Despite the lockdown measures in France, the distribution is still active so all titles remain available. Many thanks for your support!

Brandon LaBelle

 
Brandon LaBelle is a musician, artist, writer, theorist, curator and editor (founder of Errant Bodies). His work is based on performance, sound installation, recording and use of found sounds. LaBelle reflects fluently on his artistic practice, drawing attention to the social dimensions of listening and manner in which sounds, in multiple variations, play upon public spaces, and drawing connections across media and incorporate video, as well as architectural and sculptural vocabularies into an expanded field that embraces rhetorical and spatial challenges.

(external link : brandonlabelle.net)
 
Brandon LaBelle - The Other Citizen
2020
English edition
Errant Bodies - Errant Edition
Drawing upon traditions of socially engaged poetics, Brandon LaBelle's The Other Citizen presents narratives of contemporary crisis and exclusionary politics—from American teenagers in the maze of neoliberal privatization to those caught between borders of nation-states—outlining the force of a planetary citizenry.
Brandon LaBelle - The Human Strike (CD)
2018
Errant Bodies - Records (CDs / DVDs)
This recording stems from a collaborative sound experimentation developed as part of a project to create new forms for artistic research within the university. Invited artists, musicians, and researchers produced a series of sound actions focusing on questions of community, creative resistances, sonic agency and the créolité passing between Haiti and Quebec.
Brandon LaBelle - Overhearing and Interrupting (+ CD)
2016
English edition
Les presses du réel – Music & Sound Arts – Misceallenous
Errant Bodies
Organised in 8 “episodes,” Brandon LaBelle's reference monograph guides us through a number of his installation works and scripts from 2003 to 2014, raising questions of space and community, and further, to the direction of the social and its political potential. Three essays and an interview, as well as the recording on CD of a recent live performance, complete the book.
Brandon LaBelle - Room Tone
2015
English edition
Errant Bodies - Audio Issues
The publication documents a project developed by artist Brandon LaBelle which attempts to instigate conversations between sound and architecture through a set of audio recordings of the artist's apartment in Berlin.
Brandon LaBelle - Diary of an Imaginary Egyptian
2012
English edition
Errant Bodies - Doormats
Brandon LaBelle's revolutionary diary during the Arab Spring.
Brandon LaBelle - The Sonic Body - Figures 1-12 (CD)
2011
Errant Bodies - Records (CDs / DVDs)
A collection of the audible traces of dancing bodies (audio CD with booklet).
Brandon LaBelle - Lecture on Nothing (CD)
2011
Errant Bodies - Records (CDs / DVDs)
A recording of John Cage's original text as read by a deaf individual (audio CD with booklet).
Brandon LaBelle - Dirty Ear (CD)
2008
Errant Bodies - Records (CDs / DVDs)
Dirty field recordings, found sounds, sound effects, archives, and sonorous dramas, composed as a series of micro-narratives each designed to intervene onto imagined settings or spatial locations, as a counter-sonorities.
Brandon LaBelle - Live Bootleg (+ CD)
2008
bilingual edition (English / French)
Les presses du réel – Music & Sound Arts – Ohcetecho (sound arts)
An overview of sound installations and environments by the experimental artist-musician, with three essays and an interview, a specific project, installations views and performances on audio CD.
Brandon LaBelle - Radio Memory (+ CD)
2008
English edition
Errant Bodies - Audio Issues
A project based on archiving people's memories connected to specific songs and radio broadcasts. Includes over 100 memories from around the globe, along with contributions by curators and theorists Bastien Gallet and Carmen Cebreros Urzaiz, and an audio CD of related work by the artist.
Brandon LaBelle - Site Specific Sound (+ CD)
2004
English edition
Errant Bodies - Critical Ear (monographs)
sold out
Site Specific Sound documents a series of sound installations from 1998 to 2002 by sound-artist and writer Brandon LaBelle, exploring the relationship between sound and space.


 top of page

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Brandon LaBelle
 
Brandon Labelle est musicien, artiste, écrivain, théoricien, commissaire d'exposition et éditeur (fondateur de Errant Bodies). Son travail, basé sur l'installation sonore, la performance, l'enregistrement, l'utilisation de sons recyclés et l'environnement dans lequel ils sont diffusés, nourrit une réflexion théorique sur les dimensions sociales de l'écoute et sur la manière dont le son, en de multiples variations, agit sur l'espace public. Il établit des connections entre différents médias en introduisant du vocabulaire vidéo, architectural ou sculptural dans un champ plus large de problématiques rhétoriques et spatiales.
 
(lien externe : brandonlabelle.net)
 

 
2016
édition anglaise
Les presses du réel – Arts de la scène & arts sonores
Articulée en huit « épisodes », cette monographie rend compte de toute l'étendue de la pratique artistique et musicale, autant que des investigations théoriques, de Brandon LaBelle, figure essentielle des arts sonores, à travers une documentation complète sur les travaux réalisés sur plus de dix ans, interrogeant les dimensions sociales de l'écoute et les manières dont le son agit sur l'espace public (avec trois essais, un entretien et l'enregistrement d'une performance récente sur CD inclus).

2015
édition anglaise
Errant Bodies – Audio Issues
Cette publication rend compte d'un projet mené par Brandon LaBelle pour explorer la relation entre son et architecture, à travers un ensemble d'enregistrements sonores de l'appartement de l'artiste à Berlin. Ces enregistrements sont envoyés à des architectes, designers et artistes chargés de produire une modélisation de l'appartement en utilisant les sons comme seule information.

2012
édition anglaise
Errant Bodies – Doormats
Le journal révolutionnaire de l'artiste, musicien et écrivain pendant le Printemps arabe.

2011
Errant Bodies – CD / DVD
Une collection de traces sonores de corps en mouvement (CD audio accompagné d'un livret) : une exploration des relations entre son, corps et chorégraphie, avec une vingtaine de participants, danseurs, musiciens, artistes sonores, plasticiens, performers...

2011
Errant Bodies – CD / DVD
La lecture d'un texte de John Cage par un malentendant (CD audio accompagné d'un livret) : une réappropriation de la conception du silence par Cage comme signe musical à part entière et condition nécessaire à l'intégration du monde extérieur dans l'écoute musicale.

2008
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
Les presses du réel – Arts de la scène & arts sonores
Une vue d'ensemble des dispositifs sonores et des environnements de l'artiste-musicien expérimental, avec trois essais et un entretiens, un projet spécifique, les vues d'installations et les performances sur CD audio.

2008
édition anglaise
Errant Bodies – Audio Issues
Un projet autour de la radio et de la mémoire qu'elle transmet : 100 personnes du monde entier rapportent un souvenir radiophonique spécifique. Le livre catalogue ces memories et rassemble des textes de théoriciens et des images, avec un CD audio conçu par Brandon LaBelle.

2008
Errant Bodies – CD / DVD
Un disque produit à partir de field recordings, de sons récupérés, d'effets et d'archives sonores personnelles, composé comme une série de récits miniatures. Un projet d'abord artistique qui interroge l'objet et les conditions de l'écoute.

2004
édition anglaise
Errant Bodies – Critical Ear (monographies)
épuisé
Une série d'installations sonores conçues par le plasticien sonore et écrivain pour interroger les relations entre le son, l'espace architectural et le contexte social.