english version / version française
Dialogue
Marcelline Delbecq & Ellie Ga [see all titles]
Shelter Press [see all titles] Books [see all titles]
 Marcelline Delbecq & Ellie Ga Dialogue
published in July 2017
bilingual edition (English / French)
14 x 20 cm (softcover)
32 pages (b/w & color ill.)
€7.00
ISBN: 978-2-36582-021-9
EAN: 9782365820219
in stock
 
Taking as their starting point Susan Sontag's book On Photography (1977), Marcelline Delbecq and Ellie Ga embarked on a long-term words-and-images dialogue addressing films, books and artworks that have marked their individual trajectories, together with historical events related (or not) to the year 1977.
After studying photography, art and art criticism, Marcelline Delbecq gradually moved away from the image as such and now concentrates on writing. Ellie Ga practices a blend of narrative genres—memoirs and travel diaries—that pushes back the boundaries of photographic documentation.
Taking as their starting point Susan Sontag's book On Photography (1977), Marcelline Delbecq and Ellie Ga embarked on a long-term words-and-images dialogue addressing films, books and artworks that have marked their individual trajectories, together with historical events related (or not) to the year 1977.
A compelling consideration of the way images circulate, this “personal, shared museum” will be up for reading and watching with the publication of Dialogue, out now on Shelter Press.
After studying photography in Chicago (Columbia College) and New York (ICP), Marcelline Delbecq (born 1977, lives and works in Paris) graduated from the Beaux-Arts school in Caen (France), then received a masters degree in curatorial studies from Université de Paris X-Nanterre. She was in residency at Pavillon in Palais de Tokyo in 2005 and was the French resident at Triangle in Brooklyn in 2007-2008.
She has gradually moved away from photography to focus on the cinematic and photographic potential of writing through installations, films, readings and publications. She uses both narrative and narrator (the voice) to create an uncanny world where texts, turned into sound, generate mental images shifting from description to fiction, from past to present, documentary to fiction. question.
(external link: www.marcellinedelbecq.net)

Ellie Ga (born 1976 in New York, lives and works in London) practices a blend of narrative genres—memoirs and travel diaries—that pushes back the boundaries of photographic documentation. She is the co-founder of Ugly Duckling Presse.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Dialogue
Marcelline Delbecq & Ellie Ga [tous les titres]
Shelter Press [tous les titres] Livres [tous les titres]
 Marcelline Delbecq & Ellie Ga Dialogue
paru en juillet 2017
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
14 x 20 cm (broché)
32 pages (ill. coul. et n&b)
7.00 €
ISBN : 978-2-36582-021-9
EAN : 9782365820219
en stock
 
Prenant comme point de départ le livre On Photography de Susan Sontag paru en 1977, Marcelline Delbecq et Ellie Ga ont entamé un dialogue au long cours, en images et en mots. Les deux artistes y abordent aussi bien des œuvres cinématographiques, littéraires ou artistiques marquantes dans leurs parcours que des événements historiques liés ou non à l'année 1977.
Après des études de photographie, d'art et de critique d'art, la pratique de Marcelline Delbecq s'est peu à peu éloignée de l'image en tant que telle pour se concentrer sur l'écriture. Ellie Ga mélange, elle, les genres narratifs – mémoires et carnet de voyage – afin de pousser les limites de la documentation photographique.
Prenant comme point de départ le livre On Photography de Susan Sontag paru en 1977, Marcelline Delbecq et Ellie Ga ont entamé un dialogue au long cours, en images et en mots. Les deux artistes y abordent aussi bien des œuvres cinématographiques, littéraires ou artistiques marquantes dans leurs parcours que des événements historiques liés ou non à l'année 1977.
Ce « musée personnel et partagé » qui offre une puissante réflexion sur la circulation des images est donné à lire et à voir avec la parution de Dialogue, publié par Shelter Press.
Après avoir étudié la photographie à Chicago (Columbia College) puis à New York (ICP) de 1995 à 1997, Marcelline Delbecq (née en 1977, vit et travaille à Paris) a obtenu un DNESP aux Beaux-Arts (Caen, 1997-2002) puis un DESS Arts de l'exposition à l'Université Paris X-Nanterre (2002-2003) suivi d'une résidence au Pavillon (Palais de Tokyo, 2004-2005).
Son travail s'est peu à peu éloigné de la pratique de l'image pour se concentrer sur la potentialité cinématographique, ou photographique, de l'écriture. Son utilisation du récit, de la voix, a élaboré un univers narratif mis en mots et en sons pour convoquer un ensemble d'images mentales oscillant entre description et fiction, passé et présent. Dans ses installations sonores, publications et lectures en public, les mots mettent en jeux la question du regard en devenant à leur propre tour des images.
Du 22 janvier au 7 mars 2015 a eu lieu l'exposition « Silence trompeur » à la Fondation Ricard à Paris, exposition qu'elle considère comme étant sa dernière. Elle se consacre désormais essentiellement à l'écriture et au spectacle vivant, ainsi qu'à l'enseignement à l'Ecole Nationale Supérieure du Paysage de Versailles et au Paris College of Art.
(lien externe : www.marcellinedelbecq.net)

La pratique de l'artiste Ellie Ga (née en 1976 à New York, vit et travaille à Londres) explore les limites de la documentation photographique, à travers un travail sur les différents genres narratifs. Elle est la cofondatrice des éditions Ugly Duckling Presse.