les presses du réel

Blend the Horse! (book + CD)

The Snobs - Blend the Horse! (book + CD)
Blend The Horse! is a record of its time: Duck Feeling did some basic tracks on the electric guitar, synthesizer and drum machine that Mad Rabbit edited and shaped into song structures. Then both added various overdubs (samples, vocals, bass, scratch, etc). With six songs in forty-five minutes, Blend The Horse! adds new influences (Broadcast, Radiohead, Tropical Fuck Storm) and brings together opposites dear to The Snobs: electric and electronic, melodic and hypnotic, noisy and pop.
The Snobs was formed by brothers Mad Rabbit (singer, producer) and Duck Feeling (multi-instrumentalist) near Paris, France in the 2000s. They self-released a few albums before A Life Aglow (Bam Balam Records, 2018), a full-length record drawing influences from the psychedelic sixties (The Zombies, Pink Floyd), post-punk (Siouxsie & The Banshees, Wire) and krautrock (Can, Neu!).
In the 2010s, The Snobs worked with new-yorker poet Steve Dalachinsky (1946-2019). They recorded three collaborative albums and played about ten concerts together with a little help from Devil Sister and Fuzzy Weasel on stage. Their final record Pretty In The Morning(Bisou Records, 2019) was recorded live by all five artists.
Mad Rabbit makes short-movies influenced by Buster Keaton and American film noir, music videos and trippy screen projections for The Snobs' live performances.
Duck Feeling writes books (such as Bitches Brew ou le jazz psychédélique, David Bowie, l'avant-garde pop and Sonic Youth published by Le Mot et le Reste) and articles (in journals like Analyse Musicale, Impro Jazz and Volume!) about pop, rock and jazz. He also released a few solo albums.
 
published in December 2021
14 x 19 cm (softcover)
48 pages (ill.) + CD
 
18.00
 
ISBN : 979-10-96324-09-5
EAN : 9791096324095
 
in stock
Blend the Horse! (book + CD)
The Snobs: other titles




 top of page

les presses du réel

Blend the Horse! (livre + CD)

The Snobs - Blend the Horse! (livre + CD)
Blend The Horse! évite les écueils revivalistes : à partir des fondations jouées à la guitare électrique, au synthétiseur et à la boîte à rythmes par Duck Feeling, Mad Rabbit édite et arrange des structures de chansons sur lesquelles les deux musiciens ajoutent des overdubs variés (samples, voix, basse, scratch, etc). En six chansons convoquant des influences ouvertes (Broadcast, Radiohead, Tropical Fuck Storm), Blend The Horse! concilie les contraires chers à The Snobs : électrique et électronique, mélodique et hypnotique, bruitiste et pop
Frères à la ville comme à la scène, Mad Rabbit (chanteur et producteur) et Duck Feeling (multi-instrumentiste) forment The Snobs en Île-de-France dans les années 2000. Après quelques albums en autoproduction, ils publient A Life Aglow (Bam Balam Records, 2018) qui expose un style nourri aux sixties psychédéliques (The Zombies, Pink Floyd), au post-punk (Siouxsie & The Banshees, Wire) et au krautrock (Can, Neu!).
En parallèle de leur carrière en duo, The Snobs collaborent avec le poète new-yorkais Steve Dalachinsky (1946-2019) en studio et concert. Rejoints sur scène par Devil Sister et Fuzzy Weasel, ils composent et enregistrent à cinq Pretty In The Morning (Bisou Records, 2019), dernier volet d'une trilogie d'albums commencée en 2011 chez Bam Balam Records.
Mad Rabbit réalise des courts-métrages inspirés par Buster Keaton et le film noir américain, des clips et des projections psychédéliques qui accompagnent les concerts de The Snobs.
Duck Feeling écrit des essais sur la pop, le rock et le jazz (notamment Bitches Brew ou le jazz psychédélique, David Bowie, l'avant-garde pop et Sonic Youth aux éditions Le Mot et le Reste) et signe des articles pour les revues Analyse Musicale, Impro Jazz ou Volume! ; il produit également des albums en solo.
 
paru en décembre 2021
14 x 19 cm (broché)
48 pages (ill.) + CD
 
18.00
 
ISBN : 979-10-96324-09-5
EAN : 9791096324095
 
en stock
Blend the Horse! (livre + CD)
The Snobs : autres titres




 haut de page