Due to the health situation, shipments are currently suspended. Orders are recorded and will be processed as soon as possible. Many thanks!
les presses du réel

RochechinardMémoire d'une maison-musée

 - Rochechinard
The extension and finalization of a commission given to the artist Eulàlia Valldosera by the members of the association Les amis de la maison de la Mémoire du Royans, a community museum that they founded in Rochechinard (Isère, France) in 1979.
These members audaciously summoned an artist to help them consolidate the methods of transmission specific to their museum whose originality rests on an oral dimension. It was also about establishing a double spatial relationship - circulation in the museum, links to the site – a timeline of objects from the past to those of today. The book Rochechinard, Memory of a house-museum, replaces the house-museum renewal project imagined by Eulàlia Valldosera in her 2011-2014 study that could not have been concretely applied.
The book is structured in three parts that engage the reader in three spaces three times. The first stage is that of the guided tour, which teaches us about the objects according to the principles of the “classic” museum catalogue, that is to say a set of notices ordered according to the themes addressed within the collection and in the museum spaces. For certain objects, an oral story, transcribed and recomposed for this occasion, replaces a traditional scientific commentary.
The catalogue with its specific graphic treatment, succeeds the space of imagination and research by the presentation of Avant la lumière, a film produced by the artist in 2015 concomitant with her proposal to convert the house-museum into a "centre of creation and production of memory” into the heart of which she proposed “a new ritual of gift and memory.” “Eulàlia Valldosera's response,” writes Valérie Cudel, “reinforced the principle of orality and affirmed the notion of house as a matrix of new investigations. She integrated the achievements, took care to respect the stakeholders and did the work."
The third stage of the book is a scientific approach: the creation of the memory house and questions from its volunteers meet questions from professionals in a network of community museums on a national scale. The texts realize a reflection based on this concrete example, "first in a long list of a cycle of an entire society" (Jean Guibal), initiated remotely and visually with the authors in Rochechinard in 2017. An augmented version of Bartomeu Marí's essay published on the occasion of Eulàlia Valldosera's retrospective exhibition Dependencias, Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofia, Madrid (2009), here translated into French, describes the artist's response and the questions it raises in the context of her work.
Eulàlia Valldosera (born 1963 in Vilafranca del Penedès, Spain) creates work that in her own words "demystifies the status of the artist as a unique creator." She sees herself "as a producer of meanings rather than a producer of 'works'.” Since the mid-1990s, Eulàlia Valldosera has exhibited in numerous international institutions and exhibitions including the Istanbul Biennial and Skoquerur Projekte Münster (1997); the Montreal Museum of Contemporary Art (1999); the Venice Biennale (2001), the São Paulo Biennial (2004); the Lyon Biennial (2011); the Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofia, Madrid (2009); Fundació Joan Miró, Barcelona (2013) and Museo Thyssen-Bornemisza, Madrid (2019).
Edited by Valérie Cudel.
Texts by Alain Derbier, Catherine Flament, Crystèle Burgard, Jean Guibal, Philippe Hanus, Bartomeu Mari, François Portet.

Graphic design: Claire Moreux.
 
published in March 2020
French edition
22 x 28 cm (softcover)
224 pages (color ill.)
 
27.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-9558778-9-0
EAN : 9782955877890
 
in stock


 top of page

En raison de la situation sanitaire, les expéditions sont actuellement interrompues. Les commandes sont bien entendu notées et seront traitées dès que possible. Merci !
les presses du réel

