les presses du réel

Fear Drop #17 – Arctic Antiphon – Imaginary Ice Soundscapes (+ CD)

 - Fear Drop #17
Fear Drop #17 is dedicated to glacial sounds, between field-recording and music: interviews with Thomas Köner, Jana Winderen, Alessandro Tedeschi; evocation music: T. Köner, K.Schulze, Troum / A. Baker, J. Hudak et S. Mathieu, L. English, Øe & E. Coniglio, Materia Aurora, SleepResearchFacility, L. Marchetti, Tünel, M. Mantra, Penumbra, Lull, Biosphere, Galati, Parhelion, Netherworld, Glacial Movements (Bvdub, Oöphoi, Rapoon…) ; exploratory music: J. Winderen, M. Namblard, D. Quin, J.F. Laporte, C. Olan; 55 historical recordings of Inuit music.
Included, a 10 track CD with Coil, :Zoviet*France:, O Yuki Conjugate, Kodak Strophes (Martyn Bates), Marc Namblard, Lawrence English, Maninkari, Francisco López, Michael Begg, Steven Wilson, Toy Bizarre, Yannick Dauby, Jana Winderen, Thierry Weyd.
Fear Drop is a French paper journal (with an online supplement) founded by Denis Boyer in 1993, devoted to various forms of musical experimentation, mostly located in the grey zone, between abstraction and figuration, revolving around the reflection, description and translation of informal music. Each issue is accompanied by a CD compilation of previously unreleased tracks, most of which are composed for the occasion.
published in 2014
French edition
21 x 21 cm (softcover))
46 pages (ill.) + CD
sold out

 top of page