les presses du réel

Sound American #27 – The Life Issue

 - Sound American #27
Sound American Publications' 27th issue, The Life Issue, proposes a reflection upon the smallness—and largeness—of living amidst a tumultuous, globally-shared moment.
The Life Issue contributors include Claire Rousay, who writes about the many cuts accumulated while learning something new; pedal steel superhero Susan Alcorn recounts a battle with injury; composer Jack Langdon offers Sound American's second fiction offering, a story of how the pandemic affects a fictional musician, presenter, and listener; composer Lea Bertucci interviews improvising vocalist Audrey Chen about identity, commitment to music, and motherhood; bass clarinetist Katie Porter lets us in on a quarantine's worth of deep-questioning and the looping beauty of banality.
Sound American's ongoing series, "Sites of Formation", celebrates the piano, featuring writing by pianists Pat Thomas (on Ahmed Abdul-Malik) and Cory Smythe (on Henri Pousseur), as well as Dr. Douglas Rust on the Elliott Carter Piano Sonata and Sound American's editor, Nate Wooley on the Vangelis's keyboard-heavy soundtrack to Chariots of Fire. This issue also includes writing by saxophonist Chris Pitsiokos on NYC guerilla concerts during lockdown and a roundtable discussion from members of the Catalytic Sound collective—Ken Vandermark, Luke Stewart, and Bonnie Jones led by Brock Stuessi—on their work to create a streaming platform as an alternative to Spotify.
This issue's Exquisite Corpse is an elegant, nostalgic site-specific work by composer, flutist, vocalist Ka Baird. The Life Issue also features a world-premiere, sixteen-page set of drawings with introduction by Lebanese-born, Berlin-based artist Mazen Kerbaj. The drawings feature his intimate, aching, everyday trek through multiple shutdowns.
As we move on from a generation-defining year-and-a-half, The Life Issue allows some of the artists we love to speak intimately as people: people who happen to make art. Without requiring responses to the great traumas of the last eighteen months, the issues allows them to reaffirm their everyday humanity through the small injuries and victories, the days of nothing happening, and the ways that they try to fit in as small parts of a huge world. A unique issue of Sound American, it reaffirms the journal's mission of making music for everyone in new and unexpected ways.
A quarterly journal founded in 2012 by Nate Wooley, providing in-depth interviews and essays, Sound American starts from a simple desire to open the doors of experimental music to a wider audience. Sound American believes that music is for everyone and should be shared on the most basic human level. Sound American aims to accomplish this by creating a direct intellectual, social, and emotional bridge that links audiences and artists.
Advisory board: David Grubbs, Rebekah Heller, Taylor Ho Bynum, Zeena Parkins, Matana Roberts, and Ken Vandermark.
Sound American is also an editorial platform for other print or music projects.
Contributions by Pat Thomas, Cory Smythe, Mazen Kerbaj, Katie Porter, Susan Alcorn, Claire Rousay, Léa Bertucci/Audrey Chen, Jack Langdon, Douglas Rust, Chris Pitsiokos, Catalytic Sound (Ken Vandermark, Luke Stewart, Bonnie Jones), Ka Baird.
 
published in November 2021
English edition
15 x 22,5 cm (softcover)
154 pages (ill.)
 
15.00
 
ISBN : 978-1-733333-95-5
EAN : 9781733333955
 
in stock


 top of page

les presses du réel

Sound American n° 27 – The Life Issue

 - Sound American n° 27
Le 27e numéro de Sound American, sur le thème de la vie et de l'humanité quotidiennes dans la période troublée actuelle.
Parmi les contributeurs de The Life Issue, Claire Rousay évoque les affres de l'apprentissage ; la super-héroïne de la pedal steel Susan Alcorn raconte une bataille contre les blessures ; le compositeur Jack Langdon propose la deuxième fiction de Sound American, une histoire sur la façon dont la pandémie affecte un musicien, un présentateur et un auditeur fictifs ; la compositrice Lea Bertucci s'entretient avec la chanteuse improvisatrice Audrey Chen sur l'identité, l'engagement envers la musique et la maternité ; la clarinettiste Katie Porter nous parle d'une quarantaine de remises en question et de la beauté de la banalité.
La série en cours de Sound American, « Sites of Formation », célèbre le piano, avec des textes des pianistes Pat Thomas (sur Ahmed Abdul-Malik) et Cory Smythe (sur Henri Pousseur), ainsi que du Dr Douglas Rust sur la Sonate pour piano d'Elliott Carter et du rédacteur en chef de Sound American, Nate Wooley, sur la bande-son des Chariots de feu de Vangelis. Ce numéro comprend également un article du saxophoniste Chris Pitsiokos sur les concerts de guérilla à New York pendant le confinement et une table ronde des membres du collectif Catalytic Sound – Ken Vandermark, Luke Stewart et Bonnie Jones, dirigés par Brock Stuessi – sur leur travail de création d'une plateforme de streaming comme alternative à Spotify.
Le cadavre exquis de ce numéro est une œuvre in situ élégante et nostalgique de la compositrice, flûtiste et chanteuse Ka Baird. Le numéro présente également, en exclusivité, un ensemble de seize pages de dessins avec une introduction de l'artiste Mazen Kerbaj, né au Liban et installé à Berlin. Les dessins illustrent son voyage intime, douloureux et quotidien à travers de multiples arrêts de production.
Alors que nous sortons d'une année et demie qui a marqué une génération, The Life Issue permet à certains des artistes que nous aimons de s'exprimer intimement en tant que personnes : des personnes qui font de l'art. Sans exiger de réponses aux grands traumatismes des dix-huit derniers mois, ce numéro leur permet de réaffirmer leur humanité quotidienne à travers les petites blessures et les victoires, les jours où rien ne se passe et les façons dont ils essaient de s'intégrer en tant que petites parties d'un monde immense. Ce numéro de Sound American réaffirme la mission de la revue, qui consiste à faire de la musique pour tous, de manière nouvelle et inattendue.
Revue trimestrielle fondée en 2012 par Nate Wooley, proposant des entretiens et des essais approfondis, Sound American entend ouvrir les portes de la musique expérimentale à un public élargi – partant de la conviction que toute musique s'adresse au plus grand nombre –, en créant des passerelles intellectuelles, sociales et émotionnelles pour relier le public et les artistes.
David Grubbs, Rebekah Heller, Taylor Ho Bynum, Zeena Parkins, Matana Roberts et Ken Vandermark constituent le comité de lecture.
Sound American constitue également une plate-forme éditoriale pour d'autres projets imprimés ou musicaux.
Contributions de Pat Thomas, Cory Smythe, Mazen Kerbaj, Katie Porter, Susan Alcorn, Claire Rousay, Léa Bertucci/Audrey Chen, Jack Langdon, Douglas Rust, Chris Pitsiokos, Catalytic Sound (Ken Vandermark, Luke Stewart, Bonnie Jones), Ka Baird.
 
paru en novembre 2021
édition anglaise
15 x 22,5 cm (broché)
154 pages (ill.)
 
15.00
 
ISBN : 978-1-733333-95-5
EAN : 9781733333955
 
en stock


 haut de page