summer break: we are closed until August 29 (orders will be processed in priority as soon as we are back)—many thanks for your patience!
les presses du réel

Coiled Verbal SpringDevices of Lenin's Language

 - Coiled Verbal Spring
Coiled Verbal Spring: Devices of Lenin's Language brings together the first English translation of the Russian Formalist and Futurist writings on Lenin's revolutionary language, one of the most interesting projects of political Formalism and avant-garde theory in the twentieth century.
The book includes the Russian Formalists' (Viktor Shklovsky, Boris Eikhenbaum, Yuri Tynyanov, Boris Tomashevsky, Lev Yakubinsky, and Boris Kazansky) most "political" texts, first published in 1924 in the journal of the Left Front of the Arts (edited by Mayakovsky). Together with this collection, the publication also includes Futurist poet Alexei Kruchenykh's Devices of Lenin's Speech, from 1925. Indispensable for any serious research dealing with the relationship between revolutionary politics and artistic forms, these writings had remained a marginal note, both in studies on avant-garde art, and in much literature on Formalist theory.
The publication is edited by Sezgin Boynik, who wrote an extensive introduction to the translations by contextualising the experiments of the Russian avant-garde through theories of conjuncture, or more precisely, the theory of contemporaneity within the revolutionary moment. Darko Suvin in his afterword discusses the actuality (and limits) of Lenin and Formalists in the shadow of never-ending warfare.
Edited and introduced by Sezgin Boynik.
Afterwords by Darko Suvin.
Translations from the Russian by Thomas Campbell and Mikko Viljanen.

Graphic design: Ott Kagovere.
 
published in November 2018
English edition
14 x 21 cm (softcover)
368 pages
 
17.00
 
ISBN : 978-952-94-1138-2
EAN : 9789529411382
 
in stock


 top of page

fermeture estivale & interruption des expéditions jusqu'au 29 août (les commandes seront traitées en priorité dès notre retour – merci pour votre patience !)
les presses du réel

Coiled Verbal SpringDevices of Lenin's Language

 - Coiled Verbal Spring
La première traduction anglaise des écrits formalistes et futuristes russes sur le langage révolutionnaire de Lénine, document essentiel sur le formalisme politique et les théories d'avant-garde au XXe siècle.
Le livre comprend les textes les plus « politiques » des formalistes russes (Viktor Shklovsky, Boris Eikhenbaum, Yuri Tynyanov, Boris Tomashevsky, Lev Yakubinsky et Boris Kazansky), publiés pour la première fois en 1924 dans le journal du Front de gauche des arts (édité par Mayakovsky). Outre ce recueil, la publication comprend également les Devices of Lenin's Speech (1925) du poète futuriste Alexei Kruchenykh. Indispensables pour toute recherche sérieuse traitant de la relation entre la politique révolutionnaire et les formes artistiques, ces écrits étaient restés marginaux, tant dans les études sur l'art d'avant-garde que dans une grande partie de la littérature sur la théorie formaliste.
La publication est éditée par Sezgin Boynik, qui a rédigé une introduction détaillée aux traductions en contextualisant les expériences de l'avant-garde russe à travers les théories de la conjoncture, ou plus précisément, la théorie de la contemporanéité au sein du moment révolutionnaire. Dans sa postface, Darko Suvin discute de l'actualité (et des limites) de Lénine et des formalistes dans l'ombre de la guerre perpétuelle.
Edité et introduit par Sezgin Boynik.
Postface de Darko Suvin.
Traductions du russe par Thomas Campbell et Mikko Viljanen.

Conception graphique : Ott Kagovere.
 
paru en novembre 2018
édition anglaise
14 x 21 cm (broché)
368 pages
 
17.00
 
ISBN : 978-952-94-1138-2
EAN : 9789529411382
 
en stock
Coiled Verbal Spring Coiled Verbal Spring Coiled Verbal Spring Coiled Verbal Spring


 haut de page