les presses du réel

Music is not language. Neither is it painting. Just music. (vinyl LP)

Conrad Schnitzler, Wolfgang Seidel - Music is not language. Neither is it painting. Just music. (vinyl LP)
A posthumous duo LP featuring text and music by Conrad Schnitzler, music by Wolfgang Seidel, and artwork by Matt Howarth.
Conrad Schnitzler and Wolfgang Seidel have been musical collaborators since the early 1970s when Seidel performed in Schnitzler's free-form group Eruption that had been founded as a successor to Kluster and featured a revolving cast of members. In the 1980s, they produced the duo albums Consequenz, Consequenz II and Con 3 where Seidel performed under his alias Wolf Sequenza.
Shortly before Schnitzler's death in 2011, he handed Seidel a hard disk of his archive including a huge collection of music originally recorded to CD-R, subdivided into "solos" and "mixes", where solos are building blocks to be blended with other solos in a performance, and mixes are recordings of such performances. One of those solos turned out to be a spoken-word CD-R, aptly titled "CONtext", where Schnitzler gives an account of his musical philosophy – in a performative lecture with a lot of humour. It is not known what he intended this recording for, but its unique character made it a natural choice for a building block of a new piece.
Instead of making a collage with other solos from Schnitzler's archive, Seidel decided to record his own music to accompany the text, inspired by the early-1970s Eruption recordings. The resulting 8-channel piece was mixed down to stereo for side A of this LP and features Schnitzler's voice and English text-to-speech subtitles for his non-German-speaking fans. Side B contains an instrumental posthumous duo for which Seidel used excerpts from Schnitzler's EMS synthesizer performance at the Gallery House in London in 1972.
The cover artwork was created by US comic artist Matt Howarth and features Con, a character from his Savage Henry comic book series who is a "German synthethist" and member of the premiere insect-rock group, the Bulldaggers.
"Any combination of sounds is just as valid as any other. Any means for the production of a group of sounds is just as valid as any other means. [...] Music is not what reaches our ear as a sound wave. It's not the sounds that are music, but what we've made out of them and what has been heard from them." (Conrad Schnitzler)
Edition of 300 with printed inner sleeve and insert containing a transcript of side A and liner notes.
Conrad Schnitzler (1937-2011) was a German musician, a major figure in the European experimental and electronic music scene since the late 1960s.
Wolfgang Seidel (born 1949) is a German drummer, founder of Populäre Mechanik.
 
published in September 2021
 
22.00
 
in stock


 top of page

les presses du réel

Music is not language. Neither is it painting. Just music. (vinyl LP)

Conrad Schnitzler, Wolfgang Seidel - Music is not language. Neither is it painting. Just music. (vinyl LP)
Un album posthume en duo avec des textes et des musiques de Conrad Schnitzler, des musiques de Wolfgang Seidel et des illustrations de Matt Howarth.
Conrad Schnitzler et Wolfgang Seidel sont des collaborateurs musicaux depuis le début des années 1970, lorsque Seidel jouait dans le groupe de musique libre de Schnitzler, Eruption, fondé pour succéder à Kluster et dont les membres se succédaient. Dans les années 1980, ils ont produit les albums en duo Consequenz, Consequenz II et Con 3, dans lesquels Seidel se produisait sous son pseudonyme Wolf Sequenza.
Peu avant sa mort en 2011, Schnitzler a remis à Seidel un disque dur de ses archives comprenant une énorme collection de musique enregistrée à l'origine sur CD-R, subdivisée en « solos«  et « mixes » , les solos étant des éléments de base à mélanger avec d'autres dans une performance, les mixes étant des enregistrements de ces performances. L'un de ces solos s'est avéré être un CD-R de mots parlés, intitulé à juste titre « CONtext« , dans lequel Schnitzler expose sa philosophie musicale, sous la forme d'une conférence performative pleine d'humour. On ne sait pas à quoi il destinait cet enregistrement, mais son caractère unique en faisait un choix naturel pour la construction d'une nouvelle pièce.
Au lieu de faire un collage avec d'autres solos provenant des archives de Schnitzler, Seidel a décidé d'enregistrer sa propre musique pour accompagner le texte, en s'inspirant des enregistrements d'Eruption du début des années 1970. La pièce à 8 canaux qui en résulte a été mixée en stéréo pour la face A de ce LP et comporte la voix de Schnitzler et des sous-titres en anglais pour les non germanophones. La face B contient un duo instrumental posthume pour lequel Seidel a utilisé des extraits de la performance au synthétiseur EMS de Schnitzler à la Gallery House de Londres en 1972.
L'illustration de la couverture a été créée par l'artiste de bande dessinée américain Matt Howarth et met en scène Con, un personnage de sa série Savage Henry, membre du premier groupe d'insecte-rock, les Bulldaggers.
Edition de 300 exemplaires avec pochette intérieure imprimée et insert contenant une transcription de la face A et des notes.
Conrad Schnitzler (1937-2011) est un musicien allemand, figure majeure de la scène musicale expérimentale et électronique européenne depuis la fin des années 1960, l'un des fondateurs du mouvement « krautrock » avec le groupe Kluster (avec Hans-Joachim Roedelius et Dieter Moebius) et l'un des fondateurs de la seconde formation de Tangerine Dream.
Wolfgang Seidel (née en 1949) est un batteur allemand, fondateur du groupe Populäre Mechanik.
 
paru en septembre 2021
 
22.00
 
en stock


 haut de page