Empire
Faire magazine – To look at things
 
Faire is a bi-monthly magazine dedicated to graphic design, published from October to June, distributed each two months in the form of anthologies of three or four issues. Faire is aimed for undergraduate students as well as researchers and professionals, documenting contemporary and international practices of graphic design, along with the history and grammar of styles. Each issue focuses on a single subject, addressed by a renowned author.
 
Faire – To look at things - Artists Posters
2020
bilingual edition (English / French)
Empire
François Havegeer and Sacha Léopold (Syndicat) invited Aurélien Mole, Jérôme Dupeyrat, Mathias Augustyniak (M/M Paris) and Thierry Chancogne to express their views on art posters, artist posters, posters made by artists, posters made with artists, posters made for artists, and the occasional participation of graphic designers (special issue of the critical review dedicated to graphic design).
Faire – To look at things - Volume 06 (#19, 20, 21)
2020
bilingual edition (English / French)
Empire
Issues 19 to 21 of the critical review dedicated to graphic design.
Faire – To look at things - Volume 05 (#16, 17, 18)
2019
bilingual edition (English / French)
Empire
Issues 16 to 18 of the critical review dedicated to graphic design.
Faire – To look at things - Volume 04 (#13, 14, 15)
2018
bilingual edition (English / French)
Empire
Issues 13 to 15 of the critical review dedicated to graphic design. Compilation includes studies on Peter Bil'ak's essay on the exhibition of graphic design; the posters produced by M/M (Paris) for CDDB-Théâtre de Lorient; and the collaboration between studio Spassky Fischer and Marseille's MUCEM.
Faire – To look at things - Volume 03 (#10, 11, 12)
2018
bilingual edition (English / French)
Empire
Issues 10 to 12 of the critical review dedicated to graphic design, around Robert Brownjohn, Klaus Scherübel, Julia Born, Simon Starling et Poster of Girl, Revue Emmanuelle.
Faire – To look at things - Volume 02 (#5, 6, 7, 8)
2018
bilingual edition (English / French)
Empire
Issues 5 to 8 of the critical review dedicated to Graphic design. Compilation includes studies on the following subjects: an Instagram post by studio Experimental Jetset for the Paradiso cultural centre in Amsterdam; a series of gestures, from Harun Farocki to L'Architecture Aujourd'hui; the publication Parallel Encyclopedia by Batia Suter; Charles Mazé & Coline Sunier's residency at the Villa Médicis.
Faire – To look at things - Volume 01 (#1, 2, 3, 4)
2018
bilingual edition (English / French)
Empire
sold out
The first four issues of the critical review dedicated to the analysis of Graphic design, published by Empire books (studio Syndicat). Each publication documents a specific object, addressed by a renowned author: the Rouge-gorge series at Éditions Cent pages by S.P. Millot; the database colorlibrary.ch by studio Maximage; the monograph Recollected Work by Mevis & Van Deursen; and the invitation cards by the artist Stanley Brouwn.
filters:


 top of page

Fermeture des bureaux & interruption des expéditions du 7 au 23 août : les commandes reçues dans l'intervalle seront traitées à partir du 24. Merci pour votre patience !
Empire
revue Faire – Regarder le graphisme
 
Faire – Regarder le graphisme est une revue critique bimensuelle consacrée au design graphique, qui paraît en librairie tous les deux mois sous la forme de recueils de trois ou quatre numéros. Elle parait d'octobre à juin et s'adresse aussi bien aux étudiants qu'aux chercheurs et aux professionnels, en documentant les pratiques contemporaines et internationales du graphisme ainsi que l'histoire et la grammaire des styles. Chaque numéro propose un sujet unique et tentaculaire, traité par un auteur reconnu.
 
Faire – Regarder le graphisme - Artists Posters
2020
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
Empire
François Havegeer et Sacha Léopold (Syndicat) proposent à Aurélien Mole, Jérôme Dupeyrat, Mathias Augustyniak (M/M Paris) et Thierry Chancogne d'apporter leurs regards sur les posters d'art, les posters d'artistes, les affiches faites par des artistes, les affiches faites avec des artistes, les affiches faites pour des artistes, et les graphistes qui y participent parfois (numéro spécial de la revue critique consacrée au graphisme).
Faire – Regarder le graphisme - Volume 06 (n° 19, 20, 21)
2020
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
Empire
Les numéros 19 à 21 de la revue critique consacrée au graphisme.
Faire – Regarder le graphisme - Volume 05 (n° 16, 17, 18)
2019
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
Empire
Les numéros 16 à 18 (saison 2) de la revue critique consacrée au graphisme.
Faire – Regarder le graphisme - Volume 04 (n° 13, 14, 15)
2018
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
Empire
Les numéros 13 à 15 de la revue critique consacrée au graphisme prennent pour sujet un essai du graphiste Peter Bil'ak sur l'exposition du design graphique, les affiches de M/M (Paris) pour le compte du CDDB-Théâtre de Lorient et la collaboration entre le studio Spassky Fischer et le MUCEM.
Faire – Regarder le graphisme - Volume 03 (n° 10, 11, 12)
2018
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
Empire
Les numéros 10 à 12 de la revue de design graphique, autour de Robert Brownjohn, Klaus Scherübel, Julia Born, Simon Starling et Poster of Girl, Revue Emmanuelle.
Faire – Regarder le graphisme - Volume 02 (n° 5, 6, 7, 8)
2018
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
Empire
Les numéros 5 à 8 de la revue de design graphique. Le recueil regroupe des études sur les sujets suivants : un post Instagram du studio Experimental Jetset pour le centre culturel amstellodamois Paradiso ; une suite de gestes, de Harun Farocki à L'Architecture Aujourd'hui ; l'ouvrage Parallel Encyclopedia de Batia Suter ; la résidence de Charles Mazé & Coline Sunier à la Villa Médicis.
Faire – Regarder le graphisme - Volume 01 (n° 1, 2, 3, 4)
2018
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
Empire
épuisé
Le recueil des quatre premiers numéros de la revue critique consacrée au design graphique, publiée par les éditions Empire (studio Syndicat). Chaque parution s'intéresse à un objet spécifique, traité par un auteur reconnu : la collection Rouge-gorge aux éditions Cent pages par SpMillot ; la base de données colorlibrary.ch du studio Maximage ; la monographie Recollected Work par Mevis & Van Deursen et les cartons d'invitation de l'artiste Stanley Brouwn.
filtres :


 haut de page