les presses du réel

Untranslatable Terms of Cultural PracticesShared Vocabulary

 - Untranslatable Terms of Cultural Practices
A collective reflection on the richness of the untranslatable.
The publication  Untranslatable Terms of Cultural Practices is published on the occasion of the 30th anniversary of the international and transdisciplinary artist residency Akademie Schloss Solitude. The publication brings together 22 contributions by authors from the international network of Akademie Schloss Solitude.
Untranslatable proposes a new vocabulary of terms that remain untranslated in their original language. These are words that convey cultural practices, attitudes and value systems and are explained from their respective language and word canon. Terms are presented that broaden perspectives, facilitate new perspectives, and thus enrich collective thinking as a global community. The Shared Vocabulary presents an expanded cultural and etymological understanding of the world and our cultural actions. This publication makes global knowledge systems visible and promotes the accessibility of valuable everyday practices.
For this purpose, this anthology brings together texts by former fellows of the Akademie, authors, thinkers, scientists, journalists, poets, and visual artists who are connected to cultural practices in different ways. Untranslatable Terms of Cultural Practices addresses pressing questions with which both artists and scientists alike are confronted: Which value systems are necessary to sustain our living conditions on this planet? What sort of collective wisdom and cultural practices can we learn from as a society? And how can we translate this knowledge into sustainable and peaceful action for a global community?
Edited by Elke aus dem Moore.
Introduction by Kübra Gümüşay.
Contributions by Faduma Abukar, Patrizia Bach, Regina Dürig, Mica Cabildo, Vinicius Jatobá, Simar Preet Kaur, Giuliana Kiersz, Dong Li, Edith Lázár, Alexander Manuiloff, Viktoria Morasch, Abukar Mursal, Haneen Naamneh, Enos Nyamor, Prasanna Oommen, Raqs Media Collective, Vipul Rikhi, Laura Romano, Cássio Diniz Santiago, Nishant Shah, Alkistis Thomidou, Natasha Tontey, Jérôme Toussaint, Wojtek Ziemilski.
 
published in June 2021
English edition
12 x 18,5 cm (softcover)
204 pages (ill.)
 
15.00
 
ISBN : 978-3-948212-55-1
EAN : 9783948212551
 
in stock


 top of page

les presses du réel

Untranslatable Terms of Cultural PracticesShared Vocabulary

 - Untranslatable Terms of Cultural Practices
Une réflexion collective sur la richesse de l'intraduisible.
Untranslatable Terms of Cultural Practices propose un nouveau vocabulaire de termes qui restent non traduits dans leur langue d'origine, des mots qui véhiculent des pratiques culturelles, des attitudes et des systèmes de valeurs qui ne prennent sens que par rapport à leur langue respective. Le vocabulaire ici rassemblé ouvre de nombreuses perspectives, dans le sens d'une compréhension culturelle et étymologique élargie du monde et de nos actions culturelles, faisant apparaître des systèmes de connaissances mondiaux aussi bien que des pratiques singulières quotidiennes.
Cette anthologie rassemble des textes d'anciens boursiers de l'Akademie, d'auteurs, de penseurs, de scientifiques, de journalistes, de poètes et d'artistes visuels diversement impliqués dans les pratiques culturelles. Untranslatable Terms of Cultural Practices aborde des questions pressantes auxquelles sont confrontés tant les artistes que les scientifiques : quels systèmes de valeurs sont nécessaires pour maintenir nos conditions de vie sur cette planète ? De quel type de sagesse collective et de pratiques culturelles pouvons-nous tirer des enseignements en tant que société ? Comment pouvons-nous traduire ces connaissances en actions durables et pacifiques pour une communauté mondiale ?
Edité par Elke aus dem Moore.
Introduction de Kübra Gümüşay.
Contributions de Faduma Abukar, Patrizia Bach, Regina Dürig, Mica Cabildo, Vinicius Jatobá, Simar Preet Kaur, Giuliana Kiersz, Dong Li, Edith Lázár, Alexander Manuiloff, Viktoria Morasch, Abukar Mursal, Haneen Naamneh, Enos Nyamor, Prasanna Oommen, Raqs Media Collective, Vipul Rikhi, Laura Romano, Cássio Diniz Santiago, Nishant Shah, Alkistis Thomidou, Natasha Tontey, Jérôme Toussaint, Wojtek Ziemilski.
 
2021 (parution prévue au 2e trimestre)
édition anglaise
204 pages (ill.)
 
15.00
 
ISBN : 978-3-948212-55-1
EAN : 9783948212551
 
à paraître


 haut de page