RochechinardMémoire d'une maison-musée

 - Rochechinard
Ouvrage constituant à la fois le prolongement et la finalisation d'une commande passée à l'artiste Eulàlia Valldosera par les membres de l'association Les amis de la maison de la Mémoire du Royans, musée de société fondé à Rochechinard (Isère) en 1979, dans le cadre de l'action « Nouveaux commanditaires » de la Fondation de France.
Ces derniers ont eu l'audace de convoquer une artiste dans le but de les aider à consolider les modalités de transmission propres à leur musée dont l'originalité repose sur la dimension orale. Il s'agissait aussi d'établir une double relation spatiale – circulation dans le musée, lien au site – et temporelle des objets du passé à ceux d'aujourd'hui. Rochechinard. Mémoire d'une maison-musée vient se substituer au projet de renouveau de la maison-musée de Rochechinard imaginé par Eulàlia Valldosera, son étude (2011-2014) n'ayant pu faire l'objet d'une application concrète.
L'ouvrage est structuré en trois parties qui engagent le lecteur dans trois espaces, trois temps. Le premier temps est celui de la visite guidée qui nous instruit sur les objets selon les principes du « classique » catalogue de musée, c'est-à-dire un ensemble de notices ordonnées en fonction des thèmes abordés dans la collection et dans les espaces. Pour certains objets, un récit oral, retranscrit et recomposé à cette occasion, se substitue au traditionnel commentaire scientifique.
Au catalogue avec son traitement graphique spécifique succède l'espace de l'imaginaire et de la recherche avec la présentation du film Avant la lumière (2015) réalisé par l'artiste concomitamment à sa proposition de conversion de la maison-musée en « centre de création et de production de la mémoire » au sein duquel elle proposait « un nouveau rituel du don et de la mémoire ». « La réponse d'Eulàlia Valldosera – écrit Valérie Cudel – renforçait le principe d'oralité et affirmait la notion de maison, matrice de nouvelles investigations. Elle intégrait les acquis, prenait soin de respecter les acteurs et faisait œuvre. »
Le troisième temps de l'ouvrage est celui de l'approche scientifique : la création de la maison de la mémoire et les interrogations de ses bénévoles rejoignent les questionnements des acteurs d'un réseau de musées de société et d'écomusées à l'échelle nationale. Les textes rendent compte d'une réflexion sur la base de cet exemple concret, « premier d'une longue liste d'un cycle d'une société toute entière » (Jean Guibal), amorcée à distance et de visu, à Rochechinard en 2017, avec les auteurs. Une version augmentée, traduite en français à cette occasion, de l'essai de Bartomeu Marí publié lors de l'exposition rétrospective Eulàlia Valldosera. Dependencias au Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofia, à Madrid en 2009, resitue la réponse de l'artiste et les questions qu'elle soulève dans le contexte de son œuvre.
Eulàlia Valldosera (née en 1963 à Vilafranca del Penedès, Espagne) développe un travail qui selon ses propres mots « démystifie le statut de l'artiste en tant que créateur unique », elle s'envisage « comme une productrice de significations plutôt que productrice d'œuvres ». Depuis le milieu des années 1990, Eulàlia Valldosera a exposé son travail dans de nombreuses institutions internationales parmi lesquelles : la Biennale d'Istanbul et Skulptur Projekte Münster (1997) ; le Musée d'art contemporain de Montréal (1999) ; la Biennale de Venise (2001), la Biennale de São Paulo (2004) et la Biennale de Lyon (2011) ; le Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofia, Madrid (2009) ; la Fundació Joan Miró, Barcelone (2013) et le Museo Thyssen-Bornemisza, Madrid (2019).
Edité par Valérie Cudel.
Textes de Alain Derbier, Catherine Flament, Crystèle Burgard, Jean Guibal, Philippe Hanus, Bartomeu Mari, François Portet.

Conception graphique : Claire Moreux.
 
paru en mars 2020
édition française
22 x 28 cm (broché)
224 pages (ill. coul.)
 
27.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-9558778-9-0
EAN : 9782955877890
 
en stock
Rochechinard Rochechinard Rochechinard Rochechinard Rochechinard Rochechinard Rochechinard Rochechinard Rochechinard Rochechinard Rochechinard Rochechinard Rochechinard Rochechinard


 haut de page