Daniel Gustav Cramer & Haris Epaminonda

 
Daniel Gustav Cramer (born in 1975 in Neuss, Germany, lives and works in Berlin) often begins with a story or an image which evolves imperceptibly. Using series, fragmentation and ellipsis, he creates temporal interstices from one sequence to the next, in-between places which stimulate the imagination. He invites spectators to enter into these narrow openings and to locate their own detours. Daniel Gustav Cramer's works are not directive; they bury themselves in foggy decor stitching a labyrinth of little moments freed from beginning and end.
His work was shown in various exhibition venues including Kunsthaus, Glarus, Badischer Kunstverein in Karlsruhe and Kunsthalle Lisbon. In 2012 he also participated in DOCUMENTA 13 in Kassel.

Haris Epaminonda (born 1980 in Nicosia, Cyprus, lives and works in Berlin) uses video and film, collage, photography, books and objects in an extensive process of assembling and disassembling appropriated materials to reconstruct non-linear narratives. The artist works with found images from the past—sometimes faded travel photographs, or the pages of old nature magazines, ethnographic artifacts or footage from forgotten television programmes. Epaminonda then manipulates the images, cutting and layering, to create new works that feel wholly part of the present.
Haris Epaminonda's work has been presented in several solo exhibitions in some of the leading institutions for contemporary art such as the Museum of Modern Art, NY (2011); the Schirn Kunsthalle, Frankfurt, Germany (2011); Tate Modern, London (2010); and Malmö Konsthall, Sweden (2009). She has also been included in significant group exhibitions, like dOCUMENTA (13), Kassel in 2012, the 2nd Athens Biennale (2009) and the 5th Berlin Biennale (2008). Haris Epaminonda co-represented Cyprus at the Venice Biennale in 2007.

Since 2007, Daniel Gustav Cramer and Haris Epaminonda have been working in partnership on The Infinite Library, a project which has taken the form of books and an archive.

See also: Haris Epaminonda.

(external link : www.danielgustavcramer.com)
 
 Daniel Gustav Cramer & Haris Epaminonda - Early Summer / The End of Summer / Late Autumn
2014
English edition
Mousse - Mousse Publishing (books)
(last copies available!)
A monographic book presenting the cumulative result of a three-partite project by Daniel Gustav Cramer and Haris Epaminonda.


 top of page

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Daniel Gustav Cramer & Haris Epaminonda
 
Daniel Gustav Cramer (né en 1975 à Neuss, Allemagne, vit et travaille à Berlin) part souvent d'un récit ou d'une image qu'il fait évoluer imperceptiblement. Il a recours à la série, à la fragmentation, à l'ellipse. D'une séquence à l'autre, il crée des interstices temporels, des entre-deux propices à installer un espace imaginaire. Il invite le spectateur à s'infiltrer dans ces étroites ouvertures et à prendre ses propres chemins de traverse. Les œuvres de Daniel Gustav Cramer ne sont pas directives, elles se noient dans des décors brumeux et renvoient à des petits moments atemporels, affranchis de tout commencement et de toute fin.
Il a exposé notamment au Kunsthaus de Glarus, au Badischer Kunstverein de Karlsruhe, à la Kunsthalle de Lisbonne, à la Kunsthalle de Mulhouse et a participé à la dOCUMENTA 13 à Kassel (2012).

Haris Epaminonda (née en 1980 à Nicosie, Chypre, vit et travaille à Berlin) recourt à la vidéo et au film, au collage, à la photographie et à des matériaux prééxistants (pages de livres ou de magazines, vieilles photographies de voyage, objets ethnographiques, programmes de télévision oubliés, etc.), manipulés, détournés et réagencés, pour construire des récits non linéaires, mystérieux et polysémiques d'où naissent des images aux limites de l'abstraction et qui, bien qu'issues d'un passé lointain, appartiennent radicalement au temps présent.
Le travail d'Haris Epaminonda a fait l'objet de nombreuses expositions monographiques dans des institutions internationales : Museum of Modern Art, New York (2011) ; Schirn Kunsthalle, Franckfort (2011) ; Tate Modern, Londres (2010) ; Malmö Konsthall (2009). Co-représentante de Chypre à la Biennale de Venise en 2007, elle a notamment participé à dOCUMENTA (13), Kassel (2012), à la seconde Biennale d'Athènes (2009) et à la 5e Biennale de Berlin (2008).

Depuis 2007, Daniel Gustav Cramer et Haris Epaminonda développent en partenariat ensemble le projet The Infinite Library, sous la forme de livres et d'une archive en ligne.

Voir aussi : Haris Epaminonda.
 
(lien externe : www.danielgustavcramer.com)
 

 
2014
édition anglaise
Mousse – Mousse Publishing (livres)
momentanément indisponible
Un livre qui documente, prolonge et constitue l'aboutissement d'un triptyque d'expositions de Daniel Gustav Cramer et Haris Epaminonda, un vaste projet initialement basé sur le travail du cinéaste japonais Yasujiro Ozu.