Maciunas Ensemble

Maciunas Ensemble was founded in 1968 by Dutch musicians and sound artists Paul Panhuysen, Remko Scha and Jan van Riet. It has existed ever since, though having gone through a number of membership changes until today. The group's intention was to realize the piece Music for Everyman by Fluxus initiator George Maciunas which they interpreted as allowing boundless freedom in the sounds being produced. The group met at a regular basis, usually improvising on a number of instruments that were at hand. Every session was recorded. Before playing, they listened to the recording of the previous session and discussed it. No rehearsing or fine-tuning of pre-conceived material took place. To the view of Paul Panhuysen, their method of making music is closely linked with the oral tradition of folk music.

See also Paul Panhuysen; Petra Dubach & Mario van Horrik.

(external link :
 Maciunas Ensemble - YoplaBoum + Permanent Wave (2 vinyl LP + CD)
Edition Telemark
Five rare pieces from the minimalist "rhythmic drone" period of the early 1980s of the ensemble founded by Paul Panhuysen, Remko Scha and Jan van Riet, reissued for the first time.
 Maciunas Ensemble - 1976 (vinyl LP)
Edition Telemark
sold out
This improvisational band founded in 1968 by Dutch musicians Paul Panhuysen, Remko Scha and Jan van Riet takes its source and inspiration from the works of George Maciunas. This LP edition features two pieces, both recorded on December 19, 1976, and never released before on any format. Here, the group comprised Leon van Noorden and Hans Schuurman, in addition to the founding members.

 top of page