les presses du réel

Reflected Waves (book / DVD)

Jean-Luc Guionnet, Éric La Casa - Reflected Waves (book / DVD)
This publication documents the making of a sound mapping project of the city of Melbourne by musicians and artists Jean-Luc Guionnet and Eric La Casa.
In 2005, Jean-Luc Guionnet and Eric La Casa were invited by the Festival Liquid Architecture to lead a topographical and sound research on Melbourne, Australia. The artists sound mapped the city's four cardinal points as well as the Central Business District to work with the landscape's reflected waves. The result was shown at West Space Gallery in the form of an audiovisual installation. This edition offers a complete description of the process as well as an analysis of the recordings and mixing protocols.
Born 1966 in Lyon, Jean-Luc Guionnet is a French saxophonist and organist, a visual artist, a performer, and an electroacoustic composer. Jean-Luc Guionnet studied visual arts and electroacoustic music with Christine Groult, Michel Zbar and Iannis Xénakis. A multi-instrumentalist (alto & soprano saxophone, organ, piano), he has improvised and experimented in the field of electroacoustic music with Eric La Casa, Eric Cordier, Pascal Battus, Edward Perraud, Frédéric Blondy, Sophie Agnel, André Almuro, Olivier Benoit, with the groups Schams, Synapses, Calx, Phéromones and Hubbub. Passing from a very physical approach of the play, of the breath, to a work of sound spatialization, through complex sound devices.
For more than 20 years, while listening to the environment, Éric La Casa (born 1968, Tours, lives and works in Paris) has been questioning the perception of reality and has expanded the notion of what's musical today. Through his aesthetic of capturing sound, his work fits equally into the fields of sound art and music. As a result of his in situ listening processes, he creates forms (of attention) that creep into the venues, slowly infuse there, and become other possible spaces. In the same way that the letter stimulates a country's reading, the in situ aesthetic object renews our relationship to space and landscape.
Translated from the French by Owen Martell.

Published by Passage d'encres.
published in January 2016
bilingual edition (English / French)
21 x 25 cm (softcover)
60 pages (ill.), DVD video 108'
20.00 12.00
(special offer)
ISBN : 978-2-35855-113-7
EAN : 9782358551137
in stock
topicsJean-Luc Guionnet, Éric La Casa: other titles

Jean-Luc Guionnet: also present in

Éric La Casa: also present in

related to

 top of page