les presses du réel

Notes, Recollections and Sequences of Things Seen

Raoul Ruiz - Notes, Recollections and Sequences of Things Seen
Ruiz's Diary, a nomadic mirror of the filmmaker between 1990 and 2011, is a meditation on cinema and method, corresponding to a new stage in his life and career, characterized by more ambitious productions but also marked by a disillusionment with the evolution of cinema.
This volume gathers excerpts from the diary of celebrated Chilean experimental film director Raul Ruiz. A continuation of Poetics of Cinema 1 and Poetics of Cinema 2—his seminal volumes on new narrative modes—Notes, Recollections and Sequences of Things Seen follows the late stage of Ruiz's career, from 1990 to 2011, in which he realized more ambitious productions. These new films generated significant economic and aesthetic challenges, and he observed the increasing distance between his dream of a handmade, nonindustrial, shamanic-inspired cinema—as set out in the Poetics of Cinema—and his reality.
Selected by Bruno Cueno and Erik Bullot, friends of Ruiz, the writings also express the filmmaker's pragmatic side, such as his prescriptions for implementing the theoretical concepts outlined in Poetics. A preface by Bullot and notes by Cuneo contextualize the excerpts.
Raoul Ruiz (1941–2011) was an experimental Chilean filmmaker, writer, teacher and theater director. A key figure of the New Latin American Cinema, politically engaged, he was forced to exile after Pinochet's coup d'etat in 1973. His work features over 100 films such as Tres tristes tigres (1968), Palomita blanca (1973), Dark at Noon (1992) starring John Hurt, Three Lives and Only One Death (1996) starring Marcello Mastroianni, Genealogies of a Crime (1997) starring Catherine Deneuve, Time Regained (1999) and Klimt (2006) starring John Malkovich, and Mysteries of Lisbon (2010).
Edited by Bruno Cuneo and Érik Bullot.
Notes by Bruno Cuneo.
Foreword by Érik Bullot.
Translated from the Spanish (Chili) by Jean-Philippe Cazier.
published in August 2022
English edition
15 x 21,5 cm (softcover)
112 pages
ISBN : 978-2-38162-006-0
EAN : 9782381620060
in stock
topicsRaoul Ruiz: other titles

Raoul Ruiz: also present in

related to

 top of page