent films, sculptures, peintures, tapisseries, performances ou fragments de récits, parfois adressés directement au visiteur. Généreux et plein d'humour, son travail examine les relations entre langage, image et perception, plaçant le visiteur dans des situations de doute et d'incompréhension, mais aussi d'émerveillement, tant intellectuel que sensoriel.
Lauréate du Max Mara Art Prize en 2011, premier artiste français à remporter le prestigieux Turner Prize en 2013, Laure Prouvost a été désignée pour représenter la France à la 58e Biennale internationale d'art contemporain de Venise en 2019. Elle a bénéficié de nombreuses expositions personnelles à l'international, notamment au Walker Art Center (Minneapolis, 2017), au Pirelli Hangar Bicocca (Milan, 2016), à Fahrenheit (Los Angeles, 2016) ou à la Haus der Kunst (Munich, 2015), mais aussi en France au Consortium (Dijon, 2016) et au musée de Rochechouart (2015). Parmi les expositions collectives récentes auxquelles elle a participé, on peut citer la 13e Biennale de la Baltique (Vilnius, 2018), « Speak » à la Serpentine Gallery (Londres, 2017), « Practising habits of the day » à l'ICA (Singapour, 2016) ou « Hybridize or Disappear » au National Museum of Contemporary Art - Museu do Chiado (Lisbonne, 2015).