english version / version française
Kapwani Kiwanga [see all titles]
Captures [see all titles] Digressions (interviews) [see all titles]
Kapwani Kiwanga <!---->
Interview with Kapwani Kiwanga by Corinna Ewald, Smaranda Olcèse, Julie Pellegrin.

Graphic design: Claire Moreux.
published in June 2017
bilingual edition (English / French)
13,5 x 21,5 cm (softcover) + postcard
32 pages (1 color ill.)
€6.00
ISBN: 978-2-9558778-1-4
EAN: 9782955877814
in stock
 
An in-depth exploration of the Canadian artist's anthropology-based research method in the form of a conversation with Corinna Ewald, Smaranda Olcèse, and Julie Pellegrin (inaugural title of the “Digressions” series initiated by La Ferme du Buisson in collaboration with Captures editions).
Digressions is a series of conversations with artists. Initiated by La Ferme du Buisson Centre for Contemporary Art in association with Captures editions, the series accompanies the art centre's exhibition programme.  Taking as their starting point a group discussion, these publications offer an insight into the thinking, the references, the methods—and sometimes the meanderings—that fuel a creative process.

Published following the exhibition “Ujamaa” at the Ferme du Buisson, Marne-la-Vallée, from April 24 to October 9, 2016.

Corinna Ewald is in charge of media relations at the Ferme du Buisson.

Smaranda Olcèse is an art critic who also makes videos covering the performing arts and contemporary arts exhibitions.

Julie Pellegrin is the director of the Ferme du Buisson Centre for Contemporary Art.
In her most recent works Kapwani Kiwanga (born 1978 in Hamilton, Ontario, lives and works in Paris) appears like a scientist, mobilizing her knowledge in social sciences to develop research projects. Following a singular methodology, she creates specific protocols she uses like filters to observe specificities and capacity to change of cultures; the result can take the form of installations, videos or happenings.
Kapwani Kiwanga studied anthropology and comparative religion at McGill University (Montreal, CA). She has followed the program “La Seine” at the Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts de Paris, and also works at Le Fresnoy (a french national center for contemporary art). She was artist in residence at the MU Foundation in Eindhoven (NL) and at the Box in Bourges (FR).
Kapwani Kiwanga's works have been already exhibited in Centre Georges Pompidou (FR), the Glasgow Center of Contemporary Art (UK), the Museum of Modern art de Dublin (IE), the Bienal Internacional de Arte Contemporáneo de Almeria (ES), Salt Beyoglu in Istanbul (TK), the South London Gallery (UK), the Jeu de Paume in Paris (FR), the Kassel Documentary Film Festival (DE), the Kaleidoscope Arena Rome (IT) and at Paris Photo (FR).
Kapwani Kiwanga has been nominated as commissioned artist by The Armory Show, where a solo show is devoted to her work in 2016. Twice nominated for BAFTA, her movies have been rewarded in several international festivals.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Kapwani Kiwanga [tous les titres]
Captures [tous les titres] Digressions (entretiens) [tous les titres]
Kapwani Kiwanga <!---->
Entretien avec Kapwani Kiwanga par Corinna Ewald, Smaranda Olcèse, Julie Pellegrin.

Conception graphique : Claire Moreux.
paru en juin 2017
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
13,5 x 21,5 cm (broché) + carte postale
32 pages (1 ill. coul.)
6.00 €
ISBN : 978-2-9558778-1-4
EAN : 9782955877814
en stock
 
Titre inaugural de la collection « Digressions » initiée par la Ferme du Buisson en collaboration avec les éditions Captures, ce livre d'entretien avec l'artiste canadienne revient en profondeur sur sa méthodologie de recherche héritée de l'anthropologie, ainsi que sur les œuvres présentées lors de l'exposition « Ujamaa ». Entretien mené par Corinna Ewald, Smaranda Olcèse et Julie Pellegrin.
Initiée par la Ferme du Buisson en collaboration avec les éditions Captures, Digressions est une collection d'entretiens d'artistes qui accompagne la programmation du Centre d'art. En offrant un détour par une discussion à plusieurs voix, ces carnets rendent visibles les réflexions, les références, les méthodes, et parfois les divagations qui nourrissent un processus de travail.

Publié suite à l'exposition « Ujamaa » à la Ferme du Buisson, Marne-la-Vallée, du 24 avril au 9 octobre 2016.

Corinna Ewald est chargée de communication de la Ferme du Buisson.

Smaranda Olcèse est critique d'art. Elle réalise des reportages vidéo sur des spectacles et des expositions d'art contemporain.

Julie Pellegrin est directrice du Centre d'art contemporain de la Ferme du Buisson.
Dans ses travaux les plus récents, Kapwani Kiwanga (née en 1978 à Hamilton, Ontario, vit et travaille à Paris) met à profit sa formation dans le champ des sciences sociales afin d'élaborer des projets de recherches singuliers dans lesquels elle incarne le rôle d'un chercheur. Sa méthode consiste à créer des systèmes et des protocoles qui agissent comme des filtres au travers desquels elle observe les cultures et leurs capacité de mutation.
Ses projets donnent lieu à des installations, des vidéos, des œuvres sonores ou des performances. De manière générale, sa pratique interroge des notions telles que l'Afro-futurisme, les luttes anticoloniales et leur mémoire, ainsi que les cultures populaires et vernaculaires.
Kapwani Kiwanga a fait des études d'Anthropologie et de Religions comparées à l'Université McGill (Montréal, Canada). Elle a suivi le programme « La Seine » à l'Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts de Paris, puis Le Fresnoy (Studio National d'Art Contemporain), France. Elle fut artiste en résidence à la MU foundation à Eindhoven, Pay-Bas et à la Box à Bourges, France.
Kapawni Kiwanga est nommée commissioned artist par The Armory Show, où elle présente en parallèle un solo show en 2016. Deux fois nominée aux BAFTA, ses films ont reçu plusieurs récompenses lors de festivals internationaux.
Les œuvres de Kapwani Kiwanga ont déjà été présentées au Centre Georges Pompidou (FR), au Glasgow Center of Contemporary Art (UK), au Museum of Modern art de Dublin (IE), à la Biennale internationale d'art contemporain d'Almeria (ES), Salt Beyoglu à Istanbul (TK), à la South London Gallery (UK), au Jeu de Paume à Paris (FR), au Kassel Documentary Film Festival (DE), au Kaleidoscope Arena Rome (IT) et à Paris Photo (FR